NCSOFT "austin" Reviews | Glassdoor

NCSOFT Employee Reviews about "austin"

Updated Jun 17, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "In the golden years, NCsoft (Austin/West) was a great place for opportunity and learning(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Beholden to the South Korea office for all major decisions, from corporate to game teams(in 20 reviews)

  • "Management completely and utterly incompetent with no understanding of the western games market(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "austin"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Golden Past, Trying Present, Murky Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Administrator in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In the golden years, NCsoft (Austin/West) was a great place for opportunity and learning. A remarkable amount of autonomy, trust, and collaboration made working for NCsoft (Operations) a great place. I loved working my job and working with my coworkers, many of which with skills and levels of talent I have yet to see since my departure.

    Cons

    Since at least 2010, the company has suffered terrible set backs caused by strange and arbitrary power struggles between the parent company (Seoul, Korea) and the West (former Seattle HQ/ Austin Operations). This led to competing visions and conflicting interests. The restructuring resulting from the power struggle led first to a massive and unprecedented Operations RIF, and second, a mass exodus of what was left of the remaining talent. Since my departure, RIFs have occurred for several other departments accompanied by closing of Seattle HQ and ancillary offices.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2015-06-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Run Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time

    Pros

    There were really some awesome people working there both in the Austin and Seattle office.

    Cons

    The exec leadership has been changing every few years and thus the goals and priority changes and leaves the company constantly in a huge state of flux.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2015-05-05
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For those in Austin there is still time to hop off of the ship, jump on your own terms. Even if the most recent entry into the market was a success Austin's future appeared to be in doubt. What did NC do to the Paragon office? What did NC do in Seattle? Take the reigns and plan your departure on your own terms.

    Cons

    No leadership, no direction, no support, 100% CYA. The Austin office is void of any Sr management talent, it's hands down the most incompetent executive/leadership team I have ever been around. Apparently this is what happens when you drop a customer service manager into a senior executive position. There will be no career advancement in Austin, it was consistently suggested in passing that I consider moving out to California even though "Austin is safe" and executives promised to "routinely visit the office". As the office and career development opportunities continue to shrink, don't blame NCSoft, you need to look in the mirror and figure out if this is the best position to put you and your family. Check the NC careers page, does it look like they are replacing any of the Austin employees that have departed? Why do you think that's the case?

    NCSOFT2014-08-18
  4. Helpful (8)

    "There is no future for this location."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NCSOFT Austin had some pros, mainly the people (the workers, not the executives) and of course the $.25 snacks/drinks. While working there I built some good professional and personal relationships among the real workers. When I say "real workers" I mean the people that did the day-to-day work, not the senior management and executives. The people that actually did the day-to-day work made NCSOFT bearable. Unfortunately most of these people have smartened up and left.

    Cons

    The C-Level executives and the senior management (with only a couple exceptions over the years) are useless and have ruined NCSOFT. Every few years Korea would bring in a new set of executives. They would come in with big ideas to get Korea on board, stay for a couple of years, destroy half the company, and leave with fat packages. Korea finally got fooled enough times and brought in their own executives over the last couple years. Yes, it's their company and they can run it how they wish, but they know jack about the West and their only remaining Western executive is running the company into the ground. NCSOFT low balls every candidate the hire. If you're not a Director or higher, or are not part of the bi-annual executive change up, or are not a friend of an executive, you are given the bare minimum. It was very demoralizing to see friends of executives come "work" for NCOSFT, get completely fake and useless jobs, collect large salaries/bonuses for doing nothing, and then move on to the next place with their executive buddies. In Korea it is common practice for employees to put in 14/18 hour days. This work ethic is expected to carry over into the West. Korea seems to forget that in Asia working for NCSOFT is well respected. In the West when you mention NCSOFT rarely anyone knows the name and if they do, they don't think much of it. Employees work long hours for their bosses, not for the company. It's sad when employees could care less about the company, but would do anything to help out their manager or co-workers. I would do anything for my team and my boss, but when they left I followed, there's no loyalty to NCSOFT or to its "executive."

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-07-09
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible culture, terrible hours, incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The health benefits are good, and there are $0.25 sodas and snacks. Covered parking is available in Austin, which is nice to keep your car out of the Texas heat.

