NCSOFT "western" Reviews | Glassdoor

NCSOFT Employee Reviews about "western"

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
NCSOFT CEO Songyee Yoon
Songyee Yoon
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "In the golden years, NCsoft (Austin/West) was a great place for opportunity and learning(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Beholden to the South Korea office for all major decisions, from corporate to game teams(in 20 reviews)

  • "Management completely and utterly incompetent with no understanding of the western games market(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "western"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "There's no breaking the wheel here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time

    Pros

    Good fellow employees. Good Benefits.

    Cons

    - Obfuscating, misleading and out-of-touch C- and E-level management make it hard to have confidence in anything you do -Unrelenting effort to stay connected to HQ Korean mindset and trying to force those products on the western market are leading to flagging sales and excitement within the company -Most are underpaid and low-balled for the work they do If you're going to except a job here, make sure you're already looking for your next stop.

    NCSOFT2019-05-20
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Really good at giving you a ton of rope to hang yourself with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Little intervention from the HQ in South Korea meant we enjoyed a surprising amount of freedom and agency in making our game. * Pay was barely competitive with the rest of the SF market * Benefits were good * The specific studio I am/was at had an incredible office culture, and a really admirable adherence to keeping a healthy work/life balance. We're getting shut down, though, so I don't know what surviving studios are like.

    Cons

    * All that freedom I mentioned came at the cost of upper brass decision making feeling really distant and opaque culminating in our studio getting canned just when we thought we were about to launch with a (hopefully) successful game. This whole experience gave me the impression that HQ is pretty clueless about how to manage their western studios. * Rev share was promised (more like dangled at the end of a stick) and now is just moot because we (the studio that made the game) aren't going to be around when the game finally launches.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2019-02-27
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Worst company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great, talented colleagues...and that's it.

    Cons

    - Old fashioned company with old fashioned rules and approaches to development. (no work from home, no flexible PTO.) - Management completely and utterly incompetent with no understanding of the western games market. - Management approved a big hiring push for a new game they apparently didn't support...and then shut the game down...and then shut the studio down. What a senseless waste. - Poor communication between management and studio heads, to the point where they needed to hire someone as a go-between. (Always a good sign...)

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2018-09-26
  4. "Don't Plan on Making a Career Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Localizer in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT for less than a year

    Pros

    Fellow contractors were talented individuals that made the experience manageable. The full time employee that oversaw us did their best to manage the team while navigating the daily insanity of company politics and inane requests.

    Cons

    Management is virtually nonexistent and when someone does claim to be lead on something, they seem to have little to no understanding of the project itself. Leadership out of Korea is paranoid about their Western division's activity. Korea will not grant the Western offices access to tools that make localization possible. NCSoft is a family business and operates like one. Most design leads do not earn their position through professional means.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2015-09-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of emphasis on employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a priority on high game quality. If you like online games, it's fun to work on them.

    Cons

    There is a cultural divide from Korean headquarters and the western territories. This creates problems.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2015-07-15
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technician in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Playing any game from other game companies is okay during business hour. Play and make money. Dont make an effort to get recognized. They dont care if you work hard or not.

    Cons

    Business is falling apart. They dont make enough money to keep the company in US. Oneday they will close their business on western territory for sure. Then, you will lose your job.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2015-07-04
  7. Helpful (8)

    "There is no future for this location."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NCSOFT Austin had some pros, mainly the people (the workers, not the executives) and of course the $.25 snacks/drinks. While working there I built some good professional and personal relationships among the real workers. When I say "real workers" I mean the people that did the day-to-day work, not the senior management and executives. The people that actually did the day-to-day work made NCSOFT bearable. Unfortunately most of these people have smartened up and left.

