NBCUniversal Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

NBCUniversal Project Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
37%
Recommend to a Friend
NBCUniversal CEO Jeff Shell
Jeff Shell
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NBCUniversal is one of the most diverse, creative and innovative companies that I have ever worked for. The continuous ideas, strong energy and teamwork is probably the main reason as to why NBCU is well ahead of its competitors. This is a company that allows for so much growth and opportunity because it is a company that truly cares and believes in their people.

    Cons

    For me, it is not as easy to maintain a work/life balance the way I thought it would.

    NBCUniversal2017-07-21
  2. "Overworked / understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reputable company, good competitive salary / benefits

    Cons

    They employ something they call "skeleton staffing" or "slim staffing," which basically means they overwork their employees.

    NBCUniversal2019-10-17
  3. "Good people. Some volatility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Management Manager in Englewood, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Prestigious employer. Great people. Appropriate work/life balance.

    Cons

    Rapidly changing landscape: constant mergers and land grabs distract employees from their crafts.

    NBCUniversal2019-10-04
  4. "Good place,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, great people., great infrastructure.

    Cons

    Very slow growth, minimum salary raise, no bonus, no compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Please focus on people retaining by giving them growth opportunities, giving awards, giving salary raises.

    NBCUniversal2019-09-12
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic atmosphere surrounded by innovative teams full of creativity

    Cons

    At times, work-life balance be improved

    NBCUniversal2019-05-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Conservative Corporate Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability of a large, multi-national corporation. Good official communication and organizational infrastructure. You can shoot up like a rocket if you get in young and do their leadership programs.

    Cons

    After the Comcast merger, benefits became a little nickel-and-dimey (401K choices became more limited, for example.), and it became a much less creative, more corporate environment. I think as far as mergers go, my experience was probably pretty standard.

    Advice to Management

    Before the merger, creativity, collaboration, and generosity were the norm. After the merger, fear and jockeying for favor took over. I watched a lot of women, LGBTQ, and minority employees leave the ranks of upper management.

    NBCUniversal2018-08-10
  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Universal City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you work with are supportive. Live/Work Balance. Leadership listens to concerns. Health benefits are amazing! Park discounts and 4 free tickets a year. Employee movie screenings Employee events

    Cons

    Not too many appealing incentives for non park & non cable employees like more free tickets to park or discount on cable or even free cable.

    NBCUniversal2018-01-23
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Bureaucracy and Cronyism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Universal City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the employees in Technology are really good-hearted, hard-working individuals with a common goal of providing quality technology services. Many really intelligent technologists that know their company and brand well.

    Cons

    Since about mid-2016, technology leadership has taken a turn south. There is no more company loyalty from executive leadership. Extensive internal politics that have lead to executive leadership saying one thing, but acting in an opposite way that is unethical and violates the credo of NBCUniversal and Comcast. Executive leadership has appointed people who are "Yes Men" because free-thinking is frowned upon. Morals, ethics, and standards have been completely thrown out the window.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees loyalty. If you are not going to be loyal, at least be honest and allow people to work and live with some dignity, along with the freedom to seek greener pastures.

    NBCUniversal2017-11-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Huge company, lots of creativity but lots of beuracracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The locations in NYC were excellent. Flexible working arrangements. THe chance to be part of some creative works visible in everyday life for millions of people.

    Cons

    The size of the company was daunting. Bureaucracy to get things done can be exhausting. As a global company, you might have to work around the clock.

    NBCUniversal2017-10-21
  10. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Newark, NJ

    I worked at NBCUniversal for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment. Most coworkers were nice people.

    Cons

    There was uncertainty when I was there as a re-org was about to take place.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with employees.

    NBCUniversal2017-09-05
Found 22 reviews