N.B. Handy Reviews | Glassdoor

N.B. Handy Reviews

Updated Feb 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rosana Chaidez
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Things are going right."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Representative in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great environment with challenging work. Privately held and can make decisions easily. Lots of excitement over what is happening. Amazing CEO.

    Cons

    Still trying to get some new team members in spots. Have lost a few people lately lured to other jobs. May just be the economy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working for excellence. Leadership is paying off. We are expecting raises soon.

    N.B. Handy2018-04-15
  2. "The future looks bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A privately owned company that, overall, values its employees, customers and vendors. Management allows a good deal of autonomy within one's area of expertise. Growth is back on the upswing after a few years of stagnation resulting from the economic recession of 2008/09. Pay and benefits are average to above average for the industry. This company does an excellent job promoting from within in most areas/departments.

    Cons

    Salary is lagging behind for long-time employees that were with the company when the economy crashed in 2008/09. Some departments lack growth opportunities/promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look for ways to increase profit margins and expand the Company's footprint. Do a better job of rewarding those long-time employees that stuck things out during the lean times through salary increases beyond the minimum cost-of-living increases.

    N.B. Handy2019-02-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Roofing and Architectural Metal Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Roofing in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good place to work, privately held. lots of positive change in last 2 yrs.

    Cons

    No real downsides here.

    N.B. Handy2018-01-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Started out great..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at N.B. Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family-owned company in business since 1891. The family members are authentic in their appreciation for employees. The CEO has a bold vision, and demonstrates leadership through connections with all employees. Benefits: insurance is phenomenal considering the company size; only 9 paid holidays per year, but this is not uncommon in the industry; the ability to have a work-life balance and handle personal affairs during...

    Show More

    Cons

    My time at NB Handy came to an end because of a conflict between my preferred autonomous work style and my manager's expectations. My manager had primarily been at the tactical level for two decades, and once promoted, it quickly became obvious that she was the textbook example of a micromanager. Preferring more autonomy, I made decisions that bore fatal consequences. More money was spent, in terms of payroll dollars,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To executive management - continue to make employees at all levels feel like they're part of strategy execution; and that without their core competencies the business strategy cannot succeed. Making a connection with employees makes them want to keep working hard. Middle managers could benefit from style or personality assessments that identify their management style, and it could be compared with the working preferences...

    Show More
    N.B. Handy2017-07-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "N.B. Handy Co. Major improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO is fantastic. Owners are amazing. Things have been improving drastically since our new CEO came on board.

    Cons

    Some employees have a negative attitude towards company or leadership. If they cannot be part of the team to help make things better then they should find employment elsewhere. Negative employees are not good for any organization.

    Advice to Management

    Not accept low performance or mediocre performance from any level within the organization. Set high standards, measure them and train train train for success. Reward and acknowledge the teams and individuals that meet the high standards set. Help the ones that are really putting in the effort to get there and move out the ones that are incapable or unwilling.

    N.B. Handy2017-05-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "My experience at NB Handy has been positive. I have seen major transformation Since last year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great insurance, they promote from within, growing and financially stable, ended last year with good results and starting off this year even better. Upper management encourages an open door policy

    Cons

    I am happy to hear that the company is refreshing the website. It needs to be updated. Other than that, I am feeling very good about the company. I like the direction.

    Advice to Management

    Keep steering the company in the right direction and keep empowering employees to speak up.

    N.B. Handy2017-04-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best employer to date"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family owned with little bureaucracy. Complete open door policy. Moving in the right direction, performance is proving that from all teams. (Management, Sales, and Procurement) Have had change but change can bring new fresh ideas to the organization, especially one that saw little change the past 25 years and became stagnant with little to no growth. Brought back the Future Leaders program and have some awesome young...

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough locations, can use some growth in this area. Have lost some experienced employees to competitors but generally have not gone after competitors experienced employees. (this could be a Pro as well). Due to employee rotation vendor partners have lost some confidence (this is growing back quickly with 2017 performance). Lack of marketing presence. Showrooms are not the most consumer friendly.

    Advice to Management

    Guide our team with passion, intention, engagement, and accountability. Create the fun and exciting atmosphere that has been missing over the past 10 years. Revamp the locations to incorporate usable demos on the products we provide.

    N.B. Handy2017-03-10
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Completely Embarrassed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time

    Pros

    The Pros depend on where you are at. For the most part the corporate office is a great place to be. One owners always stops by to share a laugh and say hi. We as a team have figured out how to work among ourselves and not get on anybody's radar. I really enjoy the employees I get to work with at the office and the ones at the branches. They are some hard working people who want to do there fair share.

    Cons

    I have never been so embarrassed for an employee as when I read an email from his boss. The email said Effectively immediately _________ is no longer employed at NB Handy!. That was it, no thank you, no nothing except an exclamation mark at the end of his email. The guy that is no longer employed did a great job and was given an award for the great job he did for NB Handy. He was owed more that that sentence as a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When are you going to do something about the callous and arrogance from a VP that treats employees the way that was shown in that email. It scares a lot of folks that you condone these actions of your executive leadership.

    N.B. Handy2017-03-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Local Truck Driver in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at N.B. Handy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and bottom up Management.

    Cons

    Insurance could be better and pay as welll.

    N.B. Handy2017-01-25
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Wake Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N.B. Handy full-time

    Pros

    Family owned business were the owners speak to you. Early off for holidays.

    Cons

    No raises in a long time. No sales growing because don't have the right sales plans and customers think we are for sale or going out of business

    Advice to Management

    We have a new CEO who is very very smart and has a lot of energy. Can not figure out why she continues to accept "I am on it" and "this is how it was done at ABC"with nothing being accomplished or done. She needs to take a close look at the fourth floor that is her team and clean house with all the ones that are full of hot air. Bring in some of the folks from your previous job that made you so successful.

    N.B. Handy2016-12-10
Found 27 reviews