NFI Massachusetts Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Company truly cares about employees and clients"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management was incredibly engaged and involved, worked hard to foster a positive company culture. Priority was always focused on providing the absolute best possible care to those being served.

    Cons

    Pay is low as tends to be typical at nonprofits, but the benefits and work life balance more than made up for it.

    NFI Massachusetts2019-04-22
  2. "Disconnected Management Style, Poor Communication, Zero Support for Staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinician in Haverhill, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The SOAP team is wonderful and truly cares about their clients and the work they do.

    Cons

    Management runs a business and forgets that in order for it to be a success, people need to be treated well with OPEN lines of communication, legitimate supervision, and a healthy, positive, supportive working environment.

    Continue reading
    NFI Massachusetts2019-09-12
  3. "Company is not reliable"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Plenty of job opportunities, good training at the entry level

    Cons

    High turnover, lack of communication from senior managers, high amounts of internal and external investigations

    NFI Massachusetts2019-09-18
  4. "Good people, pay could be higher"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people working in NFI. Good management.

    Cons

    pay was on the low end while on contract with the state

    NFI Massachusetts2018-08-07
  5. "Good Personal Growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Co-workers, good training's, Real world experience

    Cons

    Long hours, not best pay, more work then there is time

    Continue reading
    NFI Massachusetts2018-06-21
  6. "Good learning experience for the most part."

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Danvers, MA

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team work at times.

    Cons

    Supervisor did a poor job communicating.

    NFI Massachusetts2018-06-09
  7. "Counselor"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    M A, M Div in New Hyde Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Phenomenal staff with excessive experience from DSH.

    Cons

    Political case from DMH, it can work out very right if you know how to roll with it. "do not fight your funding source!"

    Continue reading
    NFI Massachusetts2018-05-03
  8. "Extremely supportive management and clinical team."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Staff in Worcester, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the UMass branch in Worcester MA, on their adolescent mental health unit. The pay is decent I felt for the position I was hired for as it averaged higher than other agencies with the same positions. The program is very structured & well supported by upper management. The programs for the kids are excellent. And I took note of how caring the upper management was towards their staff which is extremely nice and I find to be a rarity. The management and clinical teams are so creative, insightful and diverse. Lower level management (like supervisors) are in company promoted and can be over barring at times but they are also extremely supportive. The company appears to promote current employees rather than hire outside the agency which makes everyone able to move up and advance eventually. There's also many positions available if you find you do not like the current one you are working in within the company and no one from upper management holds this against you in any way, they would rather keep good employees and use them effectively rather than keep the employee where they don't want to be and lose them to being unhappy at their job. The only reason I no longer work at this agency is because I could not do the commute, it was 90mins to drive and get into the building for me. You must have a degree or many years of experience in human service field working with and taking care of people to be hired here (or both). This is not a job they will hire anyone for just to meet ratio requirements, this company is selective and looks for particular skills to be employed by them. Any job within the agency is a career job opportunity.

    Cons

    On a locked unit, no breaks, parking is a nightmare on 3-11 shifts at the UMass Worcester branch. You are expected to work at least 45hrs a wk minimum for full time. This is because the staff are expected on shift at 230 and to stay until 11 (8.5hr days 5 days a week) for shift change report. Also staff meetings are twice a month and they are 2hrs at a minimum added to that wks overtime, staff meetings are what make the entire place run effectively as a whole so they are extremely important. Part time is available and no overtime is needed because your not on a full schedule anyways. Relief is a nice option as you do not have to work set shifts or schedules and they always need help. The actual job itself can be extremely overwhelming and burn out rates for staff are extremely high. The children you are working with have a wide range of mental health problems and that can be challenging. Restraints are often and exhausting. This job is not for everyone. You need to have a good balance of empathy and boundaries to succeed. The paperwork is abundant and time consuming. When you first start on the unit, the other regular staff make you feel like you will not make it here because so many staff quit on a regular basis and I found you have to prove yourself to the staff more than the kids that you are capable to do the job.

    Continue reading
    NFI Massachusetts2018-01-13
  9. "Direct Care Staff"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Care Staff in Haverhill, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NFI Massachusetts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with youth is a rewarding experience especially being able to help them with their journey in life.

    Cons

    Management is quick to blame staff for teens' shortcomings or negative behaviors.

    Continue reading
    NFI Massachusetts2017-12-01
  10. "Poor working conditions"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at NFI Massachusetts

    Pros

    nothing positive to share. poor

    Cons

    Not paid enough for working conditions

    NFI Massachusetts2017-07-07
Found 24 reviews