KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Mynd Spa and Salon

Is this your company?

Mynd Spa and Salon

Add a Review

Mynd Spa and Salon Technician Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 224 reviews

4.6
29%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Mynd Spa and Salon President & Chief Executive Officer W. Todd Walter (no image)
W. Todd Walter
2 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Job

    Dec 8, 2020 - Nail Technician in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great clients,employees, management and location

    Cons

    Nothing. We were shut down because of the pandemic.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Overall experience

    Jul 30, 2020 - Nail Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers and wonderful clientele

    Cons

    Difficulty taking time off and having to work weekends and holidays

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Red door spa is a competitive place to work.

    Feb 5, 2018 - Technician in Atlantic City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary is commission plus tips. Flexible work schedule, Tips can be good! discounts on all products, booking isn’t by seniority, so you don’t start last to be booked appointments. You can make good money, if you are a salesman.

    Cons

    With All departments You will get booked in order by how much retail you sell, request rating, & average ticket. Each month, there is a formula, they use. So you have to be good at that if you wanna make money. Very competitive. At times technicians argue about appointments. Books are not evened out. So, someone could have five appointments & you won’t get an appointment until all others before you are all booked at that time. Very Competitive environment. It’s tough when you make it to the top, at times you get burned out & if you are at the bottom, you make no money, that month unless everyone else is booked up, because you are booked last & it’s depressing. Any discounts the spa gives, come out of your commission. There’s not really a lot of team work.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Northeast Regional Recruiter

    Thank you for adding your review to our Glassdoor page. We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed working with us for over 3 years! We appreciate you and all your hard work! Thank you again for being a great employee.

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Technician

    Jul 7, 2015 - Technician in Garden City, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you meet can become life-long friends, discounts are great, paid vacation and 401k if you are full time. You have the potential to make a good living if you do not take breaks and don't mind being booked outside of your shift to accommodate last minute guests and booking errors. Trainings are a plus.

    Cons

    Everyone here is replaceable. Loyalty is rarely rewarded, they want everything from you and give nothing in return. It is of no concern to managers or the company if you achieve success as an individual, and they would rather be consistently over staffed than run the risk of turning away an appointment. Unless you are very patient and highly requested, you will likely be at the bottom of the "ranking" system that determines who gets booked first. They base this on a combination of total service sales, retention, and retail sales--new hires are at the top for three months and then go to the bottom of the list until they are able to prove themselves. The larger the department, the more difficult this is of course. The booking department is a total disaster. They simply aren't paid enough to care. Guests come in for their appointments already angry and as the technician, you are responsible for dealing with it. No matter how explicitly you tell them how to book your appointments, there will be multiple mistakes that you must be on the look out for so as to correct them before it's too late. If you fail to do this, management will placate the guests by offering discounts that come out of your pocket. This is if the guest isn't too turned off to continue coming. Either way, you are the one who pays. There is very little accountability from higher ups. The managers spend the majority of time behind closed doors and are usually too "busy" to discuss concerns with staff. Reviews are the only time you can request an increase, and they are not given regularly if at all. They then make you decide between an hourly wage raise and a commission increase and never grant you both... Assuming you choose commission, this probably means that you will be paid minimum wage for vacation, holidays, and trainings. You don't not make an hourly wage in addition to commission--they are not clear on this upon hiring.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A Gimmick

    Mar 19, 2017 - Nail Technician in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Getting your hair, nails, and body treatments done for almost free. Employee only sales and discount days. The name Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa looks good on your resume.

    Cons

    When it's not busy and your client retention is low then you are subject to losing your job.. the company only promotes its products that they sell not the services.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Thank you for posting a review on the Glassdoor about The Red Door. Client retention is a personal goal that is set for our technicians as a means for our employees to gauge their own personal success. If client retention is not high, it does not mean that our employees are losing their job. We have to agree, we have fabulous services and great perks like getting pampered at such a great discount! At home care is key after any service, so we offer discounts on retail products as well!

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Unpleasant ( which is sad cause I desperately want to Love this Job and make it my permanent Career)

    Jan 28, 2015 - Nail Technician in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    90% off service. If the staff likes you, you can get pretty much all services done for free. Lots of good eatery on the block and shopping. The Name will take you Far because people associated it with class and sophistication.

    Cons

    Lies, bad management, they have yet to expand to the rest of the world, the clientele are a bit uppity and so are the people who work there. When it come to doing hair they only do one type, one way, and that's it. The services are over priced for what these people truly know. Some people have worked there for 15 plus years and have yet to see a pay raise of any kind. We I was hired the manager said that there where classes so I was so excited to learn and grow with this company (LIES).... unless you do hair to learn the same old thing. When I was hired the management said their was room to grow (LIES). I can tell by the staff they already have who are tired and stuck. When I was hired I was told how busy I would be (LIES). I sit and sit and sit and sit and sit. For $9.00 and hour or 30% commission which I'll never make because they are losing clientele.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Technician

    May 13, 2018 - Technician in Union, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You make decent money if you are booked and hard working

    Cons

    If you nag or if you are selfish they will booked you and forget about the other technicians.they are very unfair when it comes to bookings. Some technicians are shady and they are contantly marking there clients as request just to get more clients.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Northeast Regional Recruiter

    Thank you for reviewing us on Glassdoor.com We hear your concerns and will be in contact to ensure that we are booking our service providers properly.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Hopefully Things Have Changed

    Jun 6, 2016 - Nail Technician in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    An advantage to working at the spa was being able to trade services with other technicians. The only issue was that we were usually so busy that it was difficult to do so.

    Cons

    There were a lot of issues with booking appointments for blocks of time that were less than the allotted time determined by corporate. That made things very hectic and there were several days where I didn't even have time to go to the bathroom because scheduling was so tight.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nail tech

    Jun 20, 2017 - Nail Technician in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Steady clients and pay. High commission

    Cons

    Too much drama among employees

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Thank you for reviewing The Red Door in Washington, DC. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so it is wonderful to hear that you have built your book with returning guests!

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Nail Tech

    Aug 27, 2017 - Nail Technician in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    /" Pay Culture Team members Reputation Locations

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about this company

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts on the pros of working for The Red Door!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Mynd Spa and Salon Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mynd Spa and Salon? Share Your Experiences

Mynd Spa and Salon logo
or