Myriad Genetics Lab Technician II Reviews | Glassdoor

Myriad Genetics Lab Technician II Reviews

Updated May 31, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Myriad Genetics CEO Mark C. Capone
Mark C. Capone
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing health benefits, good working enviornment, great co-workers, consistent hours, overtime opportunities, PTO, 13 holidays paid at 2.5x your rate when you work it, 3-4 day weekend depending on the work schedule, advancement opportunities, summer bonus and christmas "gift" bonus, matching 401k, covered parking, work parties, multiple break rooms.

    Cons

    Have to work the major holidays, long hours, only 1 small raise a year, no books or electronics in the lab

    Advice to Management

    Better raises and raising existing wages to match the increase of new hire wages.

    Myriad Genetics2016-05-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to begin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Actively making a difference to people's lives Good Swing-Shift Crew Opportunities to grow if sought after. Good entry job into the field

    Cons

    Inter-Department Politics lead to a lot of waste. Low pay to the amount of stress.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate employees. Maybe increase pay for Lab Techs to match current competitive rates.

    Myriad Genetics2017-05-31

    Myriad Genetics Response

    July 31, 2017EVP HR

    We appreciate your post and encourage all of our employees if they have improvement ideas or suggestions that they submit them to our suggestion box on our intranet site. We are always looking for opportunity to reduce waste and become more efficient. It sounds like you have some creative ideas we would love to hear about.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Myriad is pretty great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics

    Pros

    I absolutely love my schedule. I work 3 12 hour shifts and while it took some getting used to it's great. I get 4 days off every week which means I can travel without taking time off. Myriad also does profit sharing and Christmas bonuses which is nice.

    Cons

    My supervisor is slow to hire new people when we need them. We've been short staffed by at least a person for most of time I've worked there. There is also little place for career growth for me.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more quickly, it drains your employees to be short staffed for so long.

    Myriad Genetics2015-11-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lab Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Three 12-hour shifts and and a youthful environment. Somewhat meaningful work.

    Cons

    It's hard to work behind the scenes, where the actual product is being done, and be completely undervalued and underappreciated. The other reviews of employment in the lab are spot on. Turnover is high and morale is low for very strong reasons.

    Advice to Management

    Train the supervisors.

    Myriad Genetics2015-10-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good company with great benefits, but if you're looking for advancement, then you better be willing to outlast everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Friendly people Beautiful location Close to downtown Clean break rooms and bathrooms Good workout facility with showers Lots of different shifts (day, swing & night) throughout the week.

    Cons

    Could pay more Weird culture of outlasting everyone and making the right friends for advancement. Being towards the end of the line, you feel ignored and look past at times. Never ask for input from techs.

    Advice to Management

    Quit giving big raises to VPs and other higher ups, and distribute it to those that need it most.

    Myriad Genetics2015-08-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good experience as long as you don't get stuck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Good people Good place to work right out of college to gain work experience to help get your next job

    Cons

    No room to move up as a lab tech They don't care about keeping you until you quit Experience > competency Traffic on foothill

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within! Some of the lab techs really know what they're doing and love this company. There is some good talent that is moving elsewhere because you want 5 years in the lab before you'll consider someone for a better job.

    Myriad Genetics2015-07-14
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Lab tech in main lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Paid the bills. Most of the other techs were awesome

    Cons

    Very very high turnover. Management actively pushed senior techs out to keep costs down. Training was minimal and mistakes harshly punished. Overhead upper management constantly refer to techs as monkeys

    Advice to Management

    Get to know the techs. Stop saying that monkeys can do our jobs

    Myriad Genetics2014-08-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love the flexibility in my work hours.

    Cons

    The pay and very bad employees

    Advice to Management

    Fire lazy people who belittle their colleagues and pay the hard workers better

    Myriad Genetics2014-06-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Myriad is a fantastic place to gain valuable experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full-time employees are immediately given all the same benefits as long standing employees. Alternative work schedules Great People

    Cons

    The development pathway for the main lab is murky at best. Production expectations seem to be out of touch

    Advice to Management

    Come down to the labs and get a real feel for the workflow before establishing expected outcomes.

    Myriad Genetics2013-08-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Management doesn't care to retain or train."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You want a short term job before moving on, or you are looking to start in biotechnology and are looking for extra training.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about employees. The pay raises are minimal and are based upon a bell curve. There is not pay for performance. About 6 months ago my lab began forcing overtime on the employees. They called it "mandatory overtime". Insensitive, underhanded polices like this are rampant throughout the company.

    Myriad Genetics2013-07-20
Found 13 reviews