NGP VAN Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
NGP VAN CEO Stu Trevelyan (no image)
Stu Trevelyan
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance - it's not from mental exhaustion(in 15 reviews)

  • "Progressive work environment with progressive clients(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are challenges with growing pains(in 9 reviews)

  • "Low pay remains a fact despite some pay bumps that were granted to the lowest-paid employees(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 24, 2021 - N/A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lives by their progressive values

      Cons

      None to add at the moment

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast-growing company with important, mission-driven work and interesting engineering challenges!

      Mar 3, 2021 - Software Engineer in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First, the clients are great reasons to go in: Planned Parenthood, Greenpeace, Black Visions Collective, RAICES, and others will make you feel good about what you're helping to fund and operate. The engineering team thinks hard about improving processes and quality of life. The technical challenges themselves are interesting: the stack is big and diverse, they use modern tools, and are open to the latest concepts. Small teams of 5 in engineering using agile means that you can tailor the experience to your preferences. The company's growing fast! 6-7 years ago it started growing from just political clients to non-profits and has been steadily gaining more and bigger clients. Add in a couple acquisitions and some VCs and the team is now sprawling. It moved into a new, spacious DC office 5 years ago and already outgrew it and moved into a bigger office last year. Others basics are solid: good benefits and PTO policies. Salaries aren't Google, but they're decent. Plenty of people stay for a long time, and for good reason: it's a good experience overall. Plus they're improving - pay, benefits, and PTO have all gotten better since I arrived.

      Cons

      Promotion process wasn't very transparent, make sure to ask about how you can grow over time. Some parts of the tech stack are older: VB, ASP.NET, and Angular 1. You'll have to use some of those older tools in addition to fun new stuff. There's also a decent amount of bureaucracy for engineers who want to take initiative.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work, but room for improvement

      Jun 30, 2020 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I adore the culture and day-to-day of working here. It's great to be around a lot of young, motivated, and progressive people where we can talk openly about a lot and build some very meaningful connections. It's great to be able to dress casually and have a lot of flexibility with hours, doctors appointments, etc. And the benefits are amazing. I also love that folks are generally responsive to feedback and open to ideas about how to improve the team and bring in new business.

      Cons

      A lot of the leadership turnover (particularly in Sales) the past year has certainly been a bit daunting. I know we're a young company and as such come growing pains, but it feels like there's always more to the story than what we're being told, and we know it. There are also some bothersome inconsistencies among management styles on the team - approaches to prospecting, being available on Slack/email, you name it. I get that managers and directors are busy, but don't just not respond to people, it's rude. I also think the style of selling they try to teach us is obnoxious and people see right through it. I agree with a lot of other reviews the pay could be better, given what I hear about other similar companies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place

      Feb 27, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people all around us

      Cons

      none that I remember at all

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work!

      Aug 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Really smart, passionate coworkers who are invested in the mission - Great benefits with generous PTO (that you're actually encouraged to take), solid parental leave, and good work life balance - Genuine commitment to continuous improvement - Constant product improvement and user centric development means lots of happy clients, which is satisfying if you care about the mission - Because the company is growing, lots of new challenges and opportunities to grow skills - Great place for solution oriented, flexible people who want to be part of building something

      Cons

      No big cons, but high growth time means lots of change. People who aren't comfortable with pivoting approaches with new information or who thrive best in black and white environments might not love the day to day. Overall, it's a really exceptional place to work.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent pay and great benefits for do-gooder work

      Apr 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Somerville, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This place has provided stable full time employment for people who in a previous life would consider themselves campaign junkies (I'm one of many here who fit that description). Compared to the thrill of campaign life, the work is a bit disconnected from the actual clients, but in return there is job stability across cycles and an actual work/life balance, and the pay is decent. Comparing notes with people in big tech here in Boston, I think the pay here is competitive and the benefits are better (5 weeks vacation, paid parental leave, really good healthcare with no premium if its just for you). Non-profit seems to be more of the focus these days but that scratches the mission side of things for me just as well.

      Cons

      Many layers of management, hard to make quick decisions sometimes. Provide more ability to take risks and make choices at the team level. I'm a big kid, and I get that work requires coordination, but sometimes even small engineering decisions seem like they need to get made in a committee.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I love my job!

      May 18, 2020 - Director in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy working here - I’ve been here for the past ten years, and I have no plans to leave anytime soon. I have a lot of great personal friends I’ve made here at the company (both current and past employees) and I love being able to regularly interact with all my smart, interesting, intelligent and compassionate coworkers. I also enjoy that I’ve gotten a raise every year I’ve been here. There’s a lot of freedom to grow at the company - I’ve seen countless of my colleagues start out at the bottom, figure out where they want to go, and build their careers in a different department. Not only does this help build a strong network between teams, it also helps different departments work together - and makes the company stronger. There’s a really honest and realistic approach to work at EveryAction - the company understands that some people can’t work specific hours (whether that’s due to child-rearing or taking care of aging parents or other needs), and they figure out a way to make that schedule work. I really enjoy the corporate retreat (which has a strict no-work policy) every two years on a sunny beach

      Cons

      The company doesn’t stop you from working too hard, if you want to.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Supportive environment with opportunities for growth

      Jan 24, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The people - internally and our clients. My colleagues are SMART, funny, and kind. Our clients do hard work on tight budgets, but it means something to know they are focused on making the world better. - This is a company that invests in people. There are many people here who can attest to opportunities for growth within and across teams. Unlike what some others have said, I know of many cases where management has been flexible in helping people maintain a good work/life balance and problem solve around specific requests when and where they can. - A great benefits package, that is always expanding. I appreciate everything we have, from paid parental leave, 100% healthcare coverage, 401k matching, generous PTO, to name a few! As others have mentioned, the company is also always exploring ways that they can offer more generous and progressive benefits. - The work. See above, but it's pretty cool going to work knowing you're helping organizations get good things done.

      Cons

      There are challenges with growing pains. I think the company makes efforts to try to connect with employees and be clear about goals, but no one/no company is perfect and certain things can fall through the cracks. I've always found management open to course correcting when they find out about issues, and engaged in solving problems and keeping people happy - even if sometimes that takes longer than people would like.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's a lot better than people are claiming

      Nov 21, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -The people: Its not often you find a work place with such supportive and friendly coworkers. -PTO: Any company that revises its PTO policy and lets its employees vote is being generous. We are currently voting between two great time off options. -Pay: People are truly paid higher than local averages. While not generous, it is possible (and not hard) to live on the entry level salary, I did it. Also, the CEO listened to concerns and raised the entry level salary recently. Its great to see that he cares and is trying. -HR: A lot of reviews say HR is unhelpful, while I agree that they need more bandwidth, they have been very helpful to me the few times I've had to work with them. -Work/life balance: outside of a few unique situations where I've had to stay late, the work/life balance is great. -The clients: we work with some amazing organizations and its great to know that our hard work makes a difference

      Cons

      -We are growing very quickly which does have growing pains. It would be nice if leadership took the time to explain their growth plans to staff so we all feel that we are bought in. -Office space (being solved) -Some VP/C-Suite level are not great at their jobs and/or unqualified. Doesn't seem to be much accountability.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Been here for 5 years for a reason

      Sep 21, 2020 - Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great team members who are passionate about their work - solid benefits - 5 weeks of vacation - responsive leadership who have navigated 2020 with as much grace and flexibility for staff as possible

      Cons

      - professional development planning is a weak spot but its improving.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 94 Reviews

    Popular Careers with NGP VAN Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at NGP VAN? Share Your Experiences

    NGP VAN logo
    or