KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Myplanet

Engaged Employer

Myplanet

Add a Review

Myplanet Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 of over 127 reviews

4.7
94%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Myplanet Founder and CEO Jason Cottrell (no image)
Jason Cottrell
89 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Myplanet and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A Second Family

    Mar 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - food - unlimited vacation - great office

    Cons

    - some attrition - hard to book meetings with some folks

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Myplanet Response

    CEO

    Thank-you for taking the time to write this review. Our office(s) have a lot going for them. Glad that they have been a positive in your experience at Myplanet. We have a lot of perks, my favourite being the people I get to work with each day. I want to set a reasonable expectation that our vacation, sick and paid training time are generous but not unlimited. We work with each Myplaneteer as best we can to match up the appropriate work-life balance for their specific needs. Happy to report that our attrition is less than industry norm, though in 2014 we did have some of our new functions experience higher-than-average turnover as they established themselves. I'd love for you to reach out to me jason (et) myplanet.com to understand where is has been difficult to book time with myself, our leadership or key specialists within the company. Our job is to support our teams, and I want to ensure we improve on this front. While my time is increasingly consumed by travel to visit our clients, partners and offices I still ensure availability in group sessions such as Morning Coffee, Know Your Company and Company Retro. Please let me know where we can do better.

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    A second family that definitely works hard and celebrates the big and small wins!

    Jul 22, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - people - location - benefits - challenges that help you grow professionally - Mindfulness Mondays were great to take the break and reflect

    Cons

    - some people needed more structure than others - could be a culture shock for those that come from an larger enterprise organization.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Myplanet Response

    CEO

    Really appreciate your time writing this review. It sounds like a lot of your experience here at Myplanet resonated with you. I appreciate your time contributing to forums such as SOTU, Company Q&A, Morning Coffee and for providing feedback into our bi-weekly one-on-one feedback sessions. The best ideas we have heard and implemented come from those sessions. We try to be up-front that individuals who need extensive structure may not be a fit here at Myplanet. We're looking for those who can bring new ideas and challenges to our team. Thank-you again for your positive contributions to our story.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Mostly great, some room for improvement

    Jun 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, interesting work, flexible working arrangements

    Cons

    Growing pains that come from scaling, lack of incentive to use the office makes collaboration and those that want to work at an office more challenging than necessary

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, amazing Culture

    May 26, 2022 - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work with amazingly talented people. Everyone is willing to help. Team work is amazing.

    Cons

    Some uncertainties about how projects/work is allocated.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Deceptive, Passive Aggressive, Antisocial

    Jun 20, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is decent, can work from home

    Cons

    - For a remote business, the amount of toxic gossip that takes place in this organization is beyond belief (discussions led openly in a passive-aggressive manner by more dominant team-members in either chats or during team calls) - Internally on many occasions I hear people speak poorly/disrespectfully of their clients - Often recommendations that are brought forward for process improvement are perceived as a personal attack - Senior management doesn't care about "the details", and brushes off concerns or points of views of employees regarding hostile workplace dynamics (I experienced this with a VP of Myplanet) - There is very little team spirit, or sense of belonging, as you'll be very unlikely to ever meet anyone in your team in person. There's company wide virtual calls, there's laughs and giggles in some chats, HR is trying their best, but teams in reality are not gelling. - People are very overworked

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent company with flexible hours

    May 3, 2022 - Senior Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote based company Flexible work hours Great culture Brilliant people to learn from Fun and exciting challenges

    Cons

    Some (minimal) mandatory meeting that may land outside your regular schedule.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The most fulfilling work-from-home role I've ever had

    Apr 27, 2022 - Content Writer in Barrie, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Myplanet is a remote-first employer. When I first started working with them, they quickly assuaged any trepidation I had from another work-from-home role. From (optional) virtual lunchtime chats with a random coworker to weekly lightning talk events, there are plenty of opportunities to get to know and connect with your colleagues on the other side of the screen. Compensation and benefits packages are competitive, and you never feel like your growth is stagnant. Just as you're able to create the schedule you want, you're encouraged to explore a career path that matches your interests and strengths. At an industry level, Myplanet does a great job at positioning itself as a leader within the commerce technology industry, publishing insightful thought pieces and taking pride in the work that it does.

    Cons

    A remote-first environment might be a deterrent for some, but if you make an effort to engage with others, you'll quickly feel right at home.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Flexible hour

    Apr 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and friendly environment

    Cons

    limited possibilities within a small organization

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing culture

    Mar 17, 2022 - Solution Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Myplanet has the best company culture, everyone is friendly, helpful, and smart. As a B-Corp, Myplanet puts a lot of attention on employee well-being and society. Lots of interesting projects and challenges

    Cons

    The company management structure is extremely flat which sometimes can lead to a lot of internal discussions without a clear decision-maker.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Mar 4, 2022 - Front End Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good working environment, team based approach and very progressive workspace.

    Cons

    Like any employer, not perfect but can't think of any major cons

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 107 Reviews

Myplanet Reviews FAQs

Myplanet has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on over 127 reviews left anonymously by employees. 94% of employees would recommend working at Myplanet to a friend and 86% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Myplanet employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Myplanet. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

94% of Myplanet employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Myplanet 4.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.8 for culture and values and 4.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Myplanet to be senior leadership, career development, culture and the cons to be management .

Popular Careers with Myplanet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Myplanet? Share Your Experiences

or

Myplanet Photos

+ Add Photo
Myplanet photo of: Our team finding a moment to connect at Voice Summit
Myplanet photo of: Should we make hats?
Myplanet photo of: Our CDO and CTO celebrating their 10 year Myplanet anniversaries
Myplanet photo of: Some of our team decked out in their Myplanet best
Myplanet photo of: The crowd at one of the most hotly anticipated Lightning Talks of 2019— and it did not disappoint
Myplanet photo of: Getting the perfect light to capture a team treat is extremely important.
Myplanet photo of: Canadian Tuxedo Launch party (Coffee Crisp pocket squares optional)
See All Photos