Myplanet "leadership team" Reviews | Glassdoor

Myplanet Employee Reviews about "leadership team"

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
98%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Myplanet CEO Jason Cottrell (no image)
Jason Cottrell
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance (Really understand that employees have life outside work)(in 11 reviews)

  • "The Leadership Team are available, communicative and hands-on(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing and is facing 'growing pains'(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "leadership team"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great people, great culture, interesting work. What's not to love?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Product Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great CEO and leadership team that actually cares about employees - Amazing work culture and opportunities to work on interesting projects - Transparency and expectations setup from the beginning

    Cons

    - Have to fight for allocation of developers and designers sometimes

    Advice to Management

    - Keep doing what you're doing right now - Try to allocate people 100% on projects when possible, as opposed to 50-50 splits

    Myplanet2019-08-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "By far the best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Strategist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Organization genuinely cares about their employees - Structured soft & hard skills development and professional growth - Good opportunities for career progression - Interesting mix of enterprise-level clients and projects - Plenty of learning opportunities, including regular in-office talks, library, online resources and more - Welcoming, open and diverse culture - Awesome, hard-working colleagues who... are real experts in their respective fields - Very flexible on WFH and core hours - they realize that employees have lives outside of the office - The Leadership Team are available, communicative and hands-on - Strike an excellent balance of autonomy and support - So. Many. Dogs.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Work can ramp up and down quickly, meaning some days might be very quiet while others are extremely busy - this doesn't suit everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is very open at the moment between the Leadership Team and employees, as we continue to scale as an organization I think it's important to find new ways to ensure this continues.

    Myplanet2019-05-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Really on a roll, so proud to be a part of this team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time

    Pros

    I love my team. I'm proud to be part of a company that's at the leading edge of how technology will change how we work. The leadership has successfully transitioned many incoming projects to have a heavy emphasis on data and AI, and they have built one of the leading Voice / Conversation practice areas in North America. The team tends to be modest, but they have amassed an impressive customer roster comprised... of the top tech companies and brands. The focus on Smarter Interfaces seems to be paying off. The company has been growing consistently and recently raised funding. I love my colleagues, and it's been years since I've been this energized by my work. Katie, Jada and the hiring team have really refined the hiring process, so those that do join are of a high calibre. These people are surprisingly cross-disciplinary... Myplanet is the first place I've worked where design, engineering and product really respect each other and collaborate. I also appreciate the significant effort put into creating an inclusive and accessible workplace. When I need time with family, my team empathizes and works with me to accommodate. I was able to attend the Myplanet Mind training program since I joined, and mindfulness is now a part of my daily routines. The company invests heavily in professional development, mentorship, and has established clear career paths that give me choices.

    Show More

    Cons

    Never enough meeting rooms, though the office expansion should fix that . You need to be comfortable working in a cross-functional team. If you prefer working on your own, Myplanet may not be the right choice for you. The leadership team is very busy and so you need to be good at working with your team and troubleshooting on your own. Performance reviews give great feedback, but often arrive a month or two... late.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Build space to breath into your growth plans. Keep investing in culture, training and innovation.

    Myplanet2018-10-23
  4. "A Remarkable Workplace With An Unbeatable Culture, Prioritizing People And Work/Life Balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Myplanet for a little over 6 months now and I must say that I am completely impressed by my experience so far. Here are some notable items: GENERAL PERKS: - Plenty of opportunities to receive and provide mentorship - Remote working/work from home friendly - Flexible working hours/schedule - 5 "awesome days" for all employees to work on professional development, projects or anything... you want to learn to better your skills - Profit sharing and stock options - Pet friendly office. You can bring your dog to work. A very nice way to relieve stress in the work place - Office inside of a cool historic building in Toronto (tall ceilings, big windows, exposed brick, etc.) - Professional development budget for books, courses, some conferences and even buying new tech VALUES & CULTURE: - Myplanet has a solid culture, series of process and wonderful people - Strong culture of inclusivity that feels authentic - Hack days every quarter where you can collaborate with people from across different teams to solve interesting design/tech/business - Great pride in providing amazing customer experiences problems - Company is investing time and resources in very interesting areas like AR, VR, Voice-Tech... amongst others - There is a strong culture of knowledge sharing and promoting thought leadership - Myplanet is solid is in documenting its processes. The company wiki is great and super helpful. - Lightning talks every week. A chance to watch an interesting presentation done by another team member, and enjoy drinks and snacks with everyone - Culture of mindfulness and meditation is present throughout the company - 360 degree reviews are done every quarter, where you self-assess yourself and your peers which help inform your semi-annual compensation reviews PEOPLE & LEADERSHIP: - My coworkers are very intelligent and fascinating people - The IT staff are very great in providing you with fast tech support and the right tools to help you get your job done well. - The leadership team are very down to earth and are very approachable - 4 of the 5 original founders still work for the company - CEO is a very nice guy and actually takes the time to get to know people - Paths of advancements are made very clear to employees - Managers work closely with employees for professional development - People are given shoutouts for doing good work as well as for general celebrations (birthdays, work anniversaries, etc.) MISC.: - They have an impressive portfolio of clients and partners (some you'll learn more about upon joining the team) - Opportunities to travel for work if you work in a client-services oriented role - The company is always on brand - Employee retention seems quite strong

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any company, it has some growing pains but nothing too major. The building is split into 3 floors so sometimes you feel separated from people on the other floors. The space is starting to feel more full as a result of growth. But the leadership team is acquiring more space to handle that. The office can feel quiet sometimes because people are offsite for client visits and so on. There are no stocked... shelves full of snacks like other tech companies (that could change though)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Keep making the effort to hear employee feedback and taking action on them. Keep putting things back into the company that are in the benefit of the people who work there. Also some more snacks in the future would be fantastic! Finally, keep up the amazing culture of CX where we go above and beyond to help the customers we serve.

