NAFI CT Reviews | Glassdoor

NAFI CT Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dr. Yitzhak Bakal
5 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NAFI CT full-time

    Pros

    Environment, pay, benefits, morale, enjoyment

    Cons

    Contractual employment, travel requirements, lay-offs

    NAFI CT2019-03-10
  2. "Unprofessional/Ambivalent expectations/discrimination/favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NAFI CT for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the programs have great staff who are culturally competent and sociologically mindful, and are generally diverse.

    Cons

    There is a lot of bias, discrimination, and if you are a minority, you will be held to a separate standard than your other coworkers. Also, you cannot trust the agencies HR. They only serve to protect those in leadership and will do anything they can to push you out of your position if you attempt to advocate for yourself if you have been wronged. They will find everything they can and use it as an excuse to get you out,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Some programs need to be supervised more carefully due to faulty leadership and due to discrimination occurring within interactions between leadership and staff. Also, self care should not just be a concept that's discussed, it needs to be prioritized and put into practice to prevent burnout. Representation also matters, they need more diverse staffing and people if diverse demographics in positions of leadership. There...

    Show More
    NAFI CT2018-12-18
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NAFI CT full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic co-workers/colleagues to work alongside.

    Cons

    Upper management is a click. You are either in or out.

    Advice to Management

    Actually be transparent, versus saying you are.

    NAFI CT2018-09-14
  4. "Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager/Clinician in Litchfield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NAFI CT for less than a year

    Pros

    + atmosphere, close knit team, meaningful work w/ traumatized population, vacation & sick time, credentialing, clinical training

    Cons

    significantly underpaid compared to colleagues in the same non-profit field

    Advice to Management

    Better communication from headquarters through programming in terms of job tasks, descriptions, training schedule, raises/promotions tracks, etc.

    NAFI CT2018-07-14
  5. "ADS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adolescent Development Specialist in Litchfield, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NAFI CT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Building relationships with the clients, actually making a impact in their lives. The pay is great

    Cons

    Repor between management and direct care staff could be a lot better. Management listening to concerns from staff better.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your staff. Make them feel supported

    NAFI CT2018-07-12
  6. "ADS- Touchstone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adolescent Development Specialist in Litchfield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NAFI CT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to build healthy relationships with clients and encourage them to succeed in life.

    Cons

    Horrible management; very unprofessional , gossip between staff, no support to staff from management, no true support to residents. If you are looking for a job where you can impact lives and help people and go further in life this is not the company. All they care about is keeping beds filled and money. And if you are looking for a job where you can excel in this is not it unless you are willing to go against your morals,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Professionalism, integrity, compassion & generosity should be at the center of this company which it lacks.

    NAFI CT2017-12-01
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Trauma informed Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NAFI CT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I left the agency to pursue other opportunities and returned a few years later. After working for other agencies I cant truly say that they put the care of the client first, there is focus of trauma informed care from the top down. If and employee is struggling to meet their job expectations, the focus is on improving the employee rather than just cutting ties. While there is always room for improvement the culture over...

    Show More

    Cons

    It's a nonprofit so the salaries are limited to what the contractor (DCF, CSSD etc) is willing to pay.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on improving technology (Evolve, mynafi, etc) It will improve productivity and make documents, reports etc more accessable

    NAFI CT2016-02-08
  8. Helpful (2)

    "MST Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NAFI CT full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, interesting population, structure, great leadership team, company has a team atmosphere and employers care for their employees and will go above and beyond to support them.

    Cons

    Can have long hours at times

    NAFI CT2016-01-11
  9. "no employee support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Care in Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NAFI CT for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, decent benefits, good technology and some decent perks

    Cons

    Mixed information from management, very hard stressful work, no emotional support for staff, management throws staff under bus, hr is incompetent and has no education about what staff does, total disconnect between management and direct care staff, expected to work constant overtime that you are not compensated for.

    Advice to Management

    Align company guidelines to what direct care staff actually does, don't condemn any employee that has questions or ideas, stop abusing employees by overworking them, actually enact what you preach

    NAFI CT2016-01-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "pay could be better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Britain, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NAFI CT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My field of work is appealing to me. I like making a difference. I like helping less fortunate kid and family stay together. Passion for this work appeals to me, is my calling

    Cons

    Pay could be lots better! Especially for the staff who working directly with the clients. Administrative is important sometimes. But staff who work direct with clients need better pay!

    Advice to Management

    You need to pay direct care staffs much more! We are the main reason the agency operates! Without us, would be nothing. So please pay staff who work directly with client and family better! thank you.

    NAFI CT2015-10-22
Found 13 reviews