NFI Industries Truck Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

NFI Industries Truck Driver Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
NFI Industries CEO Sid Brown (no image)
Sid Brown
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "NFI seems to be a company that as long as you work hard they will work hard with you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Winchester, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFI Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many dedicated accounts that may be within your living area that can get you home daily. Computer logging. Prepass and EZ Pass. Hiring bonus of $2,000. Referral bonus of $2,000.

    Cons

    Mileage pay seems low, but the entire transportation industry as a whole suffers from stagnant pay over the last 12 or more years.

    Advice to Management

    Honestly it comes down to pay. In my case Annual pay. I think the national average of Truck Drivers should be $60,000 to keep up with inflation.

    NFI Industries2012-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFI Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Easy going and good equipment

    Cons

    Too many sensors and cameras in the trucks

    NFI Industries2019-09-09

    NFI Industries Response

    September 11, 2019Marketing

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your feedback!

  3. "Management was horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Delaware City, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFI Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was adequate for the job.

    Cons

    Management took advantage of you to work more than the other drivers. They would say you are local have you in a truck 4-5 nights in a sleeper. The trucks would not idle. Benefits was horrible for this company

    Advice to Management

    My manager Mike on the Purdue account was a manager that was 100% pro company and not fair to drivers that worked for him. Luckily today I moved on to be a transportation manager myself for a company. If NFI would've done business the right way then talent in this industry would not slide away.

    NFI Industries2019-04-18

    NFI Industries Response

    September 10, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be forwarding the provided information with the appropriate teams.

  4. "Tanker / van"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Breinigsville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFI Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I can't say I didn't make money because I did. The money is there if your willing to work for it.

    Cons

    Unless grandfathered in the medical insurance is way over priced and not worth having.

    Advice to Management

    Some management is great. But some that are in upper management should look for a new line of work. .They have no business working where they have never been on the bottom to see what it's like for the new people coming in.

    NFI Industries2018-10-03

    NFI Industries Response

    September 10, 2019Marketing

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We value your feedback and will be forwarding this information to the appropriate team.

  5. "Not bad, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Truck Driver in Chino, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NFI Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Okay place to work for good money if you just your rear.

    Cons

    Constant pay scale change. Lack of management and micromanagement. $100 paid holiday pay if paid by mielage for local drivers. Long hours sometimes don't make up for the pay.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your drivers and give them an actual uniform. Listen to concerns about safety and routing for stores considering we are the ones out driving not sitting In an office starring at a computer screen.

    NFI Industries2018-08-16

    NFI Industries Response

    September 11, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We value your feedback and will be forwarding this information with the appropriate teams.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, plenty of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Truck Driver in Mebane, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NFI Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They don't micromanage you They are generous with holiday pay/weekly hours/etc It seems they prefer to promote from within

    Cons

    Benefits package (insurance/retirement) is horrible Trucks are governed at 62mph and 65mph (cruise control)

    Advice to Management

    Stop buying cheap international trucks

    NFI Industries2018-07-04

    NFI Industries Response

    September 11, 2019Marketing

    Thank you for writing the positive review! We appreciate your feedback.

  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NFI Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Productive employer and Need To increased wages

    Cons

    Working For Them expect to sweat

    Advice to Management

    Maintain family oriented relationships

    NFI Industries2017-07-17
  8. "Dedicated truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NFI Industries full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Money is great, if you work for it.

    Cons

    Medical insurance is costly. But it is everywhere.

    Advice to Management

    Plan better. So there is no waiting for loads.

    NFI Industries2017-01-19

    NFI Industries Response

    January 26, 2017Corporate Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about being a driver with NFI. We appreciate and value your response. We are always looking for ways to make improvements, so I will certainly share your feedback with the leadership team.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Solid but long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Truck Driver in Fayetteville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFI Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent money, most drivers are good. Steady freight. Overall it was a good place to work. No company is perfect.

    Cons

    Dispatchers kind of play favorites, don't plan out runs very well at times. It's not all about killing a drivers 14 every single day, let a person get home.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the bigger picture when it comes to drivers sometimes. We work long hours, many unpaid. If a driver is in a loaner, don't send them out on overnight runs. That can be nasty and demoralizing. Install power inverters!

    NFI Industries2017-01-10

    NFI Industries Response

    January 18, 2017Corporate Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about being a driver with NFI. We are continuously working on ways to make improvements, and I will be certain to share your feedback with the leadership team.

  10. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NFI Industries

    Pros

    Friendly people work with some days are easy some hard

    Cons

    Stable job good hours A lot work not enough pay

    Advice to Management

    Treat there driver like they supoose too they should recognize the job we doing everyday

    NFI Industries2016-04-07
Found 19 reviews