NEC (Japan) Reviews | Glassdoor

NEC (Japan) Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 417 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
NEC (Japan) CEO Nobuhiro Endo
Nobuhiro Endo
34 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Must be Connected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Lincolnshire, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good technology, Fast development, Very smart people

    Cons

    Things change daily, Do believe what one person tells you because it has probably changed already. It helps to have connections to management. If you are not in the group socially, you are not respected.

    Continue reading
    NEC (Japan)2013-09-29
  2. "A Small Development Division that is Lost Inside a Multinational Behemoth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincolnshire, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small, start-up atmosphere. Great technology and solutions but unable to breakthrough in the marketplace.

    Cons

    Dominated by developers and engineers. Parent company fails to properly fund development.

    NEC (Japan)2013-08-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A great place for experimentation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Staff Member in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to do interesting things, very smart people, friendly atmosphere, technically challenging, good balance of work and life, travel to interesting conferences

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunities, salary is median for New York area, lack of collaboration with other groups in the company, limited access to business group for ideas and data.

    Continue reading
    NEC (Japan)2013-06-15
  4. "Industry fluctuation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Provide very good benefits for their employees

    Cons

    Constant reorganizations Frequent turnover of management

    NEC (Japan)2013-05-02
  5. "research intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Research in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    not very high salary compared with others

    Cons

    nice environment, flexible working time

    NEC (Japan)2013-02-22
  6. "Informative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Braintree, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan)

    Pros

    Great Training, and great/helpful staff. Management wants you to suceed, if you show them that you're willing to put 110% into the company there is no cap on advancement.

    Cons

    If you are not a self motivator and willing to work as hard as it takes, do not bother applying to this position. Either have both feet in the business or both feet out.

    Continue reading
    NEC (Japan)2011-10-14
  7. "Excellent place to work in as a PhD great research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Intern in Princeton, NJ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan)

    Pros

    Excellent Lab, open to new ideas, fast tracked research opportunities with a lot of brilliant minds working there :)

    Cons

    Compensation is a little less, and the management in general isn't that great

    NEC (Japan)2011-09-23
  8. "it was an excellent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Research Intern in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan)

    Pros

    They let you publish papers which is very important for PhD students etc. Many people after working here for a while and getting industrial experience have received and accepted faculty offers.

    Cons

    cost of living is high in cupertino

    Continue reading
    NEC (Japan)2011-08-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "accomodating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Staff Member in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan)

    Pros

    you can relax yourself, not too much pressure, great location in california, friendly environment, great weather, and a lot of fun place around

    Cons

    not very productive in terms of paper, not very stable for long-term jobs, company structure may change year by year. small lab

    Continue reading
    NEC (Japan)2011-06-01
  10. "Overall it has been great. I have a awesome boss and coworkers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Customer Service in Irving, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan)

    Pros

    My boss is the best. I could not get better anywhere else!!!

    Cons

    I don't feel the upper managerment knows and understands what it is we do in field operations. I feel we also lack in sales department.

    Continue reading
    NEC (Japan)2011-02-20
Found 417 reviews