KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Mynd Spa and Salon

Is this your company?

Mynd Spa and Salon

Add a Review

Mynd Spa and Salon Employee Reviews about "spa"

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 223 reviews

3.3
45%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Mynd Spa and Salon President & Chief Executive Officer W. Todd Walter (no image)
W. Todd Walter
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "The discounts for employees with products and services are amazing(in 18 reviews)

  • "You get a 90% discount on services booked same day at your home location and 50% off at other locations(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Salon & Spa Management was constantly changing at the time I was there(in 16 reviews)

  • "Often times front desk would be bare, leaving workers to fend for themselves(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "spa"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      excellent company

      Mar 10, 2020 - Stylist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fantastic benefits! paid time off, maternity leave, family leave, top tier health coverage. The company is wonderful & the CEO genuinely cares about the well being of the employees. Advancement possibilities are there & there are consent reviews that can result in raises.

      Cons

      Salon & Spa Management was constantly changing at the time I was there. I'm sure by now it's evened out. If you take pride in your business & are disciplined to manage yourself you'll be fine.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great field people. Horrible corporate leadership

      Mar 16, 2020 - Technical Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing field people : service providers, guest service reps and management . Great service discount and decent benefits.

      Cons

      Horrible corporate leadership! Huge disconnect from the field. CEO of the company has no clue how to run spa business . For the past 5 years he ruined entire reputation of the Red Door brand . Let third party company take over the re- branding process. Gave us absolutely hideous name. Mr. Walter should be ashamed of himself. He successfully ruined carries of many spa professionals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The company I know I will retire with....

      Aug 2, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Atlantic City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      From day one, I have had nothing but support from managers and corporate trainers. My experience with The Red Door has been multi-departmental. I see it as being one of the lucky ones - going from technician to manager. Everyone in my journey has been friendly and makes it easy to come to work in the morning. Working at a company that has such a history and with such strong branding just makes the experience even nicer. Education is important on all levels in this company. They care about their employees and provide a wealth of knowledge on all levels.

      Cons

      Many emails on the management end. I do feel the need to check emails on days off so I am not overwhelmed on my Monday back in-spa. I do that so I can use my time effectively on the floor or on a task instead of sitting at my desk. Secondly, pay scale for salaried employees should be looked at. In an ever changing market, and with new competition always popping up, this is one way to ensure good managers stay with a company that they love to work for. Competitive rates are important.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mynd Spa and Salon Response

      Northeast Regional Recruiter

      Thank you for telling us your story and sharing your work experience with us. You are a shining example of an employee who starts off as a service provider and shifts into management. With so many locations and departments it is our pleasure to help you grow in your career. We appreciate your honest feedback. Remember, on your days off, rest and rejuvenate! We feel like the lucky one to have you!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Red door spa is a competitive place to work.

      Feb 5, 2018 - Technician in Atlantic City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is commission plus tips. Flexible work schedule, Tips can be good! discounts on all products, booking isn’t by seniority, so you don’t start last to be booked appointments. You can make good money, if you are a salesman.

      Cons

      With All departments You will get booked in order by how much retail you sell, request rating, & average ticket. Each month, there is a formula, they use. So you have to be good at that if you wanna make money. Very competitive. At times technicians argue about appointments. Books are not evened out. So, someone could have five appointments & you won’t get an appointment until all others before you are all booked at that time. Very Competitive environment. It’s tough when you make it to the top, at times you get burned out & if you are at the bottom, you make no money, that month unless everyone else is booked up, because you are booked last & it’s depressing. Any discounts the spa gives, come out of your commission. There’s not really a lot of team work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Mynd Spa and Salon Response

      Northeast Regional Recruiter

      Thank you for adding your review to our Glassdoor page. We are very pleased to see that you have enjoyed working with us for over 3 years! We appreciate you and all your hard work! Thank you again for being a great employee.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Guest Service Representative

      Jun 28, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to enjoy free services during your lunch break. That's really the only pro.