    Myplanet2018-08-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Inspiring leaders and smart employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time

    Pros

    - The smartest people I’ve ever worked with, always willing to help and share their knowledge. - The leadership team is a group of passionate and intelligent people who really do care about their employees. - There is a competency model the company uses to evaluate employees, 360 reviews, biweekly professional development meetings and other frameworks in place to help you grow in your desired career path. -... The work is challenging and fun, the company's initiatives in new technologies, smart interfaces and AI is super exciting. - The leadership is transparent and open. There are quarterly meetings to communicate company's direction and strategies. - The company culture around constantly making improvements to processes and operations is very encouraging. - Small but really appreciated: All desks can be adjusted to be standing desks!

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing major stands out to me but an area of improvement could be enhancing the breakout/collaboration spaces so they better facilitate myplanet's co-working culture.

    Myplanet2017-11-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Growth-focused, talent-driven. Company for people who want to be people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Myplanet's greatest strength are the people at the company. The talent level is very high and everyone is friendly and collaborative. The level of emotional intelligence is high. Projects are self-organizing and driven by the team members. The level of engagement and ownership is very high as a result. The biggest thing about Myplanet is that I like the people I work with. I like the work we do. I have autonomy... over how we do it. And I feel like I'm empowered to do the best I can. The company is dedicated to fostering an open culture. You can actually tell the C-level leadership what you think and they will listen. During company status meetings there are multiple venues to ask questions to accommodate different communication styles and locations. There's also plenty of 1-on-1 mentorship and syncs. The company also actively considers diversity and has a diversity committee to explore how to be more diverse. The leadership team has stumbled in the past but has found it's way more recently. The open and iterative approach to leadership has definitely yielded results. In addition, more support is being offered by the extended leadership team than in the past. The path of advancement has been clarified and they are very clear in what kinds of people in different leadership roles.

    Show More

    Cons

    Seniority isn't really a way to get your way here. It's a strong meritocracy. You need to be both strong technically, and an effective and empathetic communicator to be able to influence your team mates. You need to be able to explain why your decisions are correct while being respectful and collaborative. I wouldn't say this is a "drawback" necessarily, but for people coming in who expect to have a more traditional... culture, it can be a shock. Another downside is that projects can "follow you around". The nature of services is that you're doing something new 1-2 times per year, which is great for keeping it fresh. However, if you're a crucial person to the project then you can get pulled back into support it in exceptional circumstances (which affects your current commitments). The company has a support team which is supposed to handle these kinds of things, but it's still improving.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talent retention needs to be a focus. The strength of the company is it's people.

    Myplanet2017-10-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time

    Pros

    - really smart co-workers - ambitious leadership team who are also very open to inputs - a lot of potential to grow - the company actually cares about their employees

    Cons

    - the last few years, the growth has been limited BUT that is changing now - the long-term strategy/ vision of the company is unclear sometimes

    Myplanet2017-10-11
  8. "Really nice place to work and be part of a team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Devops Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet for less than a year

    Pros

    - TeamWork - Leadership Team - Environment - Mission - Vision - Strategy - Culture I'd like to recommend this company to anyone that would like to have a good work-life-balance and enjoy an outstanding place to play as hard as you can and helping each other to achieve success as a team.

    Cons

    I could not see any cons point so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your best to engage the employees and receiving very well all new team members as I saw. The first days are important to your new employees. They will remember forever these days. Good job.

    Myplanet2017-10-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myplanet full-time

    Pros

    - Everyone at the company enjoys working with one another - Lots of room to grow and opportunity to work on a variety of projects - Leadership team keen on helping each team member grow (with budget on conferences and professional development) - Flexible work from home policies - Great office!

    Cons

    - Company direction wasn't clear at times

    Myplanet2017-01-18
  10. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myplanet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very friendly, caring, supportive, and kind organization. - Talented people who care deeply about their work. - High potential for personal growth. - Interesting projects with opportunity to travel. - Fortunate to have worked with people who had similar interests and personalities. I still keep in touch with all of them. - The leadership team does a good job of being transparent. - Incredibly bright, yet funky... creative director.

    Show More

    Cons

    - I worked on a product in its earliest phase that had low impact and was made in isolation both internally and externally. It didn't feel engaging or meaningful at the time, though I'm sure this has improved. - Agency growing pains were very apparent at times.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep up the good work, and best of luck!

    Myplanet2016-03-07
Found 11 reviews