NEC (Japan) Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

NEC (Japan) Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
NEC (Japan) CEO Nobuhiro Endo
Nobuhiro Endo
2 Ratings
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. I can't imagine a better way to start off a career.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any.

    NEC (Japan)2019-06-07
  2. "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work, good work and personal life balance, management is very close to employees.

    Cons

    Compensation & Benefits should be considered for contract staff also

    NEC (Japan)2019-04-10
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Unprofessional Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in Singapore

    I worked at NEC (Japan) for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Projects are mostly interesting. Nice colleagues.

    Cons

    Worked with NEC Asia Pacific (Singapore) for over 5 years as a contractor. Hardwork, dedication, and contribution to projects do not pay off. Worse, management cheated me. When I complained, they gave me lame excuses which only a brainless individual will have the capacity to believe them.

    Advice to Management

    Japan HQ should check the professionalism of regional managements.

    NEC (Japan)2018-11-17
  4. "Recommended for Junior positions only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Singapore

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to gain skills

    Cons

    Salary is below average compared to other companies

    Advice to Management

    Needs improvement in terms of valuing employees.

    NEC (Japan)2018-09-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I hated it here as a Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Adelaide
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got paid slightly above average wages as I was replacing multiple staff. The team once had 8 people. The final 2 quit and I was left to be the new team of 1 developer.

    Cons

    Forced to take over for a whole development team after everyone quit at the same time. Totally disorganised and inexperienced management team. Expected to train to become an expert in propriety software systems I had no experience in and support top level government clients. Project management lied to clients, human resources were hopeless, my team leader had no experience as a developer and didn't know what we did.... Every process or system had fundamental problems. Even my automated exit interview didn't work. It was an Indian helpdesk dressed up to look like NEC. I was in the Australian branch of NEC Japan. I quit in one month.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start looking after employees. Replace staff when they quit. Take an interest in the clients and you might keep them. Stop hiring excess staff and making them compete for one job. Make quiet work areas away from noisy staff who've already quit and just don't care. Be honest with people when they start. Use knowledge management. Have some flexibility rather than call people's emergency contact at 9:10am when they are... about to walk in the door.

    Show More
    NEC (Japan)2018-10-03
  6. "Low salary, & unfair environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible working hours - Fruits day

    Cons

    -Low Salary -bunch of lazy seniors -poor management -fresh graduate can get higher pay than 3-4 years experiences -unfair environment

    Advice to Management

    Pay according to performance and provide more career opportunities for internal

    NEC (Japan)2017-12-14
  7. "Not very long here yet though. So take it with a pinch of salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) for less than a year

    Pros

    Stress level not extremely high, supervisor is nice. Flexible lunch. Flexible coming in and out timings. As long as work done it's ok

    Cons

    Low pay and OT isn't really compensated well. The pay could be higher starting pay wise.

    NEC (Japan)2017-06-03
  8. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Design Engineer in Cebu City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NEC (Japan) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big allowances totalling up to P3500 per month. Subsidy for overtime such as transport and food.

    Cons

    Work. Just work. Do your best, overtime is inevitable so live by it.

    Advice to Management

    Proper project management to minimize overtime.

    NEC (Japan)2017-04-07
  9. "MTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    MTS1 Software Engineer in Noida
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NEC (Japan)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance , Onsite opportunities

    Cons

    Less career growth. Not much onsite opportunities LESS Compensation

    NEC (Japan)2017-03-31
  10. "Negtive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NEC (Japan) full-time

    Pros

    None no good thing not recommend

    Cons

    Low salary less good environment

    NEC (Japan)2017-04-11
Found 22 reviews