KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Myers and Stauffer

Is this your company?

Myers and Stauffer

Add a Review

Myers and Stauffer Employee Reviews about "myers and stauffer"

Updated Sep 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 186 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Myers and Stauffer Executive Committee Keenan Buoy and Kevin Londeen (no image)
Keenan Buoy and Kevin Londeen
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Workload is generally steady throughout the year, which allows for a good work-life balance(in 44 reviews)

  • "At Myers and Stauffer there are always endless opportunities to learn something new and to apply that knowledge in a new way(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Many reviews bring up the "pigeon holed into healthcare" aspect(in 9 reviews)

  • "The downsides of working at the Atlanta Myers and Stauffer location is the incompetent leadership and lack of support for their employees(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "myers and stauffer"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Engaging Work, Potential for Growth

      Sep 4, 2020 - Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Government health care programs are always evolving, allowing for new projects and overall firm growth. The work is engaging and challenging, and I have found that I am continuously learning new things. Myers and Stauffer isn’t a traditional CPA firm, and this means that there isn’t the standard busy season that you will find at other CPA firms. Workload is generally steady throughout the year, which allows for a good work-life balance. Management is invested in the success and development of employees. The Denver office has a culture committee to assist with building relationships and keeping employees engaged. In addition, the firm has a new parent program and recently started a mentor program.

      Cons

      Myers and Stauffer does not perform traditional financial statement audits. The work is specialized, but this allows you to become an expert in the field.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The BEST Place to Work

      Oct 15, 2019 - Senior Healthcare Manager in Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can honestly say Myers and Stauffer is the best employer I have ever had. Some of the firm's strengths include flexible scheduling promoting great work-life balance; strong knowledgeable leadership; highly ethical standards; advancement opportunities; competitive salaries and a nice benefit package. Myers and Stauffer embraces a culture dedicated to staff development and the delivery of top quality services.

      Cons

      I'm unable to identify any at this time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Accounting

      Join the conversation on

      Accounting

      3y

      a 

      Senior Associate

      What are some unethical things you’ve done at work?

      3,607

      249 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Firm to work for

      Aug 20, 2019 - Staff Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Myers and Stauffer is a good firm to work for, with great work-life balance (I rarely worked more than the normal 40 hours.) From my experience, managers and senior managers were all great to work with. Relaxed business casual dress at work is great. Everyone is nice in the office, and I never saw gossiping/office politics. My office was very quite and if you put in the work, you gain trust of managers and can work on a variety of different projects. Firm helps pay for CPA study materials and exam fees, and makes it easy to take time off for the tests.

      Cons

      Can be difficult to understand Medicaid rules and regulations starting out. The work is not really enjoyable and is not conducive to furthering your career unless you stay in the industry. Office is really quiet, like eerily quiet at times, and no one interacts outside of work. Promotions are slow, like a typical accounting firm track, but salaries are low and not competitive compared to other firms, and raises/bonus are extremely underwhelming. Not recommended to work here if you want true audit experience, but if you value work-life balance and consistency over growth opportunities and promotion, it is a good firm.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      New Management Is Needed At The Atlanta Office

      Jul 24, 2019 - Friend of Employees in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company as a whole is great. Myers and Stauffer seems to have good intentions for current and potential employees. The benefits and compensation provided are great and the company is involved in several volunteer opportunities. Myers and Stauffer is a stable company with opportunities to make a career and advance.

      Cons

      The downsides of working at the Atlanta Myers and Stauffer location is the incompetent leadership and lack of support for their employees. As someone who works in Human Resources and has been in several leadership roles I have never been so disappointed to witness and hear the following: - Pushing unrealistic deadlines with no guidance or even showing appreciate to those employees who had to compromise their work/life balance - Only following up with employees or checking behind employees when close to deadline - Blaming and bad mouthing employees that did not receive the proper training on certain processes or procedures -Bad mouthing employees for doing what you suggested - Communication. How is it that you have a team of people but only half (I am guessing the favorites) of them know what is going on or what has been changed?

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Myers and Stauffer Response

      National HR Director

      Thank you for your feedback as we appreciate it and we are happy to look into the comments you've shared. However, it appears that your review is based off of comments and feedback you have received from one of our employees and you are not in fact a member of our workforce. As I'm sure you can attest being in leadership roles, there are two sides to every performance issue and it's concerning that you have based your review solely on the viewpoint of someone you are friends with. We provide robust training, have a LMS system with hundreds of courses, and have a very open door policy. True, we are a deadline driven business but communication is always key. If your friend has serious concerns about their training needs, management style of the local office, or career path, I'd encourage them to reach out to a member of our HR team. I'd also be happy to visit with you if your friend is not comfortable speaking with management.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Engaging, Meaningful, and Challenging

      Oct 12, 2018 - Senior Accountant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At Myers and Stauffer there are always endless opportunities to learn something new and to apply that knowledge in a new way. There is always someone ready to lend a helping hand and to guide you in the right direction. We like to say we want to "Be the expert", and I can honestly say that there is a genuine desire to be the expert from everyone I have come in contact with. Your hard work is recognized and rewarded. There is always engaging work to do and something new to learn, and what more do you want? Work-life balance is extremely valued and you are encouraged to have a full life outside of work. I would recommend Myers and Stauffer wholeheartedly to anyone.

      Cons

      I honestly do not have a true "Con", but there is a lot to learn as you engage in different projects and this can be overwhelming at times, but I have only had good experience working through this with my Manager, Senior Manager, and other coworkers that have gone through the same experience.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not your traditional accounting firm!

      Sep 5, 2018 - Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Myers and Stauffer LC is a CPA firm, however it is not the do your taxes and close out your month end books type of CPA firm. We focus on government health care programs working with Federal and State government organizations on a wide variety of healthcare issues. From rate setting, to program integrity we have a wide variety of activities that make the job interesting and challenging.

      Cons

      I am a CPA and have been with Myers and Stauffer for over 6 years, There are great opportunities for advancement and a great group of co-workers. Not to be all Polyanna, but I have not experienced any negatives. I enjoy my job and intend to make it a long-term career. However, if you are looking to hang your own shingle as a CPA or work for one of the big Six or Five or Four (whatever they have been reduced to) then this would not likely be your stepping stone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Intern

      Audit Intern

      Jul 26, 2018 - Anonymous Intern in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people at Myers and Stauffer were great to work with. Every person was always willing to help all of the interns during the summer. Very great work and life balance. Never felt overwhelmed.

      Cons

      Only Health care work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Pharmacy Department - Indianapolis

      Aug 15, 2017 - Analyst in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is reasonable, work-life balance is usually supported, and many of the people are enjoyable. The work is interesting, and has a real-life impact. There is often a real sense of comradeship among team members, and it's never difficult to find help or advice when necessary.

      Cons

      The department is in disarray. There is very poor communication and organization. Many employees report to multiple managers who don't communicate well with one another, resulting in conflicting priorities and instructions. Many employees have expressed frustration that different managers will demand their time simultaneously, and won't coordinate to ensure reasonable allocation of personnel. When management has been made aware of this, their response has been a shift toward micromanagement, putting a greater burden on employees rather than relieving it. There appears to be little to no training or development of managers. Management is also very political, and there is a perception that they "play favorites". All the senior management and most of the junior management are pharmacists, leading to a lack of diversity in opinions and viewpoints, and creating a career roadblock for employees who are not pharmacists. Good people have left because they saw no advancement prospects, and more good people are considering opportunities outside the company. A challenge in this, however, is that the work is so specific and specialized that it can be difficult to transfer the skills and experience gained at Myers and Stauffer Pharmacy Department to other employers. As a result some employees have expressed that they feel "trapped." Because of the complexity and specificity of the work, there is a sharp learning curve on many aspects of this department and business. However, there is no established formal training program to bring new employees up to speed. Training is ad hoc at best, and often rushed and unplanned. There is a great deal of unprofessional behavior. In the last six months, I have heard employees and managers alike use incredibly inappropriate language in conversation and to describe one another including, on one occasion, an ethnic slur. I have seen a manager stand at an employee's cube for nearly an hour talking about non-work related matters, then immediately criticize another employee for doing the same. Criticism often occurs publicly and in a mocking, unproductive manner. Often times, when problems arise, employees decline to speak up because they worry about their job security, and because the believe that management is indifferent to their concerns.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Myers and Stauffer Response

      National HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Myers and Stauffer. I would like to discuss your concerns and advice to management if you feel comfortable speaking to me about it. Please reach out to me at creed@mslc.com to discuss as I would very much appreciate visiting with you.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 17, 2017 - Senior Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company puts a strong emphasis on work-life balance, creating a much more positive atmosphere compared to traditional firms I have worked for in the past. Career development from within is important to management and partners. People are always willing to help and invest time in ensuring that I have received proper training.

      Cons

      There are not many cons that come to mind for Myers and Stauffer, there are not any significant changes I would make if I were in charge.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Myers and Stauffer Response

      National HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Myers and Stauffer. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying all our firm has to offer and making a difference to government health care agencies. Please feel free to share other ideas and recommendations by sending comments to me at creed@mslc.com.

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Manager

      Dec 2, 2015 - Manager in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management - The partners really care about people. After putting in a long week with quality work, it's not uncommon for them to give you a day off the following week without utilizing vacation time. If your child is sick, you don't have to worry about leaving or calling in, they are always willing to work with you. They want people to succeed, and always preach and practice training your successors so as new opportunities arise, you are in position to take those on successfully. Work - The work is challenging and ever-changing.The lingo and terminology in various engagement groups can take up to a year to learn and understand. There is no handbook to success. Opportunities arise and those that take initiative succeed and grow in the company. If you're looking for a company that will hand hold and tell you exactly what you need to do and master to grow, you'll likely not enjoy the environment here. Personally, I enjoy this environment because you're not micromanaged; you have flexibility in your analyses and project management/planning. It's more of an entrepreneurial environment.

      Cons

      I think my biggest frustrations lie in technology and data issues/constraints. For example, software doesn't change as fast as we'd like, processes or programs can break, etc. I don't think technology frustrations are limited to Myers and Stauffer, I think this is a common frustration for employees at a lot of companies.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Myers and Stauffer Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Myers and Stauffer? Share Your Experiences

    or