      Cons

      Very poor management team. They don't know how to run the place. Very rude employees, only a handful can be trusted. Everyone is extremely fake and unprofessional. Horrible benefits. No pay raise at all. Whatever you get offered at your hiring date is what you will always be making, unless of course if you get promoted then there will be A BIT of a pay increase. You will never get a 6month or yearly increase because that just doesn't exist at Red Door Spa. But hey, if you're good at being fake and can deal with fake people (including your fellow employees) all day long, then I guess you'd love it there! :D

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Low paying for a "high end" spa

      Mar 19, 2018 - Guest Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My teammates are amazing. I love working at the front desk solely for my teammates (not my managers) I enjoy interacting with them and feel like i have developed friendships with most of them if not all. You get a discount on services and products (but the products aren't that good)

      Cons

      the pay is pathetic. some of the services are upwards of $200 dollars yet front desk can only make 11-12 dollars? its pathetic. this is a luxury spa it should at minimum pay 15-17. no wonder the turnover rate is outstanding

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Mynd Spa and Salon Response

      Northeast Regional Recruiter

      We love hearing that you work with an amazing team and enjoy the deep discounts we offer on retail and services! We do hope that you take advantage of our other great benefits, such as 401K, medical, dental and vision plans and our continuing education that is offered for all departments. Thank you for adding your review.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Management

      Jul 1, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team to work with.

      Cons

      Poor management is an understatement. There really isn't effective management. no enforceable cancellation policy (leaving technicians scratching their heads when guest just don't show), NO AUTOMATIC GRATUITIES. 20% is the industry standard, and since the company relies on gratuities to pay their employees this is a huge issue. No regard for your time....on an 8 hour shift....we will schedule you discounted service in your 8th hour. Don't care. Oh...and the discounts. They pride themselves on being a 5 star spa, but no five star spa accepts coupons. Get ready to have your days discounted away.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Esthetician

      Apr 13, 2016 - Esthetician in Groton, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offered benefits which is rare in this industry.

      Cons

      You weren't allowed to have an opinion on what to sell to people. Hey just wanted you to sell prevage to everyone. Commission is pretty low too. You work at a high end spa and make low commission. Clients don't tip well thinking we get 40-50% and we don't get close to that. Worked Saturday and Sunday of every week.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Esthetician

      Oct 3, 2018 - Esthetician in Tucson, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Pay, Good insurance, friendly work environment, great management, beautiful spa and a really good company to work for.

      Cons

      Seasonality but understanding because Tucson is very seasonal. Spa Facilites needs updating

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Mynd Spa and Salon Response

      Northeast Regional Recruiter

      Thank you for reviewing the La Paloma location in Tucson, AZ. We are so pleased to hear that you see all the great benefits that we provide! Great pay, good insurance, a friendly work environment, great management (go La Paloma!) and a beautiful spa! Thank you for the advice you gave. Let’s market to the Tucson community more!

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Management a Trainwreck

      Oct 28, 2013 - Guest Service Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      • Awesome discounts and access to superior quality technicians that I definitely couldn't afford to get services from otherwise. • Most of the people I worked with were super nice. • What the technician says, goes. I think it is so important that technicians are treated like they know what they're doing. • Easy to sell products. You don't even have to try. With the product quality, and the wealth of the clientele, I easily sold $2000 in product a month- even as just a lowly receptionist, and without falsely claiming credit for the sold product.

      Cons

      Oh lord. Where do I begin. NO training. Basically you show up on day one, watch a video called SMILE, and then the manager tells you to just go ahead and jump into the work at the front desk, and shuts the office door. I had never used the software before, so I spent a couple of days fumbling around like an idiot in front of guests before I sufficiently taught myself the basics. To make it more difficult, the technicians all have very specific ways they would like their services booked; including timing, guests tthey refuse to see, how much time they like to have between services to catch up... It's a lot to remember. Like I said, techs should be treated as though they are competent, but as an esthetician myself, I can say they take themselves too seriously. A lot of ego running around the spa. As I said, I am also an esthetician, and when I was hired in guest services, I was told I could also be trained in their esthetics department in case anything happened to where they would need an extra hand. Four months went by, nothing. So I found another opportunity as a facialist at another company, and when I gave my notice the manager said, " Oh that's too bad, we were just going to start talking to you about a full time esthetician position." Cheap shot. That was my last day. Mostly it was a boring job that had no real chance of going anywhere that i couldn't pay my bills on.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Mynd Spa and Salon Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Mynd Spa and Salon? Share Your Experiences

    Mynd Spa and Salon logo
    or