N2 Publishing "publication" Reviews | Glassdoor

N2 Publishing Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
N2 Publishing CEO Duane Hixon
Duane Hixon
308 Ratings
  1. "A little grit goes a long way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started to ramp up my first publication in Minot, ND when I was 7 months pregnant with my 2nd daughter. Went to training late August, pounded the streets selling from that point until mid-October when I had my baby, took time off through the holidays returning to work on January 2nd, and then finished ramp-up/launched my publication in March 2015. I ran that publication for a year and a half before embarking on a new adventure by expanding to the Fargo market and launching two more ...one in April 2016 and the other in September 2016. It took a lot of GRIT...with my second market being several miles away, it was 5 months of long work days, time traveling away from family, and a lot of coffee. But all with an end goal in mind that would benefit us all, we were able to achieve it together as a family! Pros of working at N2? - I set my own schedule and am able to work part-time the majority of the year (some seasons I hit harder) - I get to take my summers off to be with my kids without worry - Huge financial impact - freeing us of debt, allowing us to purchase our first camper, helping us help others through donations and so much more - Sense of camaraderie and belonging with a company that shares my core values, work ethic and faith; there is always someone there to encourage you - because they've been there too! - Knowing that you're helping make personal connections and hopefully long lasting relationships between families, as well as local business owners that goes well beyond transactional conversations. It's true connectedness -- and I get to help make it happen! - I get to meet and get to know so many amazing people every day! I am blessed each day by the people I get to connect with. - There's an entire (talented) team at corporate (and abroad) to support nearly every need that could arise - N2 has two amazing founders that inspire me to be a better person every single day. They lead this company by setting the example of what greatness in a human being can truly look like (through the grace of God) ...selfless, generous, kind, thoughtful, compassionate, and full of grace. I could go on and on about this one...

    Show More

    Cons

    It was definitely a challenge to ramp up without receiving an income that entire time. But that's the reality of starting up "your own business" - whether it's with them or something else. You just have to be ready to fight for what you want. Put in the time, energy and sacrifices in the short term-to reap the long term benefits. Believe me... it's worth it! Sometimes the fact that you're truly a "business owner" can be challenging if you're not prepared for it as well. Staying on top of tax stuff, headache of staffing, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think there's a lot of room for improvement with the creative department and the processes that have been implemented since the new creative director came on board....too much to list here, but that would be my one piece of feedback.

    N2 Publishing2017-04-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working with N2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Granite Bay, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    N2 Publishing is a wonderful and positive environment. The in-house staff as well as the leaders out in the field are extremely helpful and encouraging through every phase as you build your publication. Everyone works as a team to achieve the goals at hand. I feel that the leaders really try to help you enhance your strengths and grow as a person. I love that N2 is about having a balance in life, both personal and business. Pros of working at N2? Flexibility in making your own work hours. Ability to tap into the creative side through story ideas and events. Meeting wonderful new neighbors and connecting them with each other as well as our sponsors.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to get our sponsors to see the value of long term agreements and to stay in for the long haul as we are trying to brand them throughout the community. Getting the residents to fully comprehend that they should call our sponsors for their needs.

    Advice to Management

    none at the time

    N2 Publishing2017-04-06
  3. "Volunteer resident editor review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Resident Editor in Winston-Salem, NC

    I have been working at N2 Publishing for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Encourages neighborhood interaction, support, friendship. I believe our friends and neighbors have enjoyed the monthly publication and look forward to receiving their future issues. It has been a wonderful way for new residents to learn and get to know the neighborhood.

    Cons

    Neighbor participation can be spotty at times making it difficult to obtain future stories.

    N2 Publishing2017-03-28
  4. Helpful (5)

    "In theory a decent product but advertisers get very little tangible results."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents love the product and the ability to meet sponsors.

    Cons

    Publications vary greatly in each market, there is no uniformity. The product does not work for the advertisers in many neighborhoods, just look at what sponsors say on Yelp. It is a con game for the advertisers and they don't get any phone calls, or just people shopping price. Every Monday you make 80 cold calls, no one loves this part of the job, so beware this will not change.

    N2 Publishing2017-03-29
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Hard Work Rewarded!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been with N2 for 2.5 years and have had the opportunity to make over double in a year what I've ever made before. And it's rewarding work to provide a community-building, positive publication that the community loves! Though it was a lot of work to build up, it has become easier over time as I've built my team. The N2 opportunity is just that a real opportunity to realize the rewards of hard work. I've worked a number of jobs over the years and have been frustrated that the hard work I would put in was often not recognized and certainly didn't have a direct impact on my compensation. I joined N2 because I knew that the harder (and smarter) I worked, the more I would make and I'm now averaging $8-10k/month. The opportunity to grow in the way and at the pace that makes sense for my life situation is one of the best things about this position. I essentially own my own business and that freedom is not only great in how it can lead to financial success but it also in how it's allowed me to grow personally and professionally. And the consistent, positive, and affirming support throughout the organization is unlike any other company I know of. The training is top-notch and I've never felt alone in the field.

    Show More

    Cons

    It took me a little while to find a balance between work and leisure, but it certainly wasn't as difficult as many people go through in starting up their own business. Working from home has sometimes made it hard to separate work from my home life and I find myself working evenings and weekends more than I'd like, but that has more to do with my own time management than anything inherent to N2.

    Advice to Management

    I have seen great N2 publications, but also some pretty poor publications that are allowed to keep publishing probably longer than they should. Publications that have little quality resident content and/or too high a ratio of ads to content just diminish the N2 brand and can make it difficult for other AD's in a region to feel confident cross-selling. I would welcome any further efforts to support AD's that are struggling with quality content and intervention for those that go too long in running a subpar publication. Also, I would like to see Account Executives that have not sold in a region to be 'cut loose' in a reasonable period of time if they don't sell rather than continue to meet with businesses and present N2 Publishing in a poor way in the market area they're working in.

    Show More
    N2 Publishing2017-01-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "N2 Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Greensboro, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Went to training the end of February 2014 and my first publication was published in September in Lake Oconee, Georgia with approx. $6,000 in profit. Over the two years the Reynolds Inside the Gates has grown to over $15,000/profit. Launched my second pub in August 2016 in The Georgia Club located in Athens, Georgia with $3,000/profit and has since grown to over $4,000. My company profit is now approaching $20,000/month with two publications and should be over that mark by the end of 2016. Great place to work and great support from the home office. But I think what makes it a special place is the people. Everyone is truly interested in and invested in not only their own success but the success of others.

    Show More

    Cons

    Growing pains! So many changes coming so quickly from new Creative Directors right when you got used to working with the one you had and now with Pub Manager. It's my opinion that perhaps it was launched a little prematurely. I understand the work thru the kinks but it has initially put more work back on the AD. I'm looking forward to the day when it is up and running at 100% accuracy it will be incredible.

    Advice to Management

    In my case the management is really strong but it wasn't always that way. They keep in touch but not in a bothersome way. I'm nearly an hour and half from a major market, so I'm pretty much on my own but I don't feel excluded or left out of the loop which is a testament to a good leadership team. The only criticism is I would like to have better communication on what pubs are struggling and what ADC's need more help. Month's could go by before you know that a pub is not going to be published. I know this is kind of a negative but also important as we continue to push cross sales.

    Show More
    N2 Publishing2017-02-01
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Dream Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Usually if you think something is to good to be true it probably is. Not here at N2. I was so burned out on my previous career and completely lost my passion for it. I put up my vision board and prayed for certain criteria. N2 matched that and then some. They say if you do something you love the money will follow. I certainly did not get into this career for the money. I had driven 50,000/70,000 miles a year for 20 plus years. I had over 6 figure years but I didn't enjoy it and dreaded the driving. I wanted to be a part of something I believed in that I didn't have to drive on the freeway regularly unless I was going to the airport to go out of town. I work out of my home which I have for twenty years. When I saw the video of the founders giving credit to all they have to God yet not acting like they were perfect and learned how our concept was to turn neighborhoods into close communities I was hooked. I feel in Love with the concept and got Excited and when I get excited watch out !!! I was blessed with an amazing community to go along with my dream career. I prayed for a faith based, conservative publication and once I received that I prayed for God to place the right clients, residents and friends in my life that we empower each other and build a small army to honor God. Never did I dream on top of that my career would lead me to residents that actually have helped me have a relationship with God. Everything went so smoothly for the first time I had to give credit to God because I am just not that good. N2 is the most genuine and supportive company you could ever wish/pray for in every way, shape and form. They could be greedy and be like most corporations who keep most the profit for themselves but they believe in paying it forward. They even donate 2 million a year to sex trafficking. We have nationwide Bible study and care support calls. I've been on fifteen trips this year partly business and staying extra days partially for leisure. We also work as a team a real team who 99% are true team players so I feel like I work with my best friends and some even feel like family {and some really are}. Our MD is like Mother Teresa looking out for our best and here to love and protect us. It's been incredible and for the right person it is a dream career. Pros of working at N2? Independence yet team support Lucrative Fun Making a difference doing something good Doing something no one else does at the level we do Incredible leadership Travel Training

    Show More

    Cons

    Well you do have to work some.

    Advice to Management

    I wish every blue moon I was able to have a five minute conservation and huge hug here and there with some of the leaders but this should not really be a con. There are only 1300 of us and I really can't believe how much attention and help they give us. I'm just a big fan! I can't think of one more single thing. Oh yeah let's go back to SLC and Nashville. What a problem to have.

    N2 Publishing2017-01-06
  8. Helpful (7)

    "My N2 Publishing Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am partner with my wife Marlene and we acquired Pinnacle Living and Life at Windgate Ranch 4 years ago. At the time, they were in decline and it has been a rewarding albeit challenging experience while we learned the business, and made a turn around with the publications. Marlene coordinates the content as well as events as editor and co-publisher while I manage business development. We are learning to balance work and life as business partners and it has been both a blessing and a curse. We love the flexibility that our N2 business provides while leaving us with our own business to grow and build from. We enjoy the independence, to be the masters of our destiny while N2 has provided a depth of support and infrastructure to allow us to accomplish all that we choose to. N2 has grown with us and continues to make improvements on an on-going basis as conditions necessitate. It's actually quite remarkable to witness the growth and evolution of the N2 structure as the capable people at N2 work to support us, to change, grow and evolve to keep up with and stay ahead as the business demands. The N2 culture is centered around fellowship and support with an attitude of everyone; fellow Area Directors, ADC's and AE's working together to help one another while everyone on the corporate level exceeds our expectations as they work to help and support us in the field. Love the way successful AD's share their successes to help others learn from them. More sharing continues to insure improved results from all who choose to listen and learn! Providing conference registration at no added cost - built into the system to encourage full attendance. I enjoy being able to help others succeed, grow and learn from my experiences. I am encouraged with the opportunity to provide businesses with more options through cross sales and with the enhanced earning power that cross selling produces.

    Show More

    Cons

    -As new neighborhoods ramp up, it is not always a given that they will be launched and maintained with the same credibility as we invest in our own neighborhoods. Hence, when cross sales are made into other publications, the sponsor will not necessarily have the same satisfaction level across the board. Our challenge is to help ensure that ADC's are encouraged and guided through the support of neighboring Area Directors so that they provide a comparable product and end experience for the sponsor businesses. - Paying extra for conference fees. - Frustrating and laborious process of communicating with art directors - hopefully improved with the advent of Pub Manager! - When a fellow area director considers himself and his neighborhood over the needs of the business, so the business is not given the opportunity to choose additional options afforded by cross sales, everyone loses and relationships suffer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to stay ahead of the curve, to provide growth opportunities and support on all levels. Anticipate future needs and prepare for growth and change. I am excited to see what the future at N2 brings given the superior support N2 has demonstrated thus far!

    N2 Publishing2016-12-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Simply the BEST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Director in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    After 25 years in corporate America and 7 different states, I can finally say I found home. N2 offers the support of a corporation but you are an independent contractor. If you understand the grass is not always greener on the other side, well at N2 it is. I only wish I had found this in 2008 instead of 2014. The company is not for everyone. You must like sales and meeting with people. If not it will not be a good fit. If you do, your only limit is yourself. I have 2 publications and getting ready to start a third. I work less hours than ever, and make more. Pros of working at N2? Flexible Unlimited income Fun Rewarding You "own" it

    Show More

    Cons

    The only real issue is no pay until you publish. However that's the key to our success. It all about what you do. Not just working an hourly wage.

    Advice to Management

    Offer a group benefit plan for health and savings.

    N2 Publishing2016-11-29
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Right job for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Area Director in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at N2 Publishing

    Pros

    Low cost "franchise" and real opportunity to write your own success story. Viable product. Tremendous company culture and support. Likely the best you will find.

    Cons

    You will be grinding cold calls and sales appointments for your whole time there. There are opportunities to advance but all positions require operating a publication which means you need to be ok with 100 calls and 15-20 appointments a week in perpetuity.

    N2 Publishing2016-12-01
Found 78 reviews