NCSOFT Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "In the golden years, NCsoft (Austin/West) was a great place for opportunity and learning(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "No control over the products they support, everything must get approval from HQ (Korea)(in 21 reviews)

  • "This whole experience gave me the impression that HQ is pretty clueless about how to manage their western studios(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Potential Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Try to improve and innovate from mistakes - Good work-life balance - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Need more people to work - Big hit titles needed

    NCSOFT2020-01-16
  2. "Some good, too much bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - I cannot understate that, for the most part, everyone is very friendly. It's a pleasant place to interact with your co-workers. - Flexible work hours as long as you are present during "core" hours. - Subsidized and free snacks! - Benefits were very decent

    Cons

    - No control over the products they support, everything must get approval from HQ (Korea) - Korea out of touch with the Western market (no surprise) and pushes updates that clearly will not hit with Western audiences - Incompetent/uninformed decision making, unwillingness to push back against HQ - Under-qualified people hired/promoted - Getting folks promoted was like pulling teeth - Horrific morale; everyone is just beaten down and has given up - Unrealistic timelines pushed by HQ and supported by production - no attempt at quality updates - All decision making is financially driven; it is a business, after all, but it reached the point where it makes you feel bad if you have a shred of morality in your soul - Some roles are definitely not being paid market rate - Little to no opportunity for growth

    NCSOFT2020-04-25
  3. "Great people make it a great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is a lot of opportunity if you want it

    Cons

    less energetic than other game industry company

    NCSOFT2020-02-11
  4. "It was nice experience."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I could work with very specialized people for gaming industry.

    Cons

    The project that I worked was postponed, so finally it was disappeared.

    NCSOFT2020-02-02
  5. "It was a good time."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior 3D Artist in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I just had to model and texture. Handpainting was great. I miss that.

    Cons

    We made an MMO RPG.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2020-02-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Non-existent pipeline with potential to rebuild"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Deep MMO games - Opportunity to help rebuild the business

    Cons

    - Pockets of misplaced arrogance or entitlement - Almost no direction or communication from leadership - No long-term pipeline

    NCSOFT2020-02-12
  7. "Company is Committed; Future Growth Assured"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great place to further self-development -Snacks & refreshments always available -Great people to work with -IT has your back

    Cons

    Language & communication issues w/ HQ (Korean) Re-occurring technical issues

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2020-01-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Korean management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great quality games - Good team

    Cons

    - Terrible relationship between Korean HQ and local US operations

    NCSOFT2019-10-21
  9. "Good experience so far"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onboarding process is clear and fast. Help with H1b transfer, deal with everything with quick reply and great help. Great benefits, not only the health insurance, but also activities and foods :) Work environment is great, can you believe the chairs are all Herman Miller?

    Cons

    I didn't find anything unhappy here yet.

    NCSOFT2019-08-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not great company to lean on"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of over time before and after launching

    Cons

    Trends change too quick to lose my job

    NCSOFT2019-09-17
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 147 Reviews