KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

MyEyeDr.

Engaged Employer

MyEyeDr.

Add a Review

MyEyeDr. Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 880 of over 886 reviews

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
MyEyeDr. CEO Sue Downes
Sue Downes
466 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of MyEyeDr. and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great leadership, great philosophies

    Feb 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Emphases on clinical care for the ODs, and the ability for ODs to practice to their clinical philosophy. Success through collaboration as well as celebration of employee value.

    Cons

    None at this time to detail.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Optician

    Jun 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved everything about working here

    Cons

    I didn’t come across anything h didn’t like

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Understaffed & overworked

    Oct 2, 2022 - Eyewear Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hours. It's 8-5 Monday-Friday but we still have to work on Saturdays 8-3. It's close to my house. I like my coworkers & he Dr that we have.

    Cons

    We are overworked, understaffed, and underpaid. We are expected to do pretty much every role in the building on top of doing our own daily responsibilities. We are so busy that we don't have a lot of time to work in the lab which is where all the orders have to be submitted for that day. If we don't somehow get that all done BEFORE we leave for the day, we are required to stay late to get it done. They don't care of our lives outside of this job. All they care about is making money. I totally understand things need to be done in a timely manner but if we are all running around like a chicken with our heads cut off because we are slammed with patients, get more help so things can get done and run smoothly. All we are ever told is we just have to get faster. Also, I've been there for a while now and no talk about a raise. I've heard from a few employees that they don't ever offer a raise until someone is threating to leave, then they will offer you more money.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Save yourself some time

    Oct 4, 2022 - Licensed Optician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    8-5 Monday-Friday schedule. Decent pay if you earn commissions.

    Cons

    Overworked Condescending management Money hungry

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great concept poor execution

    Sep 12, 2022 - Licensed Optician in Front Royal, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Busy atmosphere, makes the day go by, decent pay, but not if you need insurance

    Cons

    KPI’s are a joke. No open door policy, no maternity leave. I worked in multiple locations, one with carpet stained and huge tears. I think they’ll need an accident to actually repair. Price gouging at its finest. No middle level progressive lens or frames. The Brillenz is one of the worst quality progressives I’ve seen. If you want to learn optical, go anywhere else. No one knows anything truly optical. There’s only an auto-lensometer so if you have a problem customer you might as well forget it. Insurance is terribly expensive. Eyefinity is horrible. You have to use multiple websites to order glasses, and that’s if you have time to sit and do it. My manager did absolutely nothing but look at her computer all day, spoke poorly about other associates, customers and the Dr. She’s had multiple complaints to upper management, nothing is done. Turnover is outrageous at that location and no other offices will help. But hey, it’s making plan so naturally it’s overlooked. You deserve better, work anywhere else.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    Oct 4, 2022 - Optometric Technician in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No degree needed and you can do the minimal

    Cons

    Cheap company. Uncooperative work hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    TOXIC!!!!

    Sep 25, 2022 - General Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Store hours/ optical industry/offer slightly higher pay

    Cons

    Upper management/work load/ lack of communication from leaders or lack of leadership/unrealistic sales goals/ bulldozing employees to optain impossible goals/ unprofessionalism from DM/ lack of knowledge from DMs and then expect instant execution when higher leaders don’t even know what to do/ the company has horrible company culture where they just bulldoze everything which says a lot when leaders are constantly changing and NOT staying in the company long term/the company is NOT really about patient care or optical

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bully Tactics

    Sep 20, 2022 - Assistant Manager in Harrisonburg, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The actual Pay was great,

    Cons

    hours were good, when you had enough staff, otherwise overworked when too few, or reduced to part time when doctor not available. The idea is that you are to oversell to patients on their eyewear even if they don’t need it. Vision “insurance” is a scam. Most things can be bought at the same quality for less than half the price of the after insurance price online. If you ever wanted to be a used car salesman but didn’t want to sell cars, then this is the job for you. The doctors were told by the manager to create a prescription for someone to make a sale even when the person (a kid) didn’t need it. Health insurance worst plan i have ever had.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Sep 29, 2022 - Optometric Technician in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love how every employee is crossed trained and if you have any questions , everyone is very helpful

    Cons

    Third party labs delay orders a lot and it upsets patients

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love it here

    Sep 30, 2022 - Optician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Patient care focus is #1. Commission is great, direct manager and leadership have the same goal.

    Cons

    Working 10-7 on Tuesdays and Thursday.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 880 Reviews

MyEyeDr. Reviews FAQs

MyEyeDr. has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 886 reviews left anonymously by employees. 41% of employees would recommend working at MyEyeDr. to a friend and 38% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -16% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MyEyeDr. employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MyEyeDr.. This rating has decreased by -13% over the last 12 months.

41% of MyEyeDr. employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MyEyeDr. 2.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MyEyeDr. to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with MyEyeDr. Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MyEyeDr.? Share Your Experiences

or

MyEyeDr. Careers

Cover image for MyEyeDr.

MyEyeDr. empowers our patients to live their best lives by providing comprehensive eye care and an expansive selection of eye wear...More

  • Careers
  • Benefits
  • Environment
  • Philanthropy
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates