NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Reviews | Glassdoor

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Reviews

Updated May 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center CEO Christopher Scolese
Christopher Scolese
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "There was a nice work environment and a lot of collaboration(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great place to work and people love their jobs(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Finding the right area to live around NASA Goddard can be a challenge(in 8 reviews)

  • "Many workers don't work very hard once becoming a civil servant(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Rewarding and Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Support Analyst in Greenbelt, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome work environment Flexibility Career Opportunities Great campus feel Very educated and professional persons doing an incredible job

    Cons

    Long term projects Too many reviews

    Advice to Management

    Too much oversight sometimes - let the project teams manage their projects

    NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2019-01-15
  2. "Full cost accounting + large retirement age staff = nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Scientist in Greenbelt, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is okay for the area given that it's a GS job.

    Cons

    > 60% of the civil servant employee base are retirement eligible. Full cost accounting means that the early career scientists have to hustle writing grant proposals for their paychecks while the scientist who have been around for awhile just get charge codes for nebulous "work".

    NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2019-05-24
  3. "God Help ANYONE who experiences the hatred that I did!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Tech in Greenbelt, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I loved my JOB and would have stayed their if I could have.

    Cons

    I worked in an entirely hostile working environment, the whole time that I worked at Goddard. I was not a government employee but NASA knew that it was happening and all they said they could do was change the contractor that I worked for. Each time they changed, it, my situation got worse. I can't reveal the contractor that I worked for because they have threatened me for telling the truth about them.

    Advice to Management

    When you know that hatred exists, STOP IT!

    NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2019-05-03
  4. "Fun program!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Intern in Greenbelt, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center for less than a year

    Pros

    -There were plenty of opportunities for enrichment outside of your internship (talks, tours, everyone was really excited to talk to interns for informational interviews). -Tons of other interns -Pretty unbeatable on a resumé.

    Cons

    -My internship supervisor was way too busy for me and I had trouble getting a hold of him. -I was bored extremely often because my supervisor was so MIA. I don't think that many other interns had this issue however.

    Advice to Management

    Stress to internship supervisors that they should only take on interns if they are sure that they will have the time because this really affected my experience.

    NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2019-01-21
  5. "Parts Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Engineer in Goddard, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work days, casual dress code,

    Cons

    Lack of work, Mistreatment, Biased micromanaging management,

    NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2019-01-11
  6. "It's a government job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Undergraduate Intern 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center for less than a year

      Pros

      -Goddard houses some of the most fulfilling projects you'll find -A subway ride away from DC -Freedom to choose projects or come up with your own -Government benefits

      Cons

      -Many workers don't work very hard once becoming a civil servant -Researchers are paid by how many projects they are contributing to, which introduces politics and causes many people to be juggling too many assignments -Government salary -Many projects you work on are very long-term, so seeing the fruits of your labor may take years or even decades -IT makes it a giant pain to acquire any sort of software, hindering...

      Show More
      NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2018-12-30
    • "Summer internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Intern 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Amazing work environment. Everyone is friendly and willing to talk and help you out. Amazing place to learn and make connections. Fun extracurricular events all summer.

      Cons

      Pay is low and no housing stipend

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2018-11-15
    • "Good Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

        Pros

        A lot of intern events

        Cons

        More of experience. No full time offer really

        NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2018-11-05
      • "engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Goddard, MD

          I worked at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center for more than a year

          Pros

          Excellent place to work at

          Cons

          Can't think of any right now

          NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2018-08-09
        • "Lead Aerospace Engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenbelt, MD
          Doesn't Recommend
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          It pays well.....if you know somebody....

          Cons

          Nepotism runs rampant throughout organizations, great if you have a relative in a high management position. Promotions obtained easily when you know someone.

          Advice to Management

          End Nepotism at GSFC its considered a "Prohibited Practice" and yet its alive and well at this center.

          NASA Goddard Space Flight Center2018-06-20
        Found 86 reviews