NBCUniversal Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

NBCUniversal Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
99%
Recommend to a Friend
NBCUniversal CEO Jeff Shell
Jeff Shell
0 Rating
  1. "Incredible Company & Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I could not be more impressed with this company. The salary is competitive, people are great

    Cons

    None come to mind, the company continues to improve and I am very happy in my current role

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    NBCUniversal2018-08-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great People, Good Company, Little Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This review is for NBC Entertainment & Digital... They definitely have a 'no a**hole policy'. Most people are great to work with and collaborative. The company tries its best to boost moral with tons of events on the lot (screenings, panels, etc) and seasonal gifts (beach towel, water bottles, etc).

    Cons

    There's a lot of politics involved. It's tough to get things done because there are so many checks and balances. Approvals funnel up and by the time they've passed every level, the original concept has turned into a Frankenstein that doesn't resemble your initial idea at all. After awhile, coming up with fresh, new ideas felt disheartening from the moment they were pitched, because it seemed like they would would be DOA. Promotions are also few and far between. The teams are very lean, so there isn't a ton of room for growth.

    Show More
    NBCUniversal2019-08-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for but not without flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of resources to help get things done - Smart and experienced people all around you - I had a very knowledgeable manager - Felt empowered with decision-making powers

    Cons

    - Friction to progress due to concerns over potential internal conflicts (fortune favors the bold!) - Camaraderie is very low on my team, something dictated from the top

    Advice to Management

    Don't give up on existing projects due to DTC

    NBCUniversal2019-07-28
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Breeding ground for disrespect & toxicity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Was allowed a car service home and dinner on the company if I worked late (which was every night)

    Cons

    - management is critical and there just wasn't much managing happening. - management will also watch you deteriorate due to burnout and ask for more - just to squeeze every last drop - the culture fosters distrust, disrespect, and unrealistic demands - there is no physical space that is updated to foster growth and a healthy work environment

    Advice to Management

    don't be fooled by pretty resumes and good looking faces. get a deeper understanding and collect a wider data set of the top level managers you bring in before they crucify their teams.

    NBCUniversal2019-06-21
  5. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Owns major rights including Olympics, Sunday Night Football, Kentucky Derby Filled with great people working there - enjoy going to work each day

    Cons

    Pay & location - feel undervalued based on salary and years worked. In addition to that the offices are located in Stamford, CT, where rent high and there's not much to do

    NBCUniversal2019-01-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great work experience for your resume but no growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Brand Marketing Manager in Universal City, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work on cool products (Universal movies in my case) - Sweet peaks (free evenings at the park, sometimes free lunches, free screenings, rarely but can happen meet talents of our movies) - Job is super interesting! - You can go to the park for lunch and go an on a ride! - Very good reference on your resume, after my contract ended I landed very high caliber interviews!

    Cons

    - AWFUL but really AWFUL salaries for BOTH contractors and full time employees, but I guess it's very common in entertainment - Lack of gender balance, i.e. too many women in the marketing departments which causes a very toxic environment - They don't care about employees being mistreated by their bosses if they're women but became suddenly obsessed when they're men after the recent Hollywood scandals. As a result many people (read women) get away with it... Talk to HR, they will say they will follow up, will tell your boss and you will end up being put on a performance plan (not my story but saw a few ones having this experience) - No opportunity to grow unless you play the game of your hierarchy - Very old mindset, not international at all whether it is in their recruitment or business vision even if they pretend the contrary - Nepotism: if you don't know anyone and they're not desperate to have someone fill a marketing role, there is little chance you will be able to stay. They love doing favors for friends and high ups colleagues... - Really it always come back to the people: get ready to work long hours but loving what you do and being disgusted by people who will take credit for your work, won't give you opportunities (you will have to show EVERY SINGLE DAY that you deserve to be there and won't get promoted before years without any justification) and might try to ruin your chances to stay in the group. I got lucky I started my contract there with the best boss I have ever had in my career but ended with the worst of all! So like Forrest says : Life is like box of chocolates, you never know what you're going to get!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I feel it's too late for them, it's a huge company and its culture image only lives on their websites unfortunately. It's an old fashioned studio and things won't change... Let's hope Netflix will give them what they deserve.

    NBCUniversal2018-04-25
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Overall, NBCU is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    feels like a family, there are always big company milestones to look forward to, HR is supportive of moving around within the company

    Cons

    sometimes the company feels too big, especially with all the recent acquisitions and partnerships, making it difficult to get things done. also, the salaries are below marketplace making it difficult to stay

    Advice to Management

    help people get paid competitive salaries

    NBCUniversal2017-11-16
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Marketing Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    I cannot think of one thing!

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep doing what you are doing.

    NBCUniversal2017-03-09
  9. "GREAT PEOPLE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    NBCUniversal is a fantastic place to work for because of the people. They have an excellent benefits package (specifically vacation & retirement), which attracts top talent in the market. Working with a talented team inspires you to produce some incredible work. This is a company that wants to listen to your ideas and find ways to implement it if it helps the cause.

    Cons

    The pay is below market.

    NBCUniversal2016-12-14
  10. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture, positive environment, work-life balance

    Cons

    Low-end salaries, making any changes is tough

    NBCUniversal2016-07-02
Found 16 reviews