NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Reviews | Glassdoor

NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Reviews

Updated Jun 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "Had to live in University of Alabama Huntsville dorms and pay for them((in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer Intern (NASA)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer Intern in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice co-workers Extremely interesting projects and information to observe Fun activities and adventures Flight software is awesome!

    Cons

    Poor planning for intern work load (not enough work) Very dull culture

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2019-02-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Felt like my mind was dying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance. 9-5pm or flexible schedule. Contractors treated almost indistinguishable from civil servants. Pretty much the only pros. You can find all of this in industry

    Cons

    Thought NASA is cutting edge. Perhaps it is, but certainly not Marshall space flight center. MSFC puts the "Administration" in NASA. This center is mostly oversight of prime contractor projects (eg Boeing, SpaceX, etc). The days of in-house, innovative work are long gone. If you are an early career employee, and want to work on something interesting and technical, do your future career and mind a favor and run as...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to keep young employees, bring back the exciting work to MSFC

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2019-06-16
  3. "Great Mission, Culture and Work Environment, Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Mission and innovative place to work. Laid back culture and environment. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Upward mobility can be difficult as there are few opportunities for advancement. There are very few supervisory/management positions. Management seem to be less knowledgeable than their DoD counterparts. You can never seem to get a straight answer to basic questions. Overall leadership quality is poor. Some folks should manage contracts but not people.

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2019-04-04
  4. "Cool mission and work life balance but dying bureaucracy and slothful culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

    Pros

    Government employees have good leave benefits, pension is a plus

    Cons

    Young employees don’t receive much responsibility Too much focus on non work and non productive things vs getting the job done 25 percent of the workforce works very hard 50 percent are average at best and 25 percent are worthless

    Advice to Management

    Diversify. Those who went through Constellation fear the worst

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2019-02-08
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance and interesting work

    Cons

    Gs pay scale has limited potential for advancement

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2018-07-26
  6. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Federal benefits and Several Work Tours

    Cons

    Current leadership is autocratic and demanding

    Advice to Management

    Listen more Seek first to understand

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2018-04-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management and lack of professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center

    Pros

    friendly and some what open environment

    Cons

    Slow paced, lazy government employees, lack of professionalism, very disorganized management

    Advice to Management

    Please get your priorities in order - think of the the example are you setting to possible employees/contractors/interns who want to learn more about their craft?

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2018-03-26
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be more family friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working for NASA at any center is pretty exciting. I knew the work I was doing was contributing to cutting-edge discoveries in science and many employees are incredibly bright and dedicated. It truly felt like I was doing work that mattered and led to a better understanding of the universe. I was proud to work for NASA.

    Cons

    I worked for NASA for more than 30 years. When I first started, it was incredibly family friendly and I knew that I could count on management's support when there was a death in the family or an illness that required time off. Maybe it was more the difference in bosses rather than a policy change at NASA but my last boss was critical and uncaring. He knew that I had an ill child but never asked about how things were...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If an employee's work habits have changed or if they are coming in later than usual, management should try to understand the entire situation before judging that employee. NASA did a good job at having managers take a class on the signs an employee may be suicidal but it doesn't do any good if the manager doesn't apply what they have learned. While I was never so low as to consider suicide, I did have several of the...

    Show More
    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2017-12-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for GIS experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Impact Anaysis Fellow in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and innovative work with a great group of people.

    Cons

    No cons to report at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the Fellows!

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2017-04-09
  10. "NASA MSFC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    NASA provides great benefits and security. The team is provided interesting opportunities to work on a variety of cutting edge programs and projects.

    Cons

    The opportunities for advancement are limited due to the number of people who have been there for decades working in the government system.

    Advice to Management

    Management should look to expand their considerations to leaders who have broader experience in industry to revolutionize the way the center operates.

    NASA Marshall Space Flight Center2017-04-02
Found 26 reviews