N2 Publishing "publication" Reviews | Glassdoor

N2 Publishing Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
N2 Publishing CEO Duane Hixon
Duane Hixon
306 Ratings
  1. Helpful (17)

    "Where Life Imitates Vacation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When I moved to Maryland we bought a home in a subdivision that had a sign that said "Where Life Imitates Vacation". Because we were moving to a new area I decided to get out of the corporate rat race and work for myself. At the time there were only 30 magazines in the US. So in July 2010 I started ramping up my own magazine. I did not know a soul here so I put my feet to the pavement and met some really wonderful business owners who took a chance and trusted me to do what I promised. They are still advertising and have added other publications. Working with N2 you set your own schedule so traveling or working around kids schedules is easy. That does not mean you don't work that means you work around it. I love people so this job is perfect for me. Meeting residents and business owners is fun for me. Introducing them has been lucrative for me. Fun and a nice paycheck is win win in my book. As an AD you wear many hats in my business and that suits me. The support from N2 and the continual education is terrific. Some of my closest friends are found in my N2 family!

    Show More

    Cons

    N2 is a relatively new company so there is always change. If you have ever worked for a stagnated company you realize this is really a positive. It is always a change for the better and the leadership listens to you and does what is best for all. If you are not a self starter this will be hard for you. You can't sit home and expect this to be successful. Balance in my life was what I was looking for and this setting allows for that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The truth is I think it is perfect just like it is! Sure there are issues but that is all business. I find that they jump on the issues and solve them. I will be 80 years old and still out selling advertising and completing deadlines! I love what I do!

    N2 Publishing2017-09-26
  2. "Why I love my Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was very skeptical when I heard the N2 story. What I learned from my ramp up and time since going to print is that everything that I was told was truth. It does work and the residents do love the publications. I also have learned from the management team how to find the right businesses for our communities and find a sustainable way to make a living to support my family and build financial freedom. What I have also learned in that the spiritual message that N2 lives by gives me hope on a daily basis that I am working for a good company that aligns with my core values. This motivates me and keeps me moving and happy. I have a structure for success with N2. For this I am grateful. You have the freedom to work the way you want within reason. You can set your goals and markers and go for it. There is time for rest and recuperate without many of the problems that come with being in a W2 environment. The opportunity for a high income level and staying connected to the community. Working with people I respect and can learn from. Growing through an effective coaching platform. Being supported form an emotional and spiritual level by N2

    Show More

    Cons

    Too much flexibility can lead to apathy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, don't go W2 and don't sell. Provide co-op medical or financial services.

    N2 Publishing2017-11-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity Knocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came to N2 after a very successful career in corporate America. I feel that my entrepreneurial spirit has allowed me to succeed at N2. I am in charge of two publications and I will never look back. Opportunity was knocking and I went for it. Best decision I've ever made. I love running my own business. I enjoy meeting people, so I really don't feel as if I am going to work each day. Everything I do all day is growing MY business, so I enjoy it very much. I also love the support that I receive from N2. Everyone that I work with has run a publication so they understand exactly what I am going through. The positive support the Area Directors get is unmatched as compared to any other company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a whole lot of cons to speak of. If you do not had the discipline to run a business, this might not be the right thing for you. You must manage your schedule and not allow it to manage you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the awesome support structure that you currently have in place. This is what sets N2 apart from any other company out there. Maintain the company culture. It is why I am here.

    N2 Publishing2017-08-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful opportunity at a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've enjoyed owning my own N2 franchise over the past few years. I love the work/home balance and flexibility (being around for my family), as well as the opportunity to meet my income goals. The company's region directors and coaches provide the appropriate level of accountability and support for people who are new to sales. Pros: - Flexibility to make your own schedule and have a fantastic work/life balance - Unlimited income opportunity - Ability to expand with additional publications once you achieve a profitability level - Weekly training conference calls to "sharpen the ax" and constantly improve - National conferences, regional training meetings, regional teams collaborate over instant messaging - all of these help to prevent Area Directors from feeling alone and help them to improve and create relationships within the company - If you just follow the N2 program and stay faithful to it over the long haul, you will succeed

    Show More

    Cons

    - As with any entrepreneurship and sales position, it is a grind with a lot of rejection - It can be difficult to sustain a high level of consistent activity, which is required to succeed - 100% commission structure - commissions vary month to month and can dip a lot during renewal cycles - This is a 1099 independent contractor position, so no benefits

    Advice to Management

    - A lot of growing and improvement has happened in the area of quality control recently - continue to work with Area Directors who are not completely following the N2 model in terms of content to make sure their publications conform to N2's national standards - In a few short years, I've seen management make countless improvements to make N2 a better company and they are showing no signs slowing down. They take suggestions and feedback seriously because they genuinely care about the people at N2.

    Show More
    N2 Publishing2017-08-17
  5. "Life Changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Bloomfield Hills, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working for N2 has been a life changing experience for my family. The great product and programs that N2 have in place have allowed my family financial freedom but more importantly a very flexible schedule. If one works and follows the program they will have an opportunity to determine how much they want to be paid. The job as an Area Director is not easy however it is simple. I love the fact that my pay is in direct relation to the efforts I put in.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only major con that I feel there is to working with N2 is not earning a consistent paycheck during the ramp up process. Hundreds of people have found this con off set by the income opportunity once one launches their publication. I have always said that the minimal risk or lack of pay on the front end is why we have the income opportunity and flexibility after going to print.

    Advice to Management

    The management at N2 in my opinion is second to none. From the training, ongoing training, charitable organizations they support, and the care team they offer their people, N2 really sets bar high for other sales organizations.

    N2 Publishing2017-06-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hard work, but forever Grateful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Before coming to N2 Publishing, I had just graduated college and tried working on my own as a rookie graphic designer and social media freelancer. I had always wanted to own my own business, but quickly realized that I didn't have a system or process in place to acquire new business. I also was working 24/7 and would sometimes not be paid. It was a nightmare. Naturally, I began looking for a 9-5 job online. I will be forever grateful for what I found instead. I was instantly intrigued by the Area Director position with N2, something inside told me this was a concept and business model worth researching. I watched all the videos and decided to apply. Before I knew it I was in training and came back home ready to go. It took me 5 months to launch my first publication. The tools and ongoing support that I had all along the way from my leaders at N2 was more than I had hoped for. The system they had in place to help me print my first publication had worked! I soon realized that I can make more doing this than I could have ever made at a 9-5 job. Yes, being in this position can be challenging at times, and it is hard work at times, but lets face it, nothing good worth having comes easy. I didn't come into this job thinking it would be easy. I just maintained a positive attitude, I believed in the mission of the company, and worked the system and process they have in place. Now that I am three years into this role, I am surprised by how much I love what I do. I love connecting with residents from the community that I work with, as well as the clients that help support it. Coming from a marketing background, I also love how this product we offer our business clients is such an efficient way for them to reach their target market. I am constantly growing myself as a sales professional and neighborhood connector. It is important for me to always have an attitude of gratitude for what I do, it pushes me to keep growing, and I think that is what has kept me here for three years. Pros of working at N2? -The flexibility to schedule your week. Work as hard or as little as I want. -A home office team that takes care of accounting, design and support for any questions I have -A leadership team that cares about my best interest and provides training calls, conferences, and a wealth of resources for us to succeed. -Personalized mentorship -Residual income, with unlimited growth potential -Ability to take time off whenever I want

    Show More

    Cons

    -Clients who don't pay for various reasons -Managing mistakes that can come up in print deadlines, or clients that are hard to please -If I am not careful with my time, and don' take time to motivate myself, I can experience burn out sometimes. -If a client doesn't renew

    Advice to Management

    -Explaining printing costs and the way that works. -Maybe having a shared health care option? Something that we can buy into? -Since we are all independent, not every area director is easy to work with, and some can use questionable business practices, this can ruin the N2 brand within a market over time, and cause frustration to Area Directors who have to work directly with these types of Area Directors... I guess it inevitable in a company this size, and as long as those in leadership are aware of these Area Directors and working with them - that is one solution.

