Cover image for MyFitnessPal
Logo

MyFitnessPal

Engaged Employer

MyFitnessPal

Add a Review

MyFitnessPal Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 37 of over 44 reviews
4.3
88% Recommend to a Friend
MyFitnessPal Chief Executive Officer Tricia Han
100% Approve of CEO

Found 37 of over 44 reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MyFitnessPal Chief Executive Officer Tricia Han
Tricia Han
11 Ratings

What people are saying about MyFitnessPal

Join the conversation on

Tech

468.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=MyFitnessPal~733704
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great team and product that helps people reach their health and fitness goals.(in 6 reviews)
  • "driven, smart, fun people.(in 6 reviews)
  • "There's a culture of fostering open feedback and a fair work/life balance that comes from the top.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Everyone is committed to finding a solution that makes sense and help out(in 3 reviews)
  • "good culture and decent bosses(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Oct 3, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You are extremely lucky if you get a job at MFP. Comparable to tech company culture that encourages unlimited time off, 100% remote work, sends surprises in the mail, and prioritizes overall employee well-being. The business outlook on the company is great and there has never been a better time to work here. The projects we work on are focused, well-thought out by leadership, and tolerable. You won't be pulled in 15 different directions that are all "priorities" like at other companies. The leadership is smart and experienced so you can feel good the the work you do is for a tangible goal.

    Cons

    Very low level of diversity.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We truly value all of our current and former employees' feedback. We strive for a people-first culture and truly stand behind and live our mission and values. MyFitnessPal is dedicated to advancing, cultivating, and preserving a culture of diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging because it creates an environment where everyone can bring their authentic selves to work and make it easy for others to do the same.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, great values, great people, strong market leader

    Aug 19, 2022 - Engineering 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The people are the best. They don't tolerate bad apples and reward the whole team. - Flexible work schedule - Remote work oriented - Highly inclusive and a great ally - Encourage taking time off - Many extra, side benefits (such as surprise gifts and remote-inclusive activities)

    Cons

    After splitting from Under Armour, a lot of good folks left. But, the newer team members jumped it and made a very smooth transition!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy working and collaborating with your teammates at MFP! We strive for a people-first culture and truly stand behind and live our mission and values!

  3. Join the MyFitnessPal team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, position was just bad luck

    Oct 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company was overall great to work at. Very relaxed, accommodating and pleasant. I unfortunately ended up with a manager who was not the best, and I should have seen the writing on the wall once people started asking me what I thought about working with him because he was an…odd and uptight guy (not my words). When I was admonished privately after a casual team meeting for daring to allow my cat to walk in visibility of my camera and told I should “lock them away” during meetings, I started to understand what people had been talking about. The cat was something I was repeatedly reminded of by my supervisor long after the fact in bizarre fashion, as if it was a chronic issue, whenever they wished to talk about my performance. In short, they were a micromanager that was constantly turning negligible events into big problems. This constant stream of corrections concerning minute optics instead of my work (I was constantly assured my ethic and skills were excellent) became exhausting and stressful, but I always believed things could be worked out. My main irritant around the end was being arbitrarily ordered to stay in our new office past 5pm, while in company meetings the wonderful CEO would be talking all about how as a company they would never be the kind of place to force employees to stop being remote. I was constantly guilted by my supervisor for leaving the office after 4pm to finish out the last hour at home just to avoid traffic as most had already done hours before. The office only ever had me and 1 other person, not counting my supervisor, by that time of day, and only ever had a handful of people in it at peak hours around noon, so my presence was never once critical. It was just not treatment that was driven by any sort of logic, and certainly not anything I had ever put up with in my decade of experience of being treated like an adult and being trusted to complete my work. It wasn’t a major issue, just the breaking point in a constant stream of petty issues. Eventually was let go during a meeting set up under completely false pretenses, for which I had shown up feeling pretty great and prepared for, until I saw upon entering that it was an ambush. Was told I wasn’t performing up to spec without any elaboration (I still don’t know exactly why), after which my manager promptly hopped out of the meeting to leave me with HR. It was the first time I’d ever been fired in a decade of professional work, and the deceptive way it was handled left a very bad impression and was depressing. But the company overall is a fantastic place. I just feel sorry for the next person who gets my job. Your experience will almost certainly be good.

    Cons

    Aside from my personal poor luck by getting the supervisor I got, none.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we greatly appreciate your thoughts and perspective. We are dedicated to the continuous improvement of our employee experience while fostering an environment where teammates feel valued and excited about their work.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture Amazing People

    Aug 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We are missional driven this gives us an immediate connection to each other. People care about our users and each other. There is open and honest discussions and respect.

    Cons

    There are no cons I have found

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Quick turnover of the most talented people

    Jun 24, 2022 - Accounting Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Holding steady by their own estimations in the shrinking fitness-as-health app market. Starting diversity initiatives still in the concept stage. New company with a threadbare, wild west motility that will appeal to other Mavericks. Held by a private equity firm that seems experienced and diverse. Small company where individuals have a voice and can easily see their own impact.

