NBCUniversal "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

NBCUniversal Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Incredible benefits & work environment(in 149 reviews)

  • "NBC provides great benefits and fosters an environment of excellency in whatever your position is(in 133 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours on the team that I'm on - but all organizations are different(in 107 reviews)

  • "Can be tough to find a work/life balance(in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I was a production intern."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at NBCUniversal

    Pros

    The work environment was laid back. I had to be hard working but I was rewarded for it. Working in studio and in the field was very fun.

    Cons

    I had to arrive very early to work and some days worked long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Stay in touch with the people that work for you all the way down to the janitors.

    NBCUniversal2019-05-17
  2. "Great culture, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The excitement of co-workers is infectious!

    Cons

    Long hours on the team that I'm on - but all organizations are different!

    NBCUniversal2019-09-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Film Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time

    Pros

    union shop, good salary and benefits

    Cons

    long hours, lots of overtime

    NBCUniversal2019-06-24
  4. "First writing job - was being very underpaid and I didn't know it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NBCUniversal part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    show recognition, liked coworkers, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    long hours, low pay, no job security

    NBCUniversal2019-04-07
  5. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Researcher 

    I have been working at NBCUniversal full-time

    Pros

    A very supportive team of people who have a passion for what they do

    Cons

    Long hours - over 40 hour weeks

    NBCUniversal2019-02-15
  6. "Okay if you need the money I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ny minimum wage as a cashier not challenging whatsoever lots of down time

    Cons

    lots of people tiring long hours annoying and incompetent management extreme liberal bias very few men on staff

    Advice to Management

    nobody cares about the Shop

    NBCUniversal2019-01-27
  7. "Technical Site Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time

    Pros

    Infield experience Hands on work

    Cons

    Hectic work environment Long hours

    NBCUniversal2018-11-27
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time

    Pros

    great people, awesome environment, okay pay

    Cons

    okay pay, long hours, not great benefits

    NBCUniversal2018-11-02
  9. "Great psychology income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal full-time

    Pros

    Great people, big time projects, exciting work, quality facilities, you’ll learn a lot!

    Cons

    Very long hours at times. Production works on weekends and holidays. Kiss your social (and at times family) life goodbye

    NBCUniversal2018-10-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great work experience for your resume but no growth opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Brand Marketing Manager in Universal City, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NBCUniversal for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work on cool products (Universal movies in my case) - Sweet peaks (free evenings at the park, sometimes free lunches, free screenings, rarely but can happen meet talents of our movies) - Job is super interesting! - You can go to the park for lunch and go an on a ride! - Very good reference on your resume, after my contract ended I landed very high caliber interviews!

    Cons

    - AWFUL but really AWFUL salaries for BOTH contractors and full time employees, but I guess it's very common in entertainment - Lack of gender balance, i.e. too many women in the marketing departments which causes a very toxic environment - They don't care about employees being mistreated by their bosses if they're women but became suddenly obsessed when they're men after the recent Hollywood scandals. As a result... many people (read women) get away with it... Talk to HR, they will say they will follow up, will tell your boss and you will end up being put on a performance plan (not my story but saw a few ones having this experience) - No opportunity to grow unless you play the game of your hierarchy - Very old mindset, not international at all whether it is in their recruitment or business vision even if they pretend the contrary - Nepotism: if you don't know anyone and they're not desperate to have someone fill a marketing role, there is little chance you will be able to stay. They love doing favors for friends and high ups colleagues... - Really it always come back to the people: get ready to work long hours but loving what you do and being disgusted by people who will take credit for your work, won't give you opportunities (you will have to show EVERY SINGLE DAY that you deserve to be there and won't get promoted before years without any justification) and might try to ruin your chances to stay in the group. I got lucky I started my contract there with the best boss I have ever had in my career but ended with the worst of all! So like Forrest says : Life is like box of chocolates, you never know what you're going to get!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I feel it's too late for them, it's a huge company and its culture image only lives on their websites unfortunately. It's an old fashioned studio and things won't change... Let's hope Netflix will give them what they deserve.

    NBCUniversal2018-04-25
Found 107 reviews