NCH Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

NCH Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.2
0%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
NCH Chairman and President Irvin L. Levy (no image)
Irvin L. Levy
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "There has never been a better time to work for this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NCH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fantastic training, sales reps are treated like gold. - High quality products I am proud to sell. - Uncapped commissions and plenty of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    - Product line is sold based on value so you need to be a good sales person not an order-taker. - We are in the process of updating a lot of our presentations and technology, but it's getting way better.

    Advice to Management

    Things seem to take a long time to get accomplished and there is some resistance to the changes that are happening at the company, but that is far outweighed by the company culture. I have yet to meet someone that wasn't immediately likable. I would also like to see some web based marketing improvements.

    NCH2014-06-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "This is not a place where you want to work if you want to advance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NCH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The coworkers are great made friends for life.

    Cons

    They never give raises actually they lower pay even for employees that have been there 15 - 20 years. Management does not value inside sales at all. This is not employment you can rely on. Management will tell you one thing and do something totally different.

    Advice to Management

    Treat the inside sales like they matter as much as the ones in the Philippines.

    NCH2019-07-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company Chemsearch, not great Certified"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCH full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked for Chemsearch and was switched to Certified.. awful.

    Cons

    poor management with Certified... very poor

    NCH2017-08-30
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Are you Effing Kidding Me?!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telephone Sales Representative in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good products. Nice buildings. Clean restrooms. 40 hour work week. Free coffee. Climate controlled. Sorry...running out of good things to say.

    Cons

    NO advancement. Terrible Pay. Lazy middle management. Ridiculous "meetings" roll call. Very little training on products. Did I say LAZY middle management. "Operations" department? Pretty sure none of the managers have ever heard of Linkedin or other professional networking websites.

    Advice to Management

    Did you ever hear of training? How in the world can a rep "sell" against competition when they don't even know what they're selling and what the competition is doing? Stop saying there are advancement opportunities in your employment ad. It's just not true.

    NCH2017-01-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sales agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in San Jose, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCH full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quality products. Well known as being the most expensive products out there with the quality being the same as everyone else.

    Cons

    Poor management. Poor customer support. They can't wait to terminate you so they can give your accounts to a senior agent.

    Advice to Management

    Get better managers

    NCH2017-01-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It depends on your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCH full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Probably the best part of working for NCH is the people. There are a vast amount of people that are there to build you up, motivate and help with a smile. I have gained many friends working here and do enjoy the little perks that are given for doing a good job.

    Cons

    Management really doesn't care about you doing good (besides little incentives) but if you slack even a little, your job will be threatened. There's practically no communication between departments and it's very difficult to be effecient and create good customer service in a timely manner. Some departments are treated as less than the others. For instance, we had Associate Appreciation Week and my direct manager sent everyone an email saying that we were not allowed to participate even though we are sales and are in fact an associate. Some departments do not get raises (like mine) and we really have zero room to grow.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work better on communication with other departments If a person works hard on a sale, do not give it to an outside sales rep(It's deflating and multiple people quit every year for this reason) Be fair, If you work hard then there should be room for advancement

    NCH2016-09-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "No growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative - Certified Labs in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NCH full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the people are great to work with.

    Cons

    No growth potential Extremely low pay They take advantage of employees 1980's technology Upper management is lazy

    Advice to Management

    Get people in place that don't panic. Pay closer to market value.

    NCH2016-02-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Autocracy in inside sales dept....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telephone Sales Representative in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCH full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice enough office, the parent company seems to care about the employees, not so much in the telesales dept. Nice workout room. Decent on-site restaurant.

    Cons

    Zero ability to advance even though their employment ad states otherwise. One man show rules the roost. A lot of wasted talent collectively. There are some very sharp people working in the dept who are being held back. The parent will never know how these human resources are being wasted. Really low pay, calling the same dead accounts month after month. Insurance costs are high for what you get.

    Advice to Management

    Look around. See who really wants to help the dept. succeed. Take advantage of the experience of those working for you. 86 the twice a day roll call, these are grown ups.

    NCH2015-08-23
  9. "Territory sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCH full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management team and company growth. Very good income potential

    Cons

    None everything was solid communication is great and training is on going.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work

    NCH2015-08-12
  10. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Safety Harbor, FL

    I worked at NCH full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Products that are needed in several industries. Not micromanaged.

    Cons

    No PTO for sales reps. Prices high at open rate

    Advice to Management

    Realize that all territories are different so don't compare one rep to another

    NCH2015-06-26
Found 18 reviews