KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Myers and Stauffer

Is this your company?

Myers and Stauffer

Add a Review

Myers and Stauffer Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 186 reviews

4.1
73%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Myers and Stauffer Executive Committee Keenan Buoy and Kevin Londeen (no image)
Keenan Buoy and Kevin Londeen
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Workload is generally steady throughout the year, which allows for a good work-life balance(in 44 reviews)

  • "At Myers and Stauffer there are always endless opportunities to learn something new and to apply that knowledge in a new way(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Many reviews bring up the "pigeon holed into healthcare" aspect(in 9 reviews)

  • "The downsides of working at the Atlanta Myers and Stauffer location is the incompetent leadership and lack of support for their employees(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Intern

      Overall Great Experience

      Jan 5, 2021 - Intern in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great introduction to healthcare accounting. Good work-life balance.

      Cons

      None to truly note, it was a good experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Engaging Work, Potential for Growth

      Sep 4, 2020 - Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Government health care programs are always evolving, allowing for new projects and overall firm growth. The work is engaging and challenging, and I have found that I am continuously learning new things. Myers and Stauffer isn’t a traditional CPA firm, and this means that there isn’t the standard busy season that you will find at other CPA firms. Workload is generally steady throughout the year, which allows for a good work-life balance. Management is invested in the success and development of employees. The Denver office has a culture committee to assist with building relationships and keeping employees engaged. In addition, the firm has a new parent program and recently started a mentor program.

      Cons

      Myers and Stauffer does not perform traditional financial statement audits. The work is specialized, but this allows you to become an expert in the field.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Accounting

      Join the conversation on

      Accounting

      3y

      a 

      Senior Associate

      What are some unethical things you’ve done at work?

      3,607

      249 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful group in Raleigh

      Nov 16, 2019 - Senior Accountant in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at M&S for almost 4 years now, and my opinion of it has not changed. There is wonderful work/life balance available, a friendly open door environment, a nice small-office family feel, and great team members! I want to give some credit to existing management for the efforts that have been made to hire great people. When I started, there were some employees that were less motivated or friendly, but it was an overall friendly and lighthearted environment. Now, I can't name any person I work with that I would ever want to leave! Sadly, there is always turnover at a CPA firm, so this also means losing good people since pretty much only good people work here. Overall, I feel valued and noticed for my contributions, and find my interactions with my superiors to feel genuine. The management in my office and at the firm in general from what I can tell have a vested interest in growing their staff and focusing on their career goals/upward mobility.

      Cons

      As with any accounting environment, sometimes people (myself included) get caught up in the work and forget to prioritize group time. We do need to make an effort to socialize more! There is a budget for these things, of course, but overall I think it would benefit the culture and feel of the firm, and perhaps help avoid turnover to some extent.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not super interesting work, people are nice but sometimes not great communicators

      Jan 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance, people are nice

      Cons

      Work is not exciting, not super transferable skills, pay is below average

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company!

      Oct 29, 2020 - Senior Finance Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Great Co-workers

      Cons

      None to list at this time!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company

      Oct 9, 2020 - Staff Accountant in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, decent pay, interesting work.

      Cons

      Promotions based on merit means it can take years to work the way up the ladder if managers don't approve of your personality.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic and Inclusive Company

      Jun 13, 2019 - Staff Accountant in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The office that I work in has been fantastic in supporting me through school and through any personal obstacle along the way. My supervisor sent flowers when my grandmother died, they threw me a party when I married my wife (which I can admit was the only party we got considering that we were young and pretty poor at the time), and they have been nothing but supportive in my quest through my gender identity. I was nervous enough about working in a professional environment and being gay, but it was more than fine with them and they were very supportive along the way. The pay is more than fair for the hours that we are required to work and the work is less monotonous than any other accounting job that I have ever worked. Additionally, the work/life balance at this company is undoubtedly unmatched by any other accounting job.

      Cons

      It is a small office and it gives you much different skills than are typically required by larger accounting firms. However, there is obvious room for vertical growth in the company and the work is challenging and fulfilling, even for a lower level accountant.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Firm to work for

      Aug 20, 2019 - Staff Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Myers and Stauffer is a good firm to work for, with great work-life balance (I rarely worked more than the normal 40 hours.) From my experience, managers and senior managers were all great to work with. Relaxed business casual dress at work is great. Everyone is nice in the office, and I never saw gossiping/office politics. My office was very quite and if you put in the work, you gain trust of managers and can work on a variety of different projects. Firm helps pay for CPA study materials and exam fees, and makes it easy to take time off for the tests.

      Cons

      Can be difficult to understand Medicaid rules and regulations starting out. The work is not really enjoyable and is not conducive to furthering your career unless you stay in the industry. Office is really quiet, like eerily quiet at times, and no one interacts outside of work. Promotions are slow, like a typical accounting firm track, but salaries are low and not competitive compared to other firms, and raises/bonus are extremely underwhelming. Not recommended to work here if you want true audit experience, but if you value work-life balance and consistency over growth opportunities and promotion, it is a good firm.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sexism, favoritism, and busy season almost all year long.

      Mar 10, 2020 - Staff Accountant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros: -Work life balance when it’s not busy season -Flexible schedules -Flexible per diems when traveling -Nice physical office -Interesting work (subjective upon you finding the government healthcare industry interesting) -Some very sweet colleagues (but also a lot of bad apples) -Competitive CPA program -The firm partially pay for grad school ($3,000 / yr) -The partner-in-charge of the project I worked on is awesome! -Job security since government healthcare is an ever-evolving industry in need of regulating and auditing, and the firm as a whole truly is an expert at what they do. -The firm likes to hire its interns whenever possible. If you're even a halfway decent intern, you will likely receive a full-time offer.

      Cons

      Where to start... 1. Busy season... all. the. time. There were some weeks where I was making less than minimum wage based upon the hours I was working. There’s also no appreciation for the work you’re doing either if you aren’t under-billing to meet budget. 2. Sexism. From what I’ve heard from former colleagues on other projects, the sexism is unique to cost reports. The whole project is an absolute boys’ club, and this tone is set by a particular senior manager. After I left, there was only one female accountant left on a team of about 15 people. A specific example would be jokes being made about particular staff members “being women” about a particular issues: insinuating that being a woman was somehow less or derogatory. This was brought up by other female employees during their exit interviews with HR, and there was not any corrective action taken. 3. The pay is significantly below industry standard if you work on a project that is travel-intensive (therefore, you're working more hours). It's unsustainable to pay staff below average but still expect them to work 50+ hour work weeks. 4. There is not an appreciation at all for the staff and the time/sacrifice they make to meet project deadlines. At-best, there’s a small bonus and lunch hosted in the office after the deadline is met. 5. The particular project I worked on was a very toxic environment overall. Not to get into specifics, but the summation would be that the team does not operate as a team but rather everyone is out for themselves in hopes of getting promoted quicker; a senior manager even admitted that this was his mentality. 6. Like many other reviews mentioned, there is a high risk for being pigeon-holed. The firm does not try to hide its focus on government healthcare, but this is something to keep in mind. 7. The pressure and toxic environment that is both tolerated and promoted by management is detrimental to staffs' physical and mental health. TL:DR - A lot of bad managers, sexism, long hours, never-ending busy season, toxic work environment, and a lack of respect for employees physical and mental health.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Myers and Stauffer Response

      National HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Myers and Stauffer. There are comments that you shared that we would like to address for your benefit. Regarding busy season, hours worked, and salary, we are a professional service firm and additional hours during our busiest times are expected in this industry; however, our hour requirement is still below traditional large public accounting firms. Our salaries are competitive with other similar sized firms in each market but Big 4 salaries we are not (some of the Pro's you listed are why we are different than large firms). Regarding your comments on sexism there have been efforts made to address team behavior since your departure that you are unaware of and that we have dealt with. Over half of the local office leadership team is female and many (if not most) have been promoted up through the organization. If you would like to discuss your concerns and you feel comfortable speaking to us further about it, please reach out to Rebecca Kavanaugh at rkavanaugh@mslc.com to discuss or I would be happy to visit with you about your experience. I can be reached at creed@mslc.com. Either of us would very much appreciate visiting with you.

    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love working at Myers and Stauffer

      Feb 20, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for growth. Great leadership. Work life balance.

      Cons

      Not all rules are applied the same across offices or teams. Sometimes this creates friction -

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Myers and Stauffer Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Myers and Stauffer? Share Your Experiences

    or