NEC (Japan) Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

NEC (Japan) Engineer Reviews

Updated 3 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
NEC (Japan) CEO Nobuhiro Endo
Nobuhiro Endo
6 Ratings
  1. "I applied on via email, I got a reply by email that they wanted me to come on-site for an interview."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome experience; I love the spirit teamwork and how they motivate you to give your best.

    Cons

    It was a bit difficult to communicate in English.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication in English between inner departments.

    NEC (Japan)2017-07-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to build a career, expand business horizons & surf onto the leading edge of latest technologies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    International corporation with lots of opportunity to grow into chosen career path. Access to latest technologies. Great location. Beautiful building. Free parking. Nice people.

    Cons

    Danger of getting lost in the crowd. Large International corporate structure with lots of layers of management & politics. Recently eliminated long term option to bank vacation time which was a key perk and make working at company less desirable.

    Advice to Management

    Top management either in Japan or directly reports to Japan which often creates communication disconnect. Eliminate some of the administrative red tape. Rethink employee benefits before chopping them.

    NEC (Japan)2014-06-17
  3. "Typical Japanese technology company with pro and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Safe work environment Respect of each other Good development plan

    Cons

    Long hours Stress level can be high Conservative

    Advice to Management

    Embrace changes and gear up for new generations

    NEC (Japan)2019-09-03
  4. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. I can't imagine a better way to start off a career.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any.

    NEC (Japan)2019-06-07
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hardware Engineer 

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    Good salary Very stable Laid off rate is zero

    Cons

    Chicken pox Picky picky Rice goood Do oh well

    NEC (Japan)2019-05-31
  6. "Network engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good and rewarding. Good exposure of new technology

    Cons

    Senior management has not have a long term view

    Advice to Management

    Tracking performance for upgrading

    NEC (Japan)2019-04-27
  7. "worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Dhaka

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    not any positive sides for career growth.

    Cons

    not good for technical guys, poor growth, worst HR and company policy.very less increment.

    NEC (Japan)2019-05-25
  8. "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work, good work and personal life balance, management is very close to employees.

    Cons

    Compensation & Benefits should be considered for contract staff also

    NEC (Japan)2019-04-10
  9. "Senior Network engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Experience Good Knowledge Good Team Mate Good Employer

    Cons

    Good Salary Flexible Working Hour Good Demand Team Work Abilities

    Advice to Management

    Good Management Good Team Work

    NEC (Japan)2019-03-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Singapore

    I worked at NEC (Japan) for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Projects are mostly interesting. Nice colleagues.

    Cons

    Worked with NEC Asia Pacific (Singapore) for over 5 years as a contractor. Hardwork, dedication, and contribution to projects do not pay off. Worse, management cheated me. When I complained, they gave me lame excuses which only a brainless individual will have the capacity to believe them.

    Advice to Management

    Japan HQ should check the professionalism of regional managements.

    NEC (Japan)2018-11-17
Found 54 reviews