    Cons

    This start up company with a 12+ year old product is still getting organized after separation with their parent company Under Armour. Almost all people recognized as stellar contributors seem to move in and out quickly between departments and ultimately leave the company. There is no bank of tribal knowledge from this high rate of turnover and new starts are not oriented to the basic functional groups of the business. New starts are numerous, extremely specialized with narrow visibility, and untrained in cross-functional processes at all levels of employment within MFP including new chiefs.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your positive feedback on the business and how our teammate's voices are heard and everyone makes an impact. We have had a lot to organize in the past year and a half, but we've made progress and have accomplished several goals we are proud of. We value all of our current and former employees' feedback. If you ever have any other feedback you would like to share, please feel free to reach out to us at: feedback@myfitnesspal.com. Thank you!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with amazing people!

    Jul 11, 2022 - Software Engineer II in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MyFitnessPal is very inclusive and is all about team building! The team really cares about creating the best solution and everyone learning from that solution along the way. You can choose what you want to work on and have the ability to make a big impact that is seen by users around the world.

    Cons

    No cons at the moment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We are happy to hear your positive feedback on our inclusive and collaborative culture. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team. If you ever have any other feedback you would like to share, please feel free to reach out to us at: feedback@myfitnesspal.com. Thank you!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Truly puts employees first

    Apr 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every single person in the company, from leadership down, values putting employees first. A lot of companies talk the talk, but at MFP I've found that the tenets of work/life balance and remote-first collaboration are truly embedded in the company culture. (and nobody is shy about calling things out if things go awry!) There is a real belief in positive culture driving the best work and I feel that every day.

    Cons

    Like all remote work, finding time for collaboration while balancing meeting schedules can be a challenge, but something openly discussed and worked on

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear your comments about how we embed a people-first organization and remote equal philosophy in our company culture! Thank you for your contributions to making MFP such a great place to work! If you ever have ideas on helping to support our benefits or culture, or any other feedback you would like to share, please feel free to reach out to us at: feedback@myfitnesspal.com. Thank you!

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with great culture

    Apr 14, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture - People are pleasant to work with and collaborate with. Everyone is committed to finding a solution that makes sense and help out Benefits - The company offers unlimited RTO and claims to value work life balance. My experience has been that make good on those claims A remote company that makes efforts to connect people and build a team

    Cons

    Working remotely while being a huge advantage can be taxing at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy working and collaborating with your teammates at MFP! We strive for a people-first culture and foster work-life balance and love to hear that your experience has been good on that front. Remote Equal does have its fair share of challenges when connecting with people, that's why we try to have frequent in-person meetings and events. If you have other feedback you'd like to share about your experience please feel free to reach out to us at: feedback@myfitnesspal.com. Thank you!

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Android Engineer

    May 4, 2022 - Android Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team and product that helps people reach their health and fitness goals. Really well known app

    Cons

    Some teams work on better projects than others

    1 person found this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We love to hear your comments on our people, product, and mission to help people on their health journeys. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our team. If you ever have any other feedback you would like to share, please feel free to reach out to us at: feedback@myfitnesspal.com. Thank you!

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Place To Be!

    Feb 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *Benefits are great *Collaboration across teams *The ability to grow *Management has really started to change for the better - more focus on the employee well being *Work/Life Balance *Team Events

    Cons

    *Continue to be competitive with compensation *Not really a con but would like the the opportunity to go into office quarterly

    1 person found this review helpful

    MyFitnessPal Response

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate your feedback and your contributions to making MFP such a great place to work! We are happy to hear your positive comments about working at MyFitnessPal and appreciate your ideas for improvement. If you ever have ideas on helping to support our benefits or culture, or any other feedback you would like to share, please feel free to reach out to us at: feedback@myfitnesspal.com. Thank you!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 Reviews
</>Embed

MyFitnessPal Reviews FAQs

MyFitnessPal has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 44 reviews left anonymously by employees. 88% of employees would recommend working at MyFitnessPal to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MyFitnessPal employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MyFitnessPal. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

88% of MyFitnessPal employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MyFitnessPal 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MyFitnessPal to be senior leadership, benefits, culture and the cons to be career development, management.

Popular Careers with MyFitnessPal Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MyFitnessPal? Share Your Experiences

MyFitnessPal logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Software Engineer(4)

MyFitnessPal Photos

+ Add Photo
MyFitnessPal photo of: MFP Local Teammate Events
MyFitnessPal photo of: Local MFP Teammate Events
MyFitnessPal photo of: Our KC teammates had fun being creative together!
MyFitnessPal photo of: Tech Talks
MyFitnessPal photo of: Ping Pong
MyFitnessPal photo of: Office Chalk Wall
MyFitnessPal photo of: SF Rooftop
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

MyFitnessPal Job Seekers Also Viewed

MapMyFitness Logo
MapMyFitness

3.5

29 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 44 MyFitnessPal reviews submitted anonymously by MyFitnessPal employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if MyFitnessPal is right for you.