NHS Blood and Transplant Reviews | Glassdoor

NHS Blood and Transplant Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NHS Blood and Transplant CEO Sally Johnson
Sally Johnson
3 Ratings
  1. "Nice job but only short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good sense of being part of a team Well supported by management Job sanctification knowing you are helping people

    Cons

    Very poorly paid and undervalued within the organisation We covered a lot more work and areas than paid for Often short staffed due to a high turn over

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff for the work they do and allow them a chance to shape the way the service runs

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-04-24
  2. "Shoddy management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Carer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work at NHSBT is simply getting the blood for those who need it. That is the job I signed up for.

    Cons

    I have been lied to at every step of the way from interview to where I am now. Every decision made by management has been to the detriment of the entire workforce.

    Advice to Management

    There are no words I could put here that would be suitable.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great to think I was saving lives, shame to work under such terrible management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transformation Lead in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Saving lives, working with caring front line staff, interesting to travel the UK.

    Cons

    Terrible leadership and management, IT from the 80s and HR from the 60s. Promotion for becoming part of the 'way it's done around here' rather than true leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and believe in them.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-02-27
  4. "Very honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time

    Pros

    Very flexible - remote working, doctors appointments etc. Great Annual leave & pension package. NHS Discounts - 20% off Nandos! Excellent cause, the work you do makes a difference. Fantastic if you have a family, or are looking for a role to stay in until retirement.

    Cons

    - Everything has to go through 20 people before anything actually get's done - can be very frustrating. - In terms of Marketing, it's very specific how and how an audience can be targeted due to the nature of the company. Very little room to be creative. - No career development opportunities. No room for promotion. Opportunities to study or shadow companies through the organisation, but no progression per say. -...

    Show More
    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-01-31
  5. "Great team but place is mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great team. flexibility as long as you're on the good terms with your manager.

    Cons

    Place is mismanaged and lacks direction. Pay not as good as private sector. Lack of progression opportunities. People tend to do the same job for years or till they find something else in another company. Staff turnover is quite high.

    Advice to Management

    Update your out of date policies and allow flexibility such as working from home. So far this place feels like it's stuck in 90's on the operational level.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-01-10
  6. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Joined the organisation to cover one year maternity leave, and 13 years later, I'm still here! A great place to work, where development opportunities are there for anyone who is keen to take them on. I've always felt supported as a working Mum and the flexible working arrangements make working life smoother. There is a continued commitment towards making the organisation a Great Place to Work and a positive drive...

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Change is a constant in any business. My advice would be is to keep an eye on the bigger picture on change.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2018-12-21
  7. "Wonderful people, poor support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to save lives. Fantastic, knowledgeable, friendly staff

    Cons

    Management are rarely honest. Pushing nurses to their limits to achieve targets without consideration for well-being. Management only playing lip service to the concept of employee well-being

    Advice to Management

    Follow through on statements professing to have employee well being at heart.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2018-11-12
  8. "Great Organisation to keep work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working culture, great balance between work and personal life

    Cons

    Not up to date with technologies

    NHS Blood and Transplant2018-09-13
  9. "Tissue donation staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    To save people's lives

    Cons

    Long hours. Alot of driving.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2018-07-23
  10. "Blood Transplant Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time

    Pros

    Very friendly staff ready to offer help when ever needed. Great benefits packages and pension. Lots of training available to update and widen your knowledge.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2018-06-27
Found 30 reviews