NEC (Japan) Reviews | Glassdoor

NEC (Japan) Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 415 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
NEC (Japan) CEO Nobuhiro Endo
Nobuhiro Endo
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Falta de plano de carreira e plr(in 12 reviews)

  • "Slow to react to market ,low salary and lack of career development(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst 

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company maintains a great work/life balance

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    NEC (Japan)2019-07-09
  2. "Stable working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    NEC central research laboratories is generally laid back, plenty of time to focus on a long-term research projects.

    Cons

    Low compensation compared to other research companies.

    NEC (Japan)2019-06-01
  3. "Very nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    very nice people, very good management

    Cons

    quite long hours, less flaxible

    NEC (Japan)2019-05-06
  4. "Great place for Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful working atmosphere, friendly staff and operations, good salary payment.

    Cons

    Overtime work may be required sometimes.

    NEC (Japan)2019-01-06
  5. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    -Commute -Office - Product Training

    Cons

    -Pay -Hard to move up

    NEC (Japan)2018-12-06
  6. "Great atmosphere and a lot of freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of freedom to do pure research (within the company's interest). In general, people are friendly. Pay is good.

    Cons

    It is not what it used to be and you see the decline as people are now leaving. Sometimes, extremely high level of micromanaging of the interns.

    NEC (Japan)2018-04-16
  7. "Good and friendly work space"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, high freedom for research.

    Cons

    Relatively far away from tech centers: NYC, Bay area, Seattle, etc.

    NEC (Japan)2018-01-25
  8. "I applied on via email, I got a reply by email that they wanted me to come on-site for an interview."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome experience; I love the spirit teamwork and how they motivate you to give your best.

    Cons

    It was a bit difficult to communicate in English.

    Advice to Management

    Increase communication in English between inner departments.

    NEC (Japan)2017-07-18
  9. "Excellent Place for PHD Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    Great people. Almost everyone had lunch together, and no matter now senior they were always welcoming.

    Cons

    Feedback wasn't regular. Would help to have more frequent reviews so corrections can be made in the early stages.

    NEC (Japan)2017-06-01
  10. "Technology Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work environment. Great Teammates.

    Cons

    No Career Path. The organization has searched for an directive for some time but cannot compete with today's business impact.

    NEC (Japan)2017-04-12
Found 415 reviews