Myers and Stauffer Reviews | Glassdoor

Myers and Stauffer Reviews

Updated Feb 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Myers and Stauffer Executive Committee Keenan Buoy and Kevin Londeen (no image)
Keenan Buoy and Kevin Londeen
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Emphasis on work life balance means that this isn't your typical rigorous "busy season" type of schedule(in 35 reviews)

  • "Weekly hours for full-time staff does not often exceed 40 hours(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many reviews bring up the "pigeon holed into healthcare" aspect(in 8 reviews)

  • "There are not many cons that come to mind for Myers and Stauffer, there are not any significant changes I would make if I were in charge(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The BEST Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Healthcare Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I can honestly say Myers and Stauffer is the best employer I have ever had. Some of the firm's strengths include flexible scheduling promoting great work-life balance; strong knowledgeable leadership; highly ethical standards; advancement opportunities; competitive salaries and a nice benefit package. Myers and Stauffer embraces a culture dedicated to staff development and the delivery of top quality services.

    Cons

    I'm unable to identify any at this time.

    Continue reading
    Myers and Stauffer2019-10-15
  2. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Analyst in Frankfort, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None to note here at all.

    Cons

    Favoritism in managers. Management does not keep information confidential. One girl gets favoritism and work from home all the time and pretends to know what she’s doing. She gets treated differently and actually knows nothing only because she is the “favorite”. Bad place to be.

    Continue reading
    Myers and Stauffer2020-02-13
  3. "Staff Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant 

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Hours and time off

    Cons

    Unorganized and hours can increase during peak season

    Myers and Stauffer2019-12-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful group in Raleigh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have worked at M&S for almost 4 years now, and my opinion of it has not changed. There is wonderful work/life balance available, a friendly open door environment, a nice small-office family feel, and great team members! I want to give some credit to existing management for the efforts that have been made to hire great people. When I started, there were some employees that were less motivated or friendly, but it was an overall friendly and lighthearted environment. Now, I can't name any person I work with that I would ever want to leave! Sadly, there is always turnover at a CPA firm, so this also means losing good people since pretty much only good people work here. Overall, I feel valued and noticed for my contributions, and find my interactions with my superiors to feel genuine. The management in my office and at the firm in general from what I can tell have a vested interest in growing their staff and focusing on their career goals/upward mobility.

    Cons

    As with any accounting environment, sometimes people (myself included) get caught up in the work and forget to prioritize group time. We do need to make an effort to socialize more! There is a budget for these things, of course, but overall I think it would benefit the culture and feel of the firm, and perhaps help avoid turnover to some extent.

    Continue reading
    Myers and Stauffer2019-11-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Standard, Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Boise, ID

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Engagements are small enough that most audits are assigned to people rather than multiple people assigned to one audit. Work schedule is pretty flexible as staff accountants don't interact with clients much except through email or us calling them to request info.

    Cons

    Owned by CBIZ and as such, CBIZ's benefits aren't the best. Work is steady but not super interesting. Can be very tedious when doing the same thing for multiple small engagements.

    Myers and Stauffer2019-11-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time

    Pros

    Culture exemplifies the work life balance and encourages learning throughout.

    Cons

    Scope of work can be limited

    Myers and Stauffer2019-10-12
  7. "Decent Starting Point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Frankfort, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myers and Stauffer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High starting salary, good benefits, some good people work here

    Cons

    Extreme favoritism, clique environment, one manager is a crazy micro manager who makes everyone else's lives miserable. If you're not in the clique, certain managers don't want you there and try to make you leave.

    Continue reading
    Myers and Stauffer2019-10-09

    Myers and Stauffer Response

    October 16, 2019National HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Myers and Stauffer. If you would like to discuss your concerns and you feel comfortable speaking to me about it, please reach out to Rebecca Kavanaugh at rkavanaugh@mslc.com to discuss or I would be happy to visit with you about your experience. I can be reached at creed@mslc.com. Either of us would very much appreciate visiting with you.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Response to: New Management Needed in ATL Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myers and Stauffer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I don’t have anything to say here.

    Cons

    MSLC responded to a previous review telling the reviewer that the negative feedback should have came from the employee and would not be taken seriously. I am that employee, and I can assure you they don’t take it seriously coming from me either. During my exit interview and in a survey I gave detailed information that aligned with the negative review I am referencing. HR admitted to me that they did not review the survey. I reiterated everything in person and to my knowledge no effort was made. Multiple people have quit since because issues are not being addressed. I should also mention that this company pushes for employees to leave positive reviews on here to push down the negative ones. Be aware of that.

    Myers and Stauffer2019-10-22

    Myers and Stauffer Response

    October 24, 2019National HR Director

    Thank you for following up to the original post. We believe if you look at our initial response to these comments, we encouraged you as a current employee at that time to bring those issues to our attention as well as tried to address comments made by someone who was not part of our workforce. We always find the communication works better when it comes directly. You are correct in that we did not review your online survey prior to our exit meeting, but it was because we were aware of your concerns based on conversations you had with local leadership prior to that meeting where we discussed those same concerns, and we planned to discuss those further during our one-on-one exit discussion. Because we discussed your concerns with you while you were a current associate, we also discussed strategies to address those concerns and offered to make accommodations to transfer you to a different team that you had experience with and indicated you enjoyed working on. This also would have had you reporting to different leadership. Ultimately you decided it was best for you to move on from the firm and start anew at your current employer and we hope that you are happy in your new opportunity. Office management did take your concerns seriously as we do with all associates and tried to change your working environment for the better while still providing a upward career path. We always work to coach and develop individuals in each of our offices but understand that for some associates certain assignments may not be a perfect fit. If you still have concerns as a former associate that you would like to discuss, then I would be happy to speak with you privately where I can also share more about our efforts.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Little training but flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myers and Stauffer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you enjoy self management and working on your schedule this could be the place for you.

    Cons

    Very little training and resources for new employees - I felt like I had to seek out information.

    Myers and Stauffer2019-09-03
  10. "Good Firm to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myers and Stauffer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Myers and Stauffer is a good firm to work for, with great work-life balance (I rarely worked more than the normal 40 hours.) From my experience, managers and senior managers were all great to work with. Relaxed business casual dress at work is great. Everyone is nice in the office, and I never saw gossiping/office politics. My office was very quite and if you put in the work, you gain trust of managers and can work on a variety of different projects. Firm helps pay for CPA study materials and exam fees, and makes it easy to take time off for the tests.

    Cons

    Can be difficult to understand Medicaid rules and regulations starting out. The work is not really enjoyable and is not conducive to furthering your career unless you stay in the industry. Office is really quiet, like eerily quiet at times, and no one interacts outside of work. Promotions are slow, like a typical accounting firm track, but salaries are low and not competitive compared to other firms, and raises/bonus are extremely underwhelming. Not recommended to work here if you want true audit experience, but if you value work-life balance and consistency over growth opportunities and promotion, it is a good firm.

    Continue reading
    Myers and Stauffer2019-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 127 reviews