Myriad Genetics Reviews | Glassdoor

Myriad Genetics Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Myriad Genetics President/CEO Mark C. Capone
Mark C. Capone
96 Ratings
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Advocate in Salt Lake City, UT

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Great Team Members Incredible product Fun Events

    Cons

    No room to grow Low wages

    Myriad Genetics2019-12-11
  2. "Awesome Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time

    Pros

    CEO truly cares about the employees. Strong values and culture throughout the organization. Always opportunities to learn new things, and career growth. Love working in a diverse company.

    Cons

    Lots of changes! Never a dull moment.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support training and career development.

    Myriad Genetics2019-12-11
  3. "solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Data Specialist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome people Good Benefits Easy work life balance

    Cons

    Redundant Work is kind of boring Not amazing pay

    Myriad Genetics2019-12-11
  4. Helpful (6)

    "AWFUL, DREADFUL COMPANY - STUFF OF NIGHTMARES!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good, but you have to love high stress and poor work-life balance

    Cons

    Executive Leadership is the worst I have ever seen. Sexist, Racist, all-around bigots with zero self-awareness. I took my complaints to both them and HR and neither helped. Thankfully, a lawyer is...

    Advice to Management

    1. Capone - Have some self-awareness. You talk forever about your family at sales meetings and think you are being relatable, but then mention things like "media rooms" and how large your daughter's Manhattan apartment is and how we should buy her t-shirts. Just stop... 2. The Women's Health Division - Where do I start? When people come to you with complaints, LISTEN, or at least respond and let them know you... care. When people take the time and build up the confidence to do so and then you just don't respond it makes them feel helpless. Same goes for urging everyone to fill out employee feedback surveys. They take the time to fill them out and be honest. They would like to know the results. Also, when the complaints people have are about obvious sexist commentary and unfair treatment in the workplace - it would behoove you to follow-up. This place is filled with bigotry at the highest level! 3. Fire the entire HR Dept. Not only were they unhelpful, they actually brake laws when people go to them and clearly do not abide to the code of conduct. 4. Minus your 401K plan, your benefits are lousy! I quickly realized this when interviewing elsewhere.

    Show More
    Myriad Genetics2019-12-09
  5. "Best Place I Have Worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Women's Health Marketing in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, amazing work-life balance, great culture/team (in my department at least), fun people working here, smart long term employees, lots of women in upper management roles.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons. I really have loved my experience here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. I've loved working here since I came in a couple years ago and I don't plan on going anywhere for a very very long time.

    Myriad Genetics2019-11-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Tedious but good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Entry Clerk in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small quarterly bonus, decent management.

    Cons

    Low pay. Not enough room to advance without a defree

    Myriad Genetics2019-11-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor employee retention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong commitment to patient care and dedication to improving outcomes.

    Cons

    Too much turnover and poor training.

    Myriad Genetics2019-10-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Stable job but lacking growth opportunities, skip if you care science."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician III in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Super easy production jobs. Various shifts available. Great if you are looking for a job while looking at post grad options. If you are a super manipulative people person you will have great career here. If you care about science skip this company.

    Cons

    High turnover. Uncaring middle management that refuse to deal with personnel issues. Terrible benefits package. Lack of career growth. Toxic culture in several labs due to immature employees. Not a research company, its a full blown corporation.

    Myriad Genetics2019-10-19
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Company didn't care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Tech III in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Didn't worry about losing my job.

    Cons

    Didn't feel like company wanted to keep good employees. No real movement up in company.

    Myriad Genetics2019-10-16
  10. "Great Company in Genetics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Tech in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Myriad Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All managers, directors, people are so smart and very professional.

    Cons

    There is no cons actually.

    Myriad Genetics2019-09-13
Found 228 reviews