NAWC Reviews | Glassdoor

NAWC Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Opportunities with NAWC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NAWC full-time

    Pros

    Job security and opportunities for job rotations

    Cons

    Lower salary in comparison to private industry

    NAWC2017-11-20
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits, Slow work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physicist ESDP in Point Mugu NAWC, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at NAWC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work less than 40 hours a week, get 2 fridays per month off because its a flex friday schedule, and 10 federal holidays. It's very easy and pretty common for people to have a moonlighting gig or serious hobby after work which is cool. In addition every paycheck comes with 8 hours of paid leave and you'd be surprised how fast that adds up. The work for a new ESDP (Engineering Scientist Development Program) is... pretty chill and not very stressful at all. They rotate you around different departments and I've done everything from Geophysics, Electronic Warfare, and GPS Systems in that order. No one gets fired except for timecard fraud or physical violence so you have even more job security than a tenured professor or CPA. You get military discounts for everything from gas, to haircuts, to lift tickets, and even basketball games. This is the most tolerant place I've ever worked. People assume there's political talk and beef working in the military but contrary to popular beleif the government treats all its employees like grey cubes and no one ever gets mistreated. People are friendly, from around the country, and extremely respectful.

    Show More

    Cons

    There's a pretty good chance eventually you'll start coming into work with nothing to do, literally nothing on your task list from the chain of command. This can be seen as a pro but it also leads to boredom, and the unsatisfying feeling when someone asks "What do you do at work?" And the first thing that pops into my head is "nothing..." Not to mention the slow pace of the acquisition cycle: Let's say you work... on a project that gets approved and funded in 2020. You won't see it materialize or even begin to get deployed until 2025. Your pay is lower than average for this type of work, if you were working at a giant defense contractor or in the private sector you'd probably be getting about $10,000 more per year. If you end up working here you're going to have the choice to work in Ridgecrest, CA or Point Mugu, CA. I would choose the latter, Ridgecrest is in the middle of f***ing nowhere where they do ordinance testing and cooler projects, but after the workday you're in this tiny hick desert town with nothing to do.

    Show More
    NAWC2017-11-14
  3. "Program analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Analyst in Patuxent River, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NAWC full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very secure employment with good protection from layoffs.

    Cons

    Almost complete lack of managerial accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Need to invest more in training employees in latest techniques and software. You can’t expect proficiency when training funds are used for cost savings purposes.

    NAWC2017-11-25
  4. "NATEC REVIEW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NAWC for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a very competitive salary, great employees and outstanding benefits.

    Cons

    HR is slower than expected in some areas but other than that, I haven't found any Cons.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more incentives for employees to submit recommended business changes, recommendations and ideas that they feel will benefit the organizatons.

    NAWC2017-10-24
  5. "Navy agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NAWC full-time

    Pros

    benefits, growth opportunities, excellent training, team work, leadership

    Cons

    Very fast paces. Could be very stressful. Oppsition and challenges with other integrated product team members are common due to different work knowledge and objectives even though it is to accomplish the same end goal.

    Advice to Management

    Support role of the contract specilist as an integral part of the IPT from the liability and legal responsibility we hold.

    NAWC2017-10-21
  6. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NAWC

    Pros

    Salary may low but if you adds up all the benefits, you actually get more money than from anywhere else

    Cons

    There are so many trainings that you have to go through and that would cause you hate your life.

    NAWC2017-05-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good 1st job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Researcher in Lakehurst, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NAWC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy going, opportunities for training and certifications, automatic salary increases due to the steps in the GS payscale, great job security, excellent work-life balance

    Cons

    Depending on your location, upward mobility can be difficult (especially true for Lakehurst). Very political culture, innovation is hindered due to "swimlane" issues. Scope of work is limited as contractors due most of the hands on engineering and design so NAWC employees are stuck with the systems engineering and reviews. Some of the trainings are a waste of time. Paperwork as usual since it is a government... agency/institution

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the toxic political culture so you can foster innovation. Provide opportunities for growth.

    NAWC2017-03-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "NAVAIR employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Patuxent River, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NAWC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic developmental programs for engineers in all stages of life. Relatively quick promotions... The work life balance is awesome... 40 hour weeks unless you are in the test department.

    Cons

    Tons of bureaucracy, little to no engineering work, it doesn't feel like you are actually contributing to anything, and program managers do not value your input.

    Advice to Management

    Stop boxing in your employees. Young, talented, and driven employees cannot be appropriately compensated via STRL... there will be a mass exodus of up and comers once they realize the new downward pressures being placed on salaries and promotions.

    NAWC2016-12-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Systems Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at NAWC full-time

    Pros

    Great training programs, rotations, motivated to help employees find their ideal position; plenty of meaningful work; great people; good location; good work-life balance; great continuing education program options

    Cons

    Just my limited observations: not much energy, excitement, motivation, drive; process and procedure oriented which comes with working in any large company, but it makes it difficult to be creative and motivated

    NAWC2016-12-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good government stability, but painful government bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ridgecrest, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NAWC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    NAVAIR has been a great place to start my career, and has given me the opportunity to work in a number of diverse fields, ranging from design and development to test and evaluation, as well as taking ownership of tasking from conception to delivery. The big bonus is seeing that your work matters and has a place in the national defense. A few bullet points are: * Leadership/Management - We get to hear from... senior leadership periodically, and I am always impressed by their competency and passion to serve the warfighter. My direct supervisor is also * Unique problems - Getting to work on naval air systems is pretty sweet. * Cost of living - Ridgecrest leaves much to be desired, but the cost of living here is about as low as it can get in California * Commute - being a small town the commute is nothing, and lends itself to cycling very well * Job stability - being nearly guaranteed a job year after year is quite nice * Work/life balance - Overtime is uncommon (unless you want it), and you can take time off almost whenever you want. Having sick leave is also quite nice, so you don't have to burn your vacation time to see the doctor or stay home sick.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with all government agencies, there are far too many employees who have hung around doing nothing way too long that should have been let go LONG ago, which is one of the costs of government stability. I'll try and bulletize a few more: * Management - I know this was a pro, but it is definitely a con for many. My direct supervisor is great, but the layers of management we have are absurd and are destroying... the organization. The higher the manager the less connected to what's going on they are, which is why we still have such awful training and development plans. * Location - The desert is for some people, but I'm getting tired of 110F heat in the summer. * Tedious tasking - a lot of what I've done has been great, but the contractors do most of the "fun stuff" a.k.a. design work, and we're thrown the leftovers. * Training - the absurd amount of irrelevant training we're forced to go through is ridiculous, and the lack of ability to take classes relevant to my field is a significant hinderance to my career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire the slackers or fire yourself. One of you needs to go. Bring in some more real engineering work, because most of what I do I could accomplish with only my high school education.

    NAWC2017-01-05
Found 70 reviews
</>Embed