Myers Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Myers Industries Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
27%
Recommend to a Friend
Myers Industries Interim President and CEO Andrean Horton
Andrean Horton
0 Rating
  1. "Production Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myers Industries

    Pros

    Good benefits and environment. People was nice and friendly.

    Cons

    Hot in summers and cold in winters

    Myers Industries2018-11-30
  2. "Growing pains except not growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hardworking front line employees from warehouse to face to face sellers.

    Cons

    Leadership: CEO to group presidents could careless about the individual. Turnover is tremendous

    Advice to Management

    Stop pretending to care, roll up your sleeves and jump into the trenches. The reason you can not drive any initiatives; you won't hold people accountable.

    Myers Industries2019-07-09
  3. "Mid Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Myers Industries full-time

    Pros

    Focus on cash generation and analytics.

    Cons

    Executives do not walk the walk. Limited/no focus on people resulting in a toxic culture.

    Myers Industries2018-08-02
  4. "Laborer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Laborer in Bristol, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Myers Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a nice place to work at and also some of the people were nice,also only had a 4 day work week but I tried to work most Fridays.

    Cons

    Getting up at 3am was taking a toll and also the commute. When I Get Off there was no time to take care of personal business because everything would be closed.

    Myers Industries2018-05-14
  5. "Mid-Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Myers Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    401K and they match a small percentage

    Cons

    Short staffed Elimination of seasoned employees A lot of stress and low pay

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Myers Industries2018-01-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mid Senior Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid Senior Level in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My co-workers were very pleasant to work with, 401K Match was also very good.

    Cons

    Zero investment in humans as valuable assets. Bottom line, net profits and contribution to margin are the very top priorities. Massive terminations of many employees that have worked for the company for 10 years or more, even though they were highly qualified in their roles. Business model and philosophy is driven hard from the top down with very little input or contribution from employees that do not work in the corporate office. I have seen several really talented professionals terminated without cause in the past year and a half, these were people that were good at their job and very good to work with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Profit and contribution margins are very important to the survival of a business, but human capital is just as important and should be treated as an investment, not a burden.

    Myers Industries2017-12-19
  7. "Considered yourself secondary and products and customers first place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers Industries full-time

    Pros

    A lot of the employees and a couple of supervisors are good people and hard workers (at least on 1st shift) and the pay and benefits are decent

    Cons

    Quality control can be a mess, especially if we're dealing with products from 2nd and 3rd shift employees. Ever since they started this 80-20 Kaizen bit, it's making it harder for us to actually like our job. Management doesn't really get involved or get their hands dirty with the exception of a couple of them. They have very poor communication skills, they're afraid of taking criticism, and just like the CEO, corporate, and president of Ameri-Kart, they lack empathy. With all the Saturdays they stole from us over the summer because they can't hold off on taking on new orders. They just had to keep piling them to the backorders. I would love them to work the hours we had to put up with, and I feel awful for the mold shop because they have it way worse in terms of work to live ratio. And they're doing this new thing next week where they want us to work 10 hour days Monday-Thursday (6am-4:30pm) and having Friday through Sunday off. That sounds good on paper, but what if you have doctors appointments that close between 3 and 5? Or grade school kids that depend on a parent being home during the time the parent is at work. Not to mention, you don't get any official 15 minute breaks before and after lunch, which I think should be a crime. And if they mandate overtime (and they will), they'll force you to work the next day on Friday. Hope you won't feel exhausted the first 40 hours you crunched in 4 days. They didn't even ask us how we felt about it or even give us a two week notice about it. They just decided right off the bat on Tuesday that they're doing this next week. Don't like it? Then find something else. I bust my butt I feel like every week, and I'm going to find something else eventually. I'm tired of feeling unappreciated and getting stressed out at this job. They continue to make us bend over backwards for them. I'd like to see them working these hours and doing the things we do. Another thing is the random drug tests, which are fine, but they often repeat the same people needless because they draw randomly. Put the name in another pile till you get to the last name then start over! I hope this company gets what it truly deserves. And if it goes down, Ameri-Kart and all, I won't feel bad at all. It'll be the CEO's fault for the boneheaded decisions he made. Avoid working here if you can. Consider it a plague.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This goes for CEO, corporate, and the president of Ameri-Kart as well. Learn to communicate with your employees. We're not just numbers or dirt under your thumbnail. We're human beings that have feelings like you. You always make it harder and more challenging for us. I think you need to learn to have more sincere empathy, get out there and see what it's like for us, and let us have a life outside of work for goodness sake! I don't want to be exhausted after work because then I won't have the energy to have a life outside along with my other obligations. You gave me a new view on the RV and overall plastics industry. It's not a good view. I find that if you take away our personal time, you not only disregard is, you disrespect your employees. But what do I know? I'm just a fly you can swat away. I have no pride in the work I do here. Writing this fired me up on finding something else even more so. I hope others find this review useful so they can avoid any factory with "Myers Industries" attached to it.

    Show More
    Myers Industries2017-11-09
  8. "Poor leadership, good strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New CEO has developed a good vision

    Cons

    Poor leadership at the next level down and around CEO - only concerned about themselves and compensation

    Advice to Management

    Develop and invest in your people instead of blaming them for everything. There are many capable people inside the company willing to learn, change and support the vision. Lead.

    Myers Industries2017-10-14
  9. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myers Industries full-time

    Pros

    Learning experience. Good people and hard workers.

    Cons

    Stressful environment. A lot quality issues.

    Myers Industries2017-06-16
  10. "Constant state of flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myers Industries

    Pros

    Change is sometimes good for my employer

    Cons

    However, we have constant turnover in key positions

    Myers Industries2016-10-28
Found 24 reviews