    Show More
    N2 Publishing2017-05-24
  7. Helpful (47)

    "Incredible Company With Incredible Leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started working with N2 Publishing in March of 2015. There were no publications in Miami at the time and it is not an easy market to work in. In 6 months I was already in print and making 5k+ in residual per month. There are 3 major areas of the business: sales, networking and gathering content from residents, and organizing small events. N2 completely prepares you to be successful in all of the different aspects of the business. There are 2 conference calls per week with amazing leaders / speakers that address several areas of the business. There are 3 major conferences per year that require a short distance of travel, but are very beneficial for improving your skills, attitude and understanding of the business. The first six months of working in the business are most likely going to revolve solely on sales. Once your publication is ready to go to print, you must balance sales, and networking / gathering content from residents, and organizing small events. It takes a few weeks / months to really get the hang of doing all those things at the same time, but it becomes increasingly easier the longer you are in the company. Over 800 people have been able to learn to balance these things and run a successful business. So that should tell you, that pretty much anyone can do it, if they are willing to follow the system that N2 has designed. By August of 2016 there were 3 publications in print in the Miami market (2 of which are mine), and I was making 12k+ plus per month in residual. The hardest part of N2 is managing your emotions and the ups and downs of sales (as in any sales job), as well as keeping your activity level up (as you do not have a boss breathing down your neck and making sure you are working). My work life balance is way better than a traditional 9-5 business. I have been able to take numerous vacations and spontaneous 3 day weekends with my family. I have 2 small children under 3 years old so although my life is quite busy, the lifestyle I can live with N2 is truly unparalleled. If you can handle sales, and are a people person that connects well with individuals, this could be an amazing job for you. Pros of working at N2? - Support and mentoring from incredible leaders. - Ability to make great income working 40 or less hours per week. - Flexibility in schedule. - Owning your own business that you can sell at a later date. - Plenty of opportunities to move up in management. - N2 invests in helping their employees grow in their personal lives.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Must be willing to be humble and follow the N2 program, even if you think you could come up with a better system. - You will have to learn to manage the roller-coaster of emotions that surround a sales job that is 100% commission. - You will have to learn to be organized and manage several unrelated tasks at the same time. - You will have to learn how to have faith that if you do the work, the results will come.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to do what you are doing!

    N2 Publishing2016-12-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Area Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Area Director in Dyer, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing for more than 3 years

    Pros

    N2 Publishing has recently converted to a franchise model, and current Area Directors were "grand-fathered" into the franchise designation. N2 is an excellent company to be aligned with. Excellent ethics and tremendous growth strategy.

    Cons

    During "start-up" of a new publication, 3-6 months of "ramp-up" with no income.

    N2 Publishing2017-05-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "N2 helps their Area Directors succeed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Lakewood, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came from 23 years of Retail experience and 9 years in State Government. I am not a sales person, nor a writer, publisher or graphic designer. Yet I have been provided the tools from N2 to successfully accomplish sales, finding writers and publishing my monthly magazine. The training at N2 is phenomenal. The entire staff truly cares about their employees and their Area Directors. I've received incredible support in the short time I have been with N2 helping me launch a successful publication in the Lakewood Washington area. The positive aspects of working with N2 is the flexible schedule and the support I receive from each and every person affiliated with N2. It is definitely a family culture from the Top down. The training is also excellent - everything from the N2 University, weekly training conference calls, personal support, as well as the training conferences - three times a year (which N2 pays our hotel, most food, and the conference fees).

    Show More

    Cons

    The only negatives about working with N2 is that we are running our own business. Unless you actively stay involved with neighboring Area Directors, you could easily find yourself without ambition to further your publication and continue its growth. Basically... if you're not a self-starter, do not attempt this position.

    Advice to Management

    Can't think of anything that would make N2 a better company.

    N2 Publishing2017-04-28
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Why I choose N2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in North Barrington, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started as an Account Executive and took over an existing publication after 4-5 months. I love the flexibility that N2 gives me. I have two young kids and want to be involved with everything they do. I want to go on field trips and volunteer at their schools. I coach both of their soccer teams as well. My husband works long hours, so I also have to be available when they get home from school for activities, homework and dinner. I also love that N2 encourages us to run our own race. For some that means being the primary breadwinner running multiple books. For others, that means supplementing the family income by running 1 book. Either way, there's no pressure. They accept where you are in your race and what your goals are.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have a difficult time getting my residents to participate. Hopefully that will eventually change, but content is a challenge for me right now.

    Advice to Management

    Offering a health insurance option would be great. Whether it's group or a buy in. A lot of people can't do this job because they need a job with insurance options.

    N2 Publishing2017-04-15
Found 78 reviews