    Cons

    The C-Level executives and the senior management (with only a couple exceptions over the years) are useless and have ruined NCSOFT. Every few years Korea would bring in a new set of executives. They would come in with big ideas to get Korea on board, stay for a couple of years, destroy half the company, and leave with fat packages. Korea finally got fooled enough times and brought in their own executives over the last couple years. Yes, it's their company and they can run it how they wish, but they know jack about the West and their only remaining Western executive is running the company into the ground. NCSOFT low balls every candidate the hire. If you're not a Director or higher, or are not part of the bi-annual executive change up, or are not a friend of an executive, you are given the bare minimum. It was very demoralizing to see friends of executives come "work" for NCOSFT, get completely fake and useless jobs, collect large salaries/bonuses for doing nothing, and then move on to the next place with their executive buddies. In Korea it is common practice for employees to put in 14/18 hour days. This work ethic is expected to carry over into the West. Korea seems to forget that in Asia working for NCSOFT is well respected. In the West when you mention NCSOFT rarely anyone knows the name and if they do, they don't think much of it. Employees work long hours for their bosses, not for the company. It's sad when employees could care less about the company, but would do anything to help out their manager or co-workers. I would do anything for my team and my boss, but when they left I followed, there's no loyalty to NCSOFT or to its "executive."

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-07-09
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible culture, terrible hours, incompetent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The health benefits are good, and there are $0.25 sodas and snacks. Covered parking is available in Austin, which is nice to keep your car out of the Texas heat.

    Cons

    NCSOFT is a hostile environment with constant chaos and confusion which they call "reorganization." One of the core values is "never ending change," which translates to "never commit to any direction and abuse your employees by constantly changing their reporting structure, job duties, and priorities." They've repeated the same mistakes every couple of years since I've been here and refuse to accept that gaming in the West is different than in Korea and our customers aren't the same. They want to do everything the same as they do in Korea, which doesn't work here, but they are too stubborn and prideful to admit it. Austin is about as bad as it can be now. Our last decent manager recently quit with almost no notice, and another senior manager left at the end of May. They are not replacing one at all, and replacing the other in California. It's obvious the Austin office will close and the new office in California will support everything. The real leadership in Austin, the ones that actually got work done, started jumping ship last Fall and they are all long since gone. NCSOFT didn't replace any of them and it's been a desperate struggle by Korea to keep things running ever since. Austin lost all its developers, the entire team quit in the last 6-8 months (all left voluntarily), because of horrible mistreatment by the executives and refusal by management to choose a single, clear direction. The only good news is that it looks like they're finally getting rid of the last of the incompetent Western executives (the only one remaining is obviously just a figure head). In customer service, we're just waiting for our severance packages, and several of us have already lined up jobs for when they finally admit this office is done. Everywhere else that I can see it is already over. The developers are all gone. The few technical people left who I know are miserable and searching elsewhere. Two BI team members left at the end of May. BI and QA are working ridiculous hours due to very bad, recent technology decisions. Recruiters are actively headhunting even lower-level employees - the word is out. This place is done, and even if it weren't, it's a miserable environment without room for advancement.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-06-24
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Slowest Sinking Ship In The Game Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expendable in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSOFT full-time

    Pros

    Not many. The benefits are one of the few good reasons to work here. If a new Austin company were looking to staff quickly, I would suggest head hunting from their Team Leads and below. There is an abundance of good people who know how to work hard but have had to work under flaccid management, poor support systems, and the general feeling that their positions were always expendable.

    Cons

    There has been a lack of competent western leadership. Terrible relationship and communication with the Korean HQ. I would not advise applying to the Austin location for any position. If the next product to launch fails, I don't see a future for the company beyond ArenaNet.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2014-04-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great people but no leadership, no direction and doesn't understand Western values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NCSOFT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great western studios and games with great potential. The people I worked with were great and despite the negative company culture we really enjoyed working together and tried to do the best we could with what we had.

    Cons

    Lack of western leadership and no long term strategy or planning make this company a frustrating place to work. They can't seem to keep any executive leadership in the West and have no idea what their doing. It seems that as a publisher they have no long term potential and will rely on the individual studios to find their own way.

    Continue reading
    NCSOFT2013-02-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews