N26 Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
N26 CEO Valentin Stalf
Valentin Stalf
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "personal development budget & subway ticket)(in 17 reviews)

  • "Benefits - Pre-Covid times there were OK benefits like subsidised train tickets, gym memberships, free lunch once a week(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "A lot of the early stage people are now on C-level(in 14 reviews)

  • "during hyper growth the communication was difficult between teams and new managers(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company and team

      Feb 11, 2020 - Operations Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great culture and amazing group of talented / fun people - Fast growth and exciting working environment - Very limited hierarchy and direct exposure to senior management - Great place to develop and learn

      Cons

      - Still a start-up, so processes / organization can at times be messy; not a company specific issue though

      5 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Founders do not care about employees.

      Sep 5, 2020 - Growth 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team, smart individuals, great concept

      Cons

      Heavy politics, low confidence in Csuite, founders do not care about employees.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      N26 Response

      N26 People Team

      Thanks for sharing your experience with us, and for contributing to the growth of N26! We have shared your feedback with our leadership team to reflect and take action on, and we would also like to address these concerns here. Employee well-being has, and always will be, a top priority for us. Our quarterly engagement survey is used to collect feedback and understand which areas of the business we need to focus on and improve. We run monthly Q and As with our Founders, where employees have the opportunity to ask questions and address their concerns directly with the leadership team. You’ll also see our commitment to well-being in our Code of Conduct, which we rolled out this year. Here we share our guiding principles and ways of working together at N26, with an emphasis on building a workplace which respects individual differences, welcomes diverse ideas, and promotes personal development. Members of our leadership team are selected for their roles based on their expertise in their respective areas. Our Recruitment team follows a structured selection process for all candidates. In addition, our Organizational Development team work directly with N26’s leadership team to support continuous learning, and to develop, improve and reinforce the business strategies, structures and processes. We hope that sheds some light on the ways we are working to make a great place to work. Thanks again for sharing your views with us.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Immature company with immature leadership

      Oct 23, 2020 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1.5K learning budget Engineers I worked with are hard working

      Cons

      N26 is a terrible place to work. The amount of resignations this company has seen from engineers in the past 9 months is a testament to the chronic lack in leadership, abysmal company and product outlook, poor mentorship, micromanagement by "The Founders" and, the saddest of all, no cohesive technology and engineering road map. This company has also demonstrated itself as an organisation which turns a blind eye to global and employee issues. The founders blatantly avoided answering questions regarding BLM movement during a companywide "Founders AMA", there was a disjointed and terrible leadership in recognizing COVID-19 and the police were called to stop employees in Berlin from forming a worker’s council. While I did plan on learning a lot while working here, don't bet on it. The bucket load of work and re-work that you will be doing which are outside your OKRs (Objectives and Key Results)/ KPIs will keep you busy. Related to the aforementioned lack of a technical roadmap. I recommend overlooking this company if you are looking for your next job.

      23 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Awful

      Mar 24, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some "start up" perks that are mostly useless

      Cons

      Toxic culture, ego driven, lack of business vision

      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Hectic

      Feb 10, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small startup, a lot of freedom to take on proects

      Cons

      Really hectic culture no real plan for growth

      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Don’t waste your time

      Feb 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of talented, hardworking mid-levels in engineering and other departments.

      Cons

      Lack of leadership. Inexperienced and incapable management. Low compensation. No room for real growth. Non-existent HR. Toxic environment.

      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Crucial time, opportunity for impact

      Feb 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The product is great and there is a good market opportunity in the US when we get the product market fit right. This will be an important year for N26 globally. We hired strong directors, especially in product and we have some good C level leaders (People, Product and Banking). If the 3 of them can make sure the directors get the autonomy to have impact, this will be big. If you are a professional who takes ownership and you have drive for change, you should join and help influence the situation explained in “Cons”.

      Cons

      Unfortunately the CEO is a micro manager who is not able to trust people. A lot of the early stage people are now on C-level. They create a lot of frustration with experience leaders in middle management. Especially for product it is difficult to work with technology and marketing not having experienced leaders. They have never worked in a professional company, including the CEO. Lovely people, working really hard and trying their best but they are not fit for the job.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      N26 Response

      People, Lead

      There is a huge opportunity for N26! :) The last few months have been quite the whirlwind for the US – launching, tripling our team and hitting 250k users in our first 6 months. We learned a lot last year going through hyper growth and have undertaken a series of initiatives aimed at making N26 an even better place to work. Including hiring at the leadership level and developing internal programs to develop and empower current and next gen leaders for the US and N26, globally. Your comments are valued and will help us continue to improve. If you’re up for it, I’d love to pick your brain further to understand how to enable a happier and more productive way of working.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      We're Pawns Doomed to Fail

      Nov 18, 2020 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good market opportunity with lots of talented people

      Cons

      Lack of leadership, little diversity of thought, and a lot of back seat driving from the EU. Still unclear if they even understand the US market. Execution is cumbersome and confusing being dependent on the Europeans.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jan 30, 2020 - Customer Operations in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At N26 you will find yourself surrounded by highly skilled highly motivated individuals all working together to build the next generation of banking. If you thrive in an environment where no two days are the same and your work has high impact, N26 is a great place to work.

      Cons

      As in any startup, you will need to be able to get up to speed quickly.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great engineering culture

      Jan 30, 2020 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The US engineering team is great. The people here are very knowledgeable, incredibly helpful, and just amazing to be around. The team is honestly one of the best parts of coming to work. The US team as a whole is also amazing. People are really friendly, knowledgeable, and are always willing to help out. Salary is slightly above nyc average

      Cons

      Some pains with dealing with EU

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 310 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with N26 Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Strategy and Operations Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at N26? Share Your Experiences

    N26 logo
    or