KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Mutual of Omaha

Engaged Employer

Mutual of Omaha

Add a Review

Mutual of Omaha Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Mutual of Omaha CEO James T. Blackledge
James T. Blackledge
218 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, PTO, benefits(in 33 reviews)

  • "Excellent training program and great people to work with(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not a con because it is something you know when you take the job- 100% commission based(in 18 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance in some areas was not ideal(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of Mutual of Omaha

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Mutual of Omaha and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. Mutual of Omaha - Corporate | Division of Mutual of Omaha
      5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Mutual is truly a great place to work

      Dec 18, 2020 - Senior Business Systems Consultant in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Authentic and caring leadership team, company culture, my colleagues, opportunities for advancement, commitment to DE&I (diversity, equity and inclusion), community commitment and impact.

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say about this company. Every company has its challenges, but the challenges at Mutual do not outweigh the great things about it.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Excellent Company

      Jun 6, 2021 - Insurance Agent/Medicare Supplement Specialist in North Charleston, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mutual of Omaha went out of their way to ensure that the "umbrella call center" I was working through paid us as well as they did. I have gained exceptional experience and knowledge working with them. Before the "Covid-19" incident Mutual of Omaha would visit us at the call center. It was rather nice to visit with a real person whom is in charge than just to know them in ranking. Overall, working here has been an invaluable experience. Highest customer service, AM's Best, 5 Star Rating, and the Fastest claims processing. On a quick note, many customers would call in and say to me, "I have done my research. I have asked my friends, family members, Financial Advisors, Lawyers, Doctors offices billing departments", and they all have told them the same thing... Mutual of Omaha is #1. Yes MOO is a great company I would highly recommend and would like to continue to work with again.

      Cons

      I was a Third Party Captive Agent which restricted my income earning potential. There is nothing bad to say about Mutual of Omaha itself.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lied to constantly

      Jun 8, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Processor in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Got to work from home because of the Covid-19 Pandemic Good team environment with the processors 75.00 bonus for each file completed

      Cons

      Underwriters were jerks Mortgage loan officers were jerks Little training Higher ups lie to you on confrence calls saying that though the industry is slowing down they aren't doing layoffs. Then lay people off 3 weeks later

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Generally a good company to work

      May 23, 2021 - Financial Advisor in Rosemont, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers are nice and the team was supportive. If you are determined to work in this insurance selling industry you should be able to make a good money.

      Cons

      It's a sales job. And there was no health insurance provided.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      PDP Sales

      Jun 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful group of people there

      Cons

      None, Absolutely none at all

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. Mutual of Omaha - Corporate | Division of Mutual of Omaha
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great CompNy

      May 25, 2021 - Underwriter in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great path to promotions. Full benefits package. Great leadership.

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say about Mutual.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. Mutual of Omaha - Corporate | Division of Mutual of Omaha
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Culture

      May 19, 2021 - ENGINEER-1 in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture, IT dept really cares about developing you.

      Cons

      Pretty corporate feeling, so the work you do is not too exciting

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. Mutual of Omaha - Corporate | Division of Mutual of Omaha
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      May 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to grow, management is great, benefits are awesome. They really care about their employees.

      Cons

      Can feel a little difficult to stand out since it's such a big company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. Mutual of Omaha - Corporate | Division of Mutual of Omaha
      1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unethical

      May 2, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Friendly environment *Emphasis on wellbeing * Pay was good - cause you deal with a lot of bs.

      Cons

      *Unethical and pushy sales tactics. With an emphasis on closing the sale - regardless of the clients (usually elderly) ability to afford, need, etc. *MOO uses third party companies to find clients. These 3rd parties harass our clients and put out false ads. And WE have to deal with the effects of that. Without help from management. *Micromanagement to the dot. If you were off the phones for one second you are expected to have a good reason otherwise it’d be counted against you. *Quality Checks are done on calls which makes sense. But the things they check off can be tedious. Especially when they are picked at random and no two calls are going to be the same.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mutual of Omaha Response

      Talent Acquisition

      I appreciate the time you took to voice your concerns. I'm sorry that you left Mutual of Omaha with a negative view of your work experience. We are taking your feedback seriously and are reviewing opportunities to improve. We wish you the best of luck in your new chapter.

    10. Mutual of Omaha - Corporate | Division of Mutual of Omaha
      4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent place to work with

      May 6, 2021 - Associate Data Scientist in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative environment, good development support

      Cons

      legacy system, less efficient, needed to be automation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mutual of Omaha Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback regarding your time spent with us. We agree that our collaborative environment and focus on career development are two great pros to working at Mutual. Tech modernization continues to be a top priority for Mutual and we continue to seek new and innovative ways to better serve our customers.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 593 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Mutual of Omaha Job Seekers

    Financial Advisor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Mutual of Omaha? Share Your Experiences

    or