NEXON Reviews

Updated May 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
46%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
NEXON CEO Owen Mahoney (no image)
Owen Mahoney
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will work with a lot of great people(in 16 reviews)

  • "Casual and fun work environment, creative space, nice and interesting coworkers, caring managers, approachable and attentive Facilities & HR team(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult communication since they all speak Korean(in 16 reviews)

  • "Upper management/executives are clueless about what makes a game good and the Western market in general(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    ""You'll learn to laugh instead of cry""

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My time at Nexon was amazing! To be honest, I never understood the negative reviews and comments about this place. Everyone from the directors to administrative team was a pleasure to work with. Nexon has a lot of talented and bright people. I made lifelong friends that made it easy to come to work early or even stay late. I'm very thankful for my manager and team, they made work fun. Don't get me wrong... work was still stressful and challenging but my team was very supportive, helpful, and willing to teach. It was really hard to make a decision to move on from Nexon. It was more of a career move than anything. In the end, Nexon is family. Pros: - Free Snacks - Free monthly lunches - Happy Hour - New office all equipped with standing desk - Casual attire (e.g. shirt, shorts, and sandals)

    Cons

    Nexon just needs that ONE game to put them at the top.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-04-17
  2. "Not bad if you have no life"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance Lead in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, catered lunches every now and again, stable work if you're committed for it. They'll let you grow as well... to a point.

    Cons

    VERY big on nepotism. If you're not part of "The Family" you're not going to get past associate producer. Nexon Korea controls everything, Nexon America just puts out the fires.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2020-05-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Titanic leadership, slowly running into that iceberg"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Tester in Marina del Rey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Coffee machine, decent parking and free food from time to time.

    Cons

    Management that doesn't care to listen or learn. Korean mindset that doesn't work as well in the west. Promote 1-2 westerners to make it seem like they are evolving, but keep replacing the same 7-8 korean robot manager clones again and again... so nothing changes.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-12-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away unless you are absolutely desperate."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The money they pay can be spent on food and shelter.

    Cons

    Couldn't keep equipment running; company is extremely cheap and inflexible when it comes to necessary hardware and software. Was hired to be a part of a team that never came to be - I did not know it, but apparently no one wants to work for this company. Was hired to work on a project that changed direction massively, weeks after my first day (it went from an original idea, to a boring 'we can make that too' project which was aping existing successful titles). Toxic alt-right people in leadership positions. Company has no interest in developing employees; even if they moved you across the country to work for them, they are willing to throw thousands of dollars and months of time invested away if they think you are not putting out %150 every day. Non U.S.-born Koreans make up a significant part of the employees. Most do not speak English, and they are complete ciphers. No effort to integrate teams means no sense of being a part of a team.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-12-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible executives and culture."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers and managers are all great people.

    Cons

    Very top-down culture. People are expected to shut up and do what they're told Upper management/executives are clueless about what makes a game good and the Western market in general. Expected to compete against the best with little resources, manpower, and terrible leadership and lack of vision.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-10-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good luck if you're not Korean. Poor product decisions. Build for the sake of building and copying competition."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Costco snacks. Monthly free lunch.

    Cons

    Classic hierarchical culture. They don't care about proper processes or doing thing the right way. The few leaders only listen among themselves in an echo chamber. Product management doesn't exist and they actually refuse to hire product managers because they think they don't need it. Employees are moved laterally to fill positions they are not qualified for. I worked with someone who didn't know what they were doing, but no one cared because that person produced. As long as you produce something, even if it is poor quality, they will support it. Leaders will take your feedback and do nothing about it. Good luck trying to leave because the experience gained here is not valuable to future employers. They also like to fire and layoff employees on a whim without warning. PIPs don't exist. Hire and fire seems like a fun activity to them. If you don't believe any of this, I encourage anyone potential or current employees to talk to people who work there or message any former employee and ask about their experience.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-11-02
  7. "A great place to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NEXON full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will work with a lot of great people. You will be asked to do a lot but you will also learn a lot. Nexon helped me build a strong foundation to take to my current employer.

    Cons

    Although the company is looking to change and reinvent itself, old habits die hard.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-09-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Make sure you are working on a title that has long term guarantees"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Production Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. The company overall sets employees up with the tools needed to get the job, this includes software and hardware.

    Cons

    Upper management don't take the opinions of people below them very well, or very rarely into consideration. No guarantee of long term employment if you are on a game title that is canceled or is no longer published by Nexon.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-08-02
  9. "Had some good experience but they don't have the zeal to make better games"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Have Good work life balance

    Cons

    Not Good Management and decision making

    NEXON2019-08-16
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Only Work Here to Go to a Better Job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA

    I have been working at NEXON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to do 5 times the volume of work of a normal job, so you genuinely learn and practice heavily. I do not even mean this sarcastically. I've stayed here as long as I have because I get to practice my craft thoroughly. It's definitely not a slow job. The work you are doing (depending on how much you like your department) is rather fun. This is probably the best part of the company. You're doing fun work. The Nexon America division isn't Blizzard or Riot big, but it's still Nexon, which has weight in the industry. Also, other companies seem to know how hard you are worked at Nexon and respect you more for it. Interesting pro, but true. Only work here if you need gaming experience to go somewhere else. And do not need a lot of money at that time in your life. I'll explain below.

    Cons

    The company is trying to make it seem like it is improving, but it unfortunately isn't. Culturally, we just aren't going to get there. That's why I'm writing now. Because I thought it was going to get better. And it's gotten worse recently. Large volumes of negativity, very little positivity. Below low compensation. And that tends to be after asking for more. Executives are extremely controlling and do not have your interests in mind whatsoever. You are basically work mules in their eyes. Very little mutual respect. As said before, you are overworked. Heavily. The company is set in its ways yet you see all of their employees desperately trying to bring new life to the titles, and are almost always shut down.

    Continue reading
    NEXON2019-07-19
Found 110 reviews