NHL Reviews | Glassdoor

NHL Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Gary B. Bettman
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits overall, pleasant co-workers(in 6 reviews)

  • "Merchandise discounts are a plus, and access to tickets to events at MSG and Prudential (if they're available) is pretty cool(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "The Senior Management is horrible especially in the Finance department(in 7 reviews)

  • "Other reviews discussing "old, grumpy boys club" is fairly accurate(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to have a technology job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of interesting and challenging technical problems to solve surrounding hockey. It's a small/sharp team that allows you to make your mark if you're motivated. Second to none benefits.

    Cons

    No flex time currently offered.

    Advice to Management

    Offer flex time and it would be a near perfect place to work....especially if you love the sport.

    NHL2019-06-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I guess its different depending on your department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I don't know why people are complaining about vacation time not being allowed within the first year. We get half a personal day a month and an additional personal day for your birthday month. That's 7 personal days not included in your vacation time that you can take in your first year. Unlimited sick day policy which is also great. Pension and great medical benefits. Free tickets to concerts & games. No micromanaging...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don't have any cons at this moment

    NHL2019-04-22
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working at NHL. There is real work-life balance, the people are friendly for the most part, good benefits and decent salary. Some perks working for the league include free tix to concerts at MSG, a pension plan and summer fridays!

    Cons

    There are a couple of archaic policies such as no vacation during the first year and only 10 vacation days, and no working-from-home.

    Advice to Management

    Change the vacation policy. Vacation days should be determined by the length of experience for new employees. Also we’re all adults and able to determine if the time is right, or not, to be away from the office. Allow employees to work remotely. Especially in an open office concept, working from home even if only a couple of days a week can make a huge difference.

    NHL2018-10-22
  4. "Bureaucracy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Producer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive salary and benefits. Very responsive HR. Hockey, everywhere!

    Cons

    It's not as glamorous as one would think - it's a company that just so happens to deal in hockey. Everything is run by the League's lawyers - there's little room for overt fandom or opinion/criticism.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees - the ones at the bottom of the pyramid do all the work with little of the recognition. Bad managers are in your midst and can easily be a roadblock for promising talent.

    NHL2018-10-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate hell."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHL full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary Free tickets to sporting events Discounts on sports gear

    Cons

    * Boss's boss paid for bar tab at company parties and would spit in people's faces and yell. * HR treated me like a criminal * Aggressive *and* passive-aggressive corporate culture * The worst parts off public high school

    Advice to Management

    You are really only there to help the rich team owners get richer. Helping hockey fans enjoy the game would be a mission that would inspire people. Also, treat employees like people rather than cattle.

    NHL2018-07-26
  6. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHL part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was enjoyable and a very professional atmosphere

    Cons

    It was at times hard to hard in such a fast paced environment

    NHL2018-05-03
  7. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Summer Hours, you get to leave work early on Fridays.

    Cons

    Discrimination and no room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Stop kissing up to upper management and stick up for your team .

    NHL2018-05-14
  8. "Someone needs to look at the conditions in the Finance Department and why employees take medical leave."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at NHL full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Same as all mentioned all thoughout people’s posts on here

      Cons

      Everything is wrong with the Finance Department, so many employees have taken medical leave in the Finance Department in the past few years that I do not understand why HR has not seriously looked into this. To me this is a systemic failure of the the NHL and there leadership, many employees are afraid of any sort of retaliation from a supervisor if you speak to HR (while HR says that should not happen, it does. The...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Human Resources I would recommend that you do an full investigation of the Finance Department management to understand these complexities, speak to current and former employees about the treatment they have endured and why they leave or have left. How about creating a rating system so an employee can express their issues and concerns about supervisors or Senior Management. While we all receive reviews from our supervisors...

      Show More
      NHL2018-04-25
    • "consumer products"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at NHL full-time

      Pros

      great opportunity, fun beining involved with sports

      Cons

      low pay, tough to get promoted

      NHL2017-12-05
    • "Store Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at NHL part-time

      Pros

      Discount on purchases, mindless work

      Cons

      Management is never on the same page and there is an obvious favoritism issue. Store manager has an attitude problem and thinks he's better than everyone, the worst to work for.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate with each other and care about your employees more.

      NHL2017-10-21
    Found 68 reviews