NCSOFT Reviews | Glassdoor

NCSOFT Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
42 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Poor Executive Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Every team had a lot of ambition, promise, and talent. • Ability to work on known market brands and new IPs. • Large corporate resources available (when they chose to use them). • Health insurance was top notch, as confirmed by numerous doctor offices. • Pay was competitive for the area.

    Cons

    • Lack of capable executive leadership. The CEO has no accountability, along with her SVP teams. • Little executive planning, all lip-service with high level goals but no road-map or plan on how to get there other than, "Make lots of money!" • Beholden to the South Korea office for all major decisions, from corporate to game teams. No ability to make real change. • Problematic product pipeline -- no large, successful MMORPGs released since BnS (which was an older game from KR to begin with) and rocky mobile releases. • Work-Life balance is horrible, especially when nearing crunch times. Not helped by the Operations department always running too lean, whether in regards to System Admins or QA staff (scheduling emergency patches/investigations always has a huge human cost).

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "About what would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time

    Pros

    People who work in ga,omg usually know how to hav fun

    Cons

    Uncertainty of product success = uncertainty of job development

    NCSOFT2019-04-04
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Long overdue change is happening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Employee focused - Amazing benefits - Committed to the future

    Cons

    - Middle management is very junior - Organization is very spread out

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-03-03
  4. "Lots of potential, with tons of opportunities to do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Iconic MMORPG products with global reach • Small company feel with long company history and financial stability • Tons of opportunity to learn new skills and shape your role in the company

    Cons

    • Currently has a limited live products, but has aggressive growth plan • With any large company, especially a global one, there are going to be miscommunications and internal politics, NCSOFT is no different • Has struggled to find its footing in a post-MMORPG crazed world

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-03-07
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Really good at giving you a ton of rope to hang yourself with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Little intervention from the HQ in South Korea meant we enjoyed a surprising amount of freedom and agency in making our game. * Pay was barely competitive with the rest of the SF market * Benefits were good * The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance. We're getting shut down, though, so I don't know what surviving studios are like.

    Cons

    * All that freedom I mentioned came at the cost of upper brass decision making feeling really distant and opaque culminating in our studio getting canned just when we thought we were about to launch with a (hopefully) successful game. This whole experience gave me the impression that HQ is pretty clueless about how to manage their western studios. * Rev share was promised (more like dangled at the end of a stick) and now is just moot because we (the studio that made the game) aren't going to be around when the game finally launches.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-02-27
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Worst place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free snack and beverages. Location is good.

    Cons

    Some managers are good, but majority of managers are just good as manipulator. CEO needs to show a better leadership and treat employees with RESPECT. Company’s turnover rate is pretty high. It is very disorganized company..

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-02-21
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Political - Unorganized - Untalented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The usual perks you get when you work in the game industry: It's acceptable to play games (within reason), free snacks/culture related events every once in a while.

    Cons

    It's difficult to quantify how bad the company is. Leadership has neglected nearly every single area of the company. Career opportunities are pretty much 0 unless you are extremely political or are able to talk your way up. This is due to the fact that management/leadership is completely clueless of the needs of each department and what it requires to function properly. I've seen people with less than a few years in their discipline rise all the way to the top, while the qualified candidates who are honest and promote integrity are ignored. According to the company surveys, over 50% of the employees are looking for other jobs. I'd even put management in the same basket. As a result, you get a lot of people in leadership with the "I'm leaving soon, so it doesn't matter" attitude. I'd like to think that this is the reason why most in management ignore the company issues, but I won't rule out incompetence either. On the topic of employee surveys, what ever happened to those? The company got decimated with bad internal reviews, but took no steps to fix anything tangible within the company. As I briefly mentioned politics, you'll see plenty of professional bus throwers here. With no real leadership at the company, it makes sense that people are allowed to get away with it. Especially when, as I mentioned, people are rewarded for it. If you could lie about your experience, get away with it and get promoted, why wouldn't you? That being said, there are a few good people mixed throughout. What about working for a place where the exec group doesn't understand it's own products? Most don't even possess prerequisite or elementary knowledge of the industry.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-01-19
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Completely dysfunctional organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT

    Pros

    The people you work with are nice.

    Cons

    Completely dysfunctional organization, the upper management is so bad that the CEO actively dislikes video games and doesn’t play them or know what they’re looking at. Don’t bother with a game pitch unless it’s an esoteric non-game. The company has no green light process for new titles and if it did the upper management wouldn’t know what they’re looking at. They attempted a re-org that was made company wide knowledge but still wasn’t decided after 8-months which left the entire organization in a state of paralysis. Like getting promoted? Not here. The VP of HR told everyone in an all hands meeting that they don’t promote based on merit (so don’t bother doing a good job), they promote on need only, whatever that is? At any time half of the company is actively applying for new jobs. Managers leave and their job rec is just closed, so was that manager not needed or is the company now even more handicapped? Morale is through the floor. Giving the employees an Xbox One X as a morale boost wasn’t even pulled off correctly when $250 was taken off the next paycheck to cover taxes. Everything just fails spectacularly at NCSOFT, even with good intentions. It’s truly the bad place.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-01-08
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Unorganized, Political, New Ideas Not Welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Decent Salaries - Decent Benefits

    Cons

    - DO NOT APPLY to work here if not politically aligned with far left ideals, as with most things these days with twitter and Facebook there is race baiting and various other conversations that go on here. - Progressive Far Left work Environment, if you dont align with the far left be prepared to brought into hr for everything little thing you may say that someone disagrees with. - False Professional atmosphere, there is alot of cussing and shaming going on in both chats and in the office, understandably its a game company and there will be some discussions that are not for the office but here its out of hand - Projects keep getting delayed and delayed and delayed due to over promising and the above other reasons do not help

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2018-11-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time

    Pros

    Great experience and opportunity. Great coworkers.

    Cons

    Management can lack transparency when communicating with employees

    NCSOFT2018-10-31
Found 140 reviews