NCSOFT Reviews | Glassdoor

NCSOFT Reviews

Updated Feb 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
45 Ratings
  1. "Non-existent pipeline with potential to rebuild"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Deep MMO games - Opportunity to help rebuild the business

    Cons

    - Pockets of misplaced arrogance or entitlement - Almost no direction or communication from leadership - No long-term pipeline

    NCSOFT2020-02-12
  2. "Great people make it a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there is a lot of opportunity if you want it

    Cons

    less energetic than other game industry company

    NCSOFT2020-02-11
  3. "It was nice experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I could work with very specialized people for gaming industry.

    Cons

    The project that I worked was postponed, so finally it was disappeared.

    NCSOFT2020-02-02
  4. "It was a good time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior 3D Artist in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I just had to model and texture. Handpainting was great. I miss that.

    Cons

    We made an MMO RPG.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2020-02-01
  5. "Company is Committed; Future Growth Assured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great place to further self-development -Snacks & refreshments always available -Great people to work with -IT has your back

    Cons

    Language & communication issues w/ HQ (Korean) Re-occurring technical issues

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2020-01-19
  6. "Potential Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Try to improve and innovate from mistakes - Good work-life balance - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Need more people to work - Big hit titles needed

    NCSOFT2020-01-16
  7. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concept Artist in Seoul
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The meal in the cafeteria is delicious. The in-house welfare facilities are very good. Education support, childcare support There are many good employees. Nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    The decision-making speed is very slow. It takes too long to make a game. There is internal political conflict.

    NCSOFT2019-12-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Korean management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Vice President in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great quality games - Good team

    Cons

    - Terrible relationship between Korean HQ and local US operations

    NCSOFT2019-10-21
  9. "Not great company to lean on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of over time before and after launching

    Cons

    Trends change too quick to lose my job

    NCSOFT2019-09-17
  10. "Good company overall with a conservative work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Linguistic QA in Pangyo, Kyonggi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Clean, modern offices - Good recreational facilities - Highly desirable area - Friendly coworkers and staff - Lots of support and training opportunities - Lots of feedback - Lots of room for professional growth

    Cons

    - Upper management are old school - Very hierarchical and inflexible, I never knew a game company could feel like being in the military - Very out of touch with the broader industry - I felt like I knew more about games than most people there - Very old fashioned, they want you to stay late for no reason like a traditional Korean firm

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-09-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 144 reviews