Cover image for Mynd Spa and Salon
Logo

Mynd Spa and Salon

Is this your company?

Mynd Spa and Salon

Add a Review

Mynd Spa and Salon Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated May 26, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 239 of over 239 reviews
3.5
56% Recommend to a Friend
53% Approve of CEO

Found 10 of over 239 reviews

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Mynd Spa and Salon President & Chief Executive Officer W. Todd Walter (no image)
W. Todd Walter
113 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with (co(in 12 reviews)
  • "Friendly coworkers, close to ASU, downtown Tempe(in 7 reviews)
  • "Great team and always busy(in 7 reviews)
  • "My annual salary actually increased during the recession.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Great environment, more than enough clients.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management is an understatement.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Horrible pay horrible hours not even close to being as high end or as nice as some local day spas(in 10 reviews)
  • "Manager is always either getting hair done or sitting in the back office.(in 7 reviews)
  • "available benefits are good but you pay for most of them.(in 6 reviews)
  • "The work/life balance is also horrible, you will be expected to work your entire life around the job (as in, 'you should be grateful you have a Saturday off this month!')(in 5 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It was a great place to work. I enjoyed every minute

    Feb 16, 2015 - Masseuse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice people, great environment, good hours

    Cons

    pretentious customers sometimes, not enough money for this area

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Turn around and don’t look back

    Nov 8, 2019 - Guest Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You meet some great people, discounts can be nice and hours are flexible.

    Cons

    Awful pay. They only focus on critiquing the bad in you, never any good reviews. Upper management especially needs to wake up and understand the morale of the front desk/reservations is a direct reflection on them. The HEALTH CARE ABSOLUTELY SUCKS! IT IS MEDICARE! Highest deductible I have ever seen - you’re better off paying the fine and negotiating prices with the doctor yourself. They also fire or let go some of the best workers/employees out there. I have lost so many coworkers due to such dumb reasons and I don’t know how much longer I’ll be able to stand it.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Staffing Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for speaking up! We want to ensure that we are representing our Core Values every day. We take our employee's concerns seriously and appreciate your feedback. We would like to speak with you personally, please reach out to us at guestrelations@myndspa.com so we can communicate further to ensure that are our employees are happy and successful. We love to hear that you enjoy the great discounts and flexible hours. You are correct, retention is everything. Thank you for being a part of our team for over five years!

  3. Join the Mynd Spa and Salon team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Company has forgotten how to be a "family"

    Mar 5, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great group of people- technicians

    Cons

    They never raise your rate of commission,

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Nice

    Jul 14, 2020 - Manager in Rockville, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Well No work life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Not a long term or happy place to be...

    Feb 13, 2016 - Guest Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most of the people you work with are friendly & great, the discounts on services are great too.

    Cons

    Lots of disorganization with management. Understaffing is a constant problem. Dealing with the nasty attitudes of regular clients & corporate guests from upstairs. Inadequate pay considering that the GSRs are basically managers & are overworked. It's impossible to find coverage for days requested off due to such a small front desk staff. Say goodbye to holidays and weekends off. No gratis products or recognition from management or corporate.

    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Terrible Management

    Jul 29, 2014 - Massage Therapist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent compensation for technicians (assuming you are busy every day) - Great people to work with (co-workers) - Beautiful locations and facilities

    Cons

    - Management lied to me when they first hired me (They told me I would be working at the 5th ave location, which was very busy, and ended up putting me in the Chatwal Hotel full time where I was seeing 5 clients a week at best) - Management does not care about the technicians. - Very disorganized - Very few vacation days (even if you have worked there for 10+ years)

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Growth Opportunities and Loyal Staff

    Sep 5, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stability, Great People to Work With, Strong Leadership Team

    Cons

    Currently under going changes too quickly

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing people do not makeup for the lack of business and structure.

    Nov 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people. Flexible schedule. Have some Sundays off. Tips. Commission. Services for a very discounted price. Love 2 of the managers who are the only ones hat are consistently there.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover. Benefits are pricey. Corporate is unrealistic. Run through new managers all of the time just trying to find someone to blame when in reality the location was terrible. No one knew we were there.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Massage therapist

    Dec 30, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great co workers and you get to meet a lot of very diverse people.

    Cons

    Poor management and corporate structure

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Thank you for your honest opinion about your previous experience with The Red Door. We encourage constructive feedback on looking for ways to continue to thrive as a company in our ever evolving field. In a busy environment we must remember to take care of our health by relaxing on your break and staying as hydrated and fueled as possible! Once again, thank you for taking the time out and providing us with your experience.

  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to start working within the customer service field

    Aug 16, 2017 - Guest Service Representative in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The staff and team are great people. You can learn a lot of transferable skills. Management is understanding of work-life balance.

    Cons

    It's the retail and customer service field. Front desk stands up all day and can be physically demanding. Environment is stressful although it's where other people come to relieve stress.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mynd Spa and Salon Response

    Thank you for writing a review about The Red Door by Elizabeth Arden on Glassdoor. If you are looking for a career in the hospitality, beauty or wellness industry we are a great place to start and grow your career. We offer many opportunities to advance into management or a service provider role. With over 2 dozen locations nationwide, it is easy to transfer to another state, cross country or into a different department! Thank you for your review.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Mynd Spa and Salon Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mynd Spa and Salon? Share Your Experiences

Mynd Spa and Salon logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Mynd Spa and Salon Job Seekers Also Viewed

Elizabeth Arden Logo
Elizabeth Arden

3.8

285 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 239 Mynd Spa and Salon reviews submitted anonymously by Mynd Spa and Salon employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Mynd Spa and Salon is right for you.