Mutual of Omaha Reviews

Updated May 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mutual of Omaha CEO James T. Blackledge (no image)
James T. Blackledge
161 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not a con because it is something you know when you take the job- 100% commission based(in 16 reviews)

  • "Also there are no benefits because you're your own boss(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of Mutual of Omaha

See all divisions
  1. Featured Review

    "Great opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ability to run your own business with the full support of a Fortune 500 company. Mutual of Omaha is well respected in our community.

    Cons

    Selling and serving careers are not for everyone. An entrepreneur mindset will be a benefit.

    Mutual of Omaha2019-09-03
  2. "Leadership cares about employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Emphasis on culture at all levels Great 401k match Food and Coffee on campus In general flexible co-workers and management Leadership takes happiness of customers and employees seriously

    Cons

    Building is older, and despite efforts to modernize, theres still areas it is apparent.

    Mutual of Omaha2020-04-17
  3. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training managers and sales directors make the onboarding process a breeze, and are there for you when you're getting started out in this business.

    Cons

    You need to be able to talk to new people and establish trust quickly. Don't worry too much though, as your team will be there to teach you how to do this.

    Mutual of Omaha2020-05-05
  4. "Decent pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Underwriter in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, overtime, work/life balance, location is good

    Cons

    Benefits with Aetna and costly, wish they would hold sales agents for accountable

    Mutual of Omaha2020-05-09
  5. "Great work-life balance, but hard to make change due to tenure"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, flexible work schedule, family-friendly

    Cons

    Due to extensive years of service, most people are set in their ways and not open to change. Despite large teams, hard to move up or laterally. Understaffed in areas, but unable to hire additional help forcing certain teams to work much more than similar teams.

    Continue reading
    Mutual of Omaha2020-04-24
  6. "Solid opportunity."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mutual of Omaha part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Well known brand. Products compete well with most companies. Products offered through the investment side of Company is outstanding

    Cons

    Very few. If you produce, you’re paid well.

    Continue reading
    Mutual of Omaha2020-04-24
  7. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Representative in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mutual of Omaha full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for, lots of opportunity and great managers.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Mutual of Omaha2020-04-24
  8. "Amazing Company, Amazing Leadership"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programs Manager in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company is so incredibly caring - is very community-focused. The Volunteer Program is an example of the company's commitment to the community - and the Foundation and Matching Gift program give back to nonprofit organizations in the community who are doing great work. Leadership is incredible at all levels - all the way up to the CEO.

    Cons

    None - it's an amazing company - I've worked there since 1997.

    Continue reading
    Mutual of Omaha2020-03-28
  9. "Fantastic opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Voluntary Enrollment Specialist, Bilingual 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mutual of Omaha full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work fork. Fantastic leadership from Omaha.

    Cons

    Hard to compete or compare with other carriers.

    Mutual of Omaha2020-03-23
  10. "Outdated company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mutual of Omaha part-time

    Pros

    There are many welcoming people at this company and the overall purpose of providing insurance for others is a positive concept.

    Cons

    I contributed in a behind-the-scenes role, and there is very little that tied me to the overall purpose and mission of the company. This is not the place to work if you want challenges and personal development.

    Continue reading
    Mutual of Omaha2020-04-05
Found 472 reviews