NAV Canada "shift work" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

NAV Canada Employee Reviews about "shift work"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
NAV Canada President and Chief Executive Officer   Neil R. Wilson
Neil R. Wilson
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, great benefits(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great pay & benefits, growth potential, employee programs, job security 100%(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "shift work is not for everyone, you will be at work when your family is at home drinking eggnog or golfing(in 9 reviews)

  • "They also are on call all the time and have a much worse work-life balance than unionized employees(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "shift work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Service Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, great benefits

    Cons

    Shift work, odd work hours

    NAV Canada2019-11-29
  2. "Stimulating job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Student in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NAV Canada for less than a year

    Pros

    Stimulating work, great pay once qualified (after 6 months on a course and 9 months of training)

    Cons

    Shift work can be tiresome

    NAV Canada2018-10-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great career nobody knows anything about"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits with only a high school diploma as a requirement to apply. Lots of time off. Great focus on health and wellness. Did I mention the gym and napping room?

    Cons

    Shift work. Two year training program with a 35-40% success rate. Many managers make considerably less than the employees they are managing. They also are on call all the time and have a much worse work-life balance than unionized employees.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your managers.

    NAV Canada2017-02-23
  4. Helpful (3)

    "IFR Enroute Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IFR Enroute Air Traffic Controller in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    steady work in a generally predictable environment, gradual pay increases, overtime available and voluntary, can be converted in off-peak times to time off. pay scale excellent for anyone, whether you have a degree or not. my pay cheque is never late and it is correctly calculated. I have saved enough money to retire at 55 years old. No I will not be going to Bahrain or Iraq to work.

    Cons

    you must be able to work with people that can be very intense at times. strong personalities is how we describe each other. shift work is not for everyone, you will be at work when your family is at home drinking eggnog or golfing. Highway traffic around here is pretty awful, I do not see that changing.

    Advice to Management

    reward people who work hard. pay attention to everyday needs such as-why are these chairs all ripped? why does it smell like jet fuel in here when we are on the 6's? can anyone kill these fruit flies? we have a powerful PR department but day to day items slide.

    NAV Canada2016-01-12
  5. Helpful (4)

    "surface weather observer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Surface Weather Observer in Cartwright, NL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada

    Pros

    two days on two days off

    Cons

    shift work, low pay, no benefits

    Advice to Management

    repair the weather station

    NAV Canada2016-01-08
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Love My Job, Hate The Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IFR Enroute Air Traffic Controller in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    ATC is an exciting job and the co-workers are fantastic. The pay is fairly good and the time off is acceptable.

    Cons

    Company is full of middle management types looking to make a name for themselves through cost cutting at the expense of aviation safety. Upper management is out of touch with how ATC actually works and makes ill informed decisions. Employee shift work cuts deeply into family/personal time outside to work. Pay is not keeping up with cost of living. Benefits are being taken away.

    Advice to Management

    Stop pretending that you respect the workforce and instead try and understand that the company is there to provide a safe, orderly, expeditious flow of air traffic instead of trying to be a company that develops software and programs to sell to other countries.

    NAV Canada2013-03-30
  7. "I've enjoyed my time at Nav Canada. I've found a wonderful little niche, where I'm very content."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Traffic Controller in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the work, the pilots are for the most part great. Work/life balance is reasonable considering the shift work and for most part I work with a wonderful and talented group of people.

    Cons

    Senior Management creates some issues, shift work, pilots, and co-workers. Of course most things that are Pros almost always also can be Cons.

    NAV Canada2012-08-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Should have been left as a Governement Department."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Flight Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada

    Pros

    Can be interesting work at times.

    Cons

    Shift work and ongoing staffing issues.

    Advice to Management

    Handle issues in a more timely manner.

    NAV Canada2009-07-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Nav Canada is a pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Air Traffic Controller in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NAV Canada

    Pros

    It is a respected filed to work in. The pay is pretty good.

    Cons

    Shift work is hard on you personally as well as family life. It is hard to plan things as you are not ever sure if you are are working next weekend or not. It is not that you don't have your schedule it is just that your start time usually changes everyday so you have to look at your schedule before you leave to see what time you work the next day.

    Advice to Management

    Nav canada has to go back to paying trainees when they first get hired. It has totally changed the demographics of the people who are applying. They are a lot younger with less life experience and it excludes those people who may be right for the job but have a family or other responsiblilties to attend to.

    NAV Canada2009-01-05
Found 9 reviews