    Cons

    NCSOFT is a hostile environment with constant chaos and confusion which they call "reorganization." One of the core values is "never ending change," which translates to "never commit to any direction and abuse your employees by constantly changing their reporting structure, job duties, and priorities." They've repeated the same mistakes every couple of years since I've been here and refuse to accept that gaming in the West is different than in Korea and our customers aren't the same. They want to do everything the same as they do in Korea, which doesn't work here, but they are too stubborn and prideful to admit it. Austin is about as bad as it can be now. Our last decent manager recently quit with almost no notice, and another senior manager left at the end of May. They are not replacing one at all, and replacing the other in California. It's obvious the Austin office will close and the new office in California will support everything. The real leadership in Austin, the ones that actually got work done, started jumping ship last Fall and they are all long since gone. NCSOFT didn't replace any of them and it's been a desperate struggle by Korea to keep things running ever since. Austin lost all its developers, the entire team quit in the last 6-8 months (all left voluntarily), because of horrible mistreatment by the executives and refusal by management to choose a single, clear direction. The only good news is that it looks like they're finally getting rid of the last of the incompetent Western executives (the only one remaining is obviously just a figure head). In customer service, we're just waiting for our severance packages, and several of us have already lined up jobs for when they finally admit this office is done. Everywhere else that I can see it is already over. The developers are all gone. The few technical people left who I know are miserable and searching elsewhere. Two BI team members left at the end of May. BI and QA are working ridiculous hours due to very bad, recent technology decisions. Recruiters are actively headhunting even lower-level employees - the word is out. This place is done, and even if it weren't, it's a miserable environment without room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-06-24
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Slowest Sinking Ship In The Game Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expendable in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time

    Pros

    Not many. The benefits are one of the few good reasons to work here. If a new Austin company were looking to staff quickly, I would suggest head hunting from their Team Leads and below. There is an abundance of good people who know how to work hard but have had to work under flaccid management, poor support systems, and the general feeling that their positions were always expendable.

    Cons

    There has been a lack of competent western leadership. Terrible relationship and communication with the Korean HQ. I would not advise applying to the Austin location for any position. If the next product to launch fails, I don't see a future for the company beyond ArenaNet.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-04-18
  7. Helpful (8)

    "A bad thing that's getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT

    Pros

    Casual atmosphere. Remodel of the Austin, TX offices.

    Cons

    Many of the major groups in NCsoft West (Operations, Billing Software, Web Development) are experiencing downsizing while those jobs are being returned to Seoul. After 3 or 4 changes of senior management in 5 years, it seems as though the folks in Seoul HQ are done with almost everything to do with North America/European offices. I'm not sure I would even consider the folks that are not losing their jobs "lucky" in any aspect.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2011-10-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be a good place to work, now not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Designer in Austin, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT

    Pros

    Working in Austin, competitive salaries, often good opportunities for career advancement, company generally tends to do the right thing for its employees (layoffs postponed as long as possible so that people can find positions elsewhere)

    Cons

    Rapid changes in direction from management, lack of focus, many burnouts especially in high-ranking positions, currently great deal of uncertainty due to high profile failure (Tabula Rasa). The Austin location especially is having serious morale issues.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2008-07-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good for a foot into the industry, but not much else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are looking for experience in the industry, the Austin offices are a good place to start as most positions are entry level (there are no more development opportunities in Austin). And some of the folks in the trenches are great to work with. The physical environment is nice enough. They have top notch benefits if you are lucky enough to be a full-time employee, although the company seems to be moving towards mostly contract positions.

    Cons

    If you have any hopes of moving up the corporate ladder here, you'll need to drink the corporate kool-aid and prepare for some soul sacrifices. No company is without its own faults. But I watched NCsoft go from a thriving Utopia to a policed and distrusting environment over the course of years. Even exceptional employees are undervalued and unappreciated. Management only hears what fits into their lacking "vision" for the company. Layoffs occur almost yearly. When I left, morale and job satisfaction were the lowest I'd ever seen. The problems with the Austin office are based on terrible management and a constantly adversarial relationship with their Korean HQ. Management's tunnel vision only allows them to focus on metrics and perceptions, at the expense of their employees. A company like NCsoft should foster and encourage the growth of their employees. Yet they only see their staff as mindless and trivial worker bees that cannot be trusted. I wouldn't completely deter someone from working there. But I no longer believe that this is a desirable place to be.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2012-07-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews