MyLondonHome Reviews | Glassdoor

MyLondonHome Reviews

Updated 11 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
MyLondonHome CEO Steven A. Herd
Steven A. Herd
30 Ratings
  1. "Loved working at My London Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Photographer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MyLondonHome part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Management were lovely, they helped me feel involved with the team when I was out on my own a lot. -Steven, the owner, was really hands-on and it didn't feel like I was working for a huge corporate 'machine' -They actually treat you like an adult with responsibilities by not having to check-in 24/7 with someone. -They provided all the equipment I needed -They reimburse travel expenses to do with work -They allowed...

    Show More

    Cons

    -The office was quite a loud environment -Sometimes the work was required faster than it could be completed -Working outside of the office could be isolating, as you didn't connect with other members of staff on a daily basis -As a photographer there wasn't really any career development available within the company

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! I really felt welcome at my time at My London Home and I think you did everything you could to make my time there a comfortable, fulfilling experience.

    MyLondonHome2019-03-12
  2. "AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MyLondonHome full-time

      Pros

      None I can think of

      Cons

      Truly enhancing the poor reputation of estate agents

      Advice to Management

      Leave

      MyLondonHome2019-02-08
    • "Gave up"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lettings Consultant in City of Westminster, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at MyLondonHome for more than a year

      Pros

      Amazing team, fun environment, can make good money, good incentives

      Cons

      Sold of Lettings department to some AH, whose temp director destroyed the company, all the best negs left included myself, would have stayed otherwise

      Advice to Management

      Don’t sell of your prized asset just for a bit of extra cash, had a good business, but through it away

      MyLondonHome2018-11-27
    • "Sexist."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Negotiator in City of Westminster, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at MyLondonHome full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The other negotiators are so lovely & management leave the evidence of sexism and discrimination in writing for you.

      Cons

      To summarise; sexist, lack of management skills, discrimination within the workplace, unfair dismissal, lack of opportunity. HIGH TURNOVER OF STAFF. I must have seen about 6 or 7 people leave in around 4 months. They have favourites in the office who all the leads will go to, new starters are favoured for about 2 weeks, no banter, you are not allowed to have banter without it being considered aggressive, two faced...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      If you are going to make sexist comments about someone 24 hours before dismissing them don’t leave it on an email for everyone to see. I have worked for nationwide corporate companies with more care and compassion for their staff.

      MyLondonHome2018-12-07
    • "MLH"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at MyLondonHome full-time

        Pros

        Good people to be with

        Cons

        Politics in office favouritism at times

        MyLondonHome2018-10-19
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great sales team - but ridiculously bad management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at MyLondonHome full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Good stock levels - Amazing new homes brokerage team - Commission was achievable and good - Some company events were enjoyable and a good laugh, such as the sports day

        Cons

        Awful CEO. A nasty man who preys off his employees' vulnerabilities. He is a wannabe Knight Frank/Colliers, etc CEO who believes his opinion is that of God. Steven Herd will often have mood swings and you never know where you sit with him. His vocabulary and use of words such as 'wowzer' and 'buddy' were very often used as condescending demeanor. The way of MyLondonHome is throw enough stuff at the wall until it sticks,...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Wise decision in selling to Stirling Ackroyd.

        MyLondonHome2018-09-15
      • Helpful (4)

        "Terrible Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at MyLondonHome full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Nothing positive to say at all about My London home. The only positive thing was the day when I left them

        Cons

        It was truly the worst company I have ever worked at. The CEO and MD were aggressive men with barely a brain cell between the two of them. Targets were totally unrealistic and the turn over of staff was crazy!

        Advice to Management

        Sell

        MyLondonHome2017-10-10
      • "Average"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Sales & Lettings Negotiator in City of Westminster, England
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at MyLondonHome full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Good commission structure so excellent earning potential High levels of stock - good team to help win plenty of new instructions Choice between sales & lettings - helps fill a void in typically "quieter months"

          Cons

          Extremely KPI driven which gives a feeling of complete micro-management If you have a single bad month you will end up with a warning Next to no training whatsoever - as someone who started their career in the property industry with MLH, I was merely given half a days insight into the company and shown a few vacant properties then told to hit the phones and start booking viewings.

          Advice to Management

          More support and training in the first instance. Be more consistent in what you expect from the team - it can be hard to adapt if management consistently change what is expected of them.

          MyLondonHome2017-06-04
        • Helpful (1)

          "Fun, fast-paced and never boring!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Sales Manager in City of Westminster, England
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at MyLondonHome for more than 5 years

          Pros

          - amazing colleagues. it's a work hard, play hard office and very sociable and fun. - fantastic stock levels which are constantly maintained and mean the negotiators have access to a very wide range of properties. - great support in terms of training - NAEA/ARLA etc - excellent rewards and bonsues on offer for high performers -always room for progression for staff that perform.

          Cons

          - MLH is not for everybody - it is KPI and target driven, not the kind of office where you sit back and wait for enquiries to come in.

          Advice to Management

          Keep doing what you're doing!

          MyLondonHome2017-04-21
        • "A lot of fun"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in City of Westminster, England
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at MyLondonHome full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          - Great progression potential - Small enough to not be considered 'corporate' but expanding aggressively enough to be considered a significant performer in certain areas of Central London - Genuine rewards for exceptional performance

          Cons

          - Constant change. If you don't respond well to this then it can be a bad environment - Growth pains. This company is not a finished product so

          Advice to Management

          Keep focussing on the right kind of growth. The foundations are here for a brilliant future and there is plenty to be done.

          MyLondonHome2017-03-06
        Found 42 reviews