NHS Staff Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

NHS Staff Nurse Reviews

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
12%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
7 Ratings
  1. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security , skills , loyalty , team work Privilege

    Cons

    Short staffed .Salary , workload , no supervision , no support , not being able to facilitate patients

    Advice to Management

    Too many managers . Too little care

    NHS2019-12-26
  2. "Cornhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable job, no two days the same, fulfilling

    Cons

    Hard, tiring, long shifts

    NHS2019-10-24
  3. "Nhs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reliable contracts and safe job positions. Also has good optional pension scheme and good holidays allowance.

    Cons

    Shift hours, short staff all time, be obligated to work in areas we necer worked before to cover staffing. Also, management of hospitals where I worked are quite poor.

    NHS2019-10-22
  4. "DHU interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Leicester, England

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Caring Team working Work under pressure

    Cons

    Not always having the time for patients

    NHS2019-10-24
  5. "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Job satisfaction Security Team building

    Cons

    Over worked Understaffed Under funded

    NHS2019-10-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "To stressful and to busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teamwork, great colleagues and timeout, busy but manageble

    Cons

    Short staff, rude patients, long hours, too busy

    Advice to Management

    Try to make people stay, it is hard but depends so much how comfortable staff is when they come to work

    NHS2019-10-03
  7. "Job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly working environment. Job security.

    Cons

    Like many jobs sometimes feel like a number not a person

    NHS2019-09-18
  8. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great sense of team work, extremely rewarding, good HR support

    Cons

    Non stop work & few breaks on shifts, recruitment issues lead to understaffing & working with agency staff can be unpredictable at times & take more time as they can require more support & initial induction

    NHS2019-09-05
  9. "Staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Liverpool, England

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job satisfaction seeing a smile on the patients face

    Cons

    Red tape politics pressure management

    Advice to Management

    None

    NHS2019-08-31
  10. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth support. Good induction. Yearly salary increment.

    Cons

    Often short of staff. Stressful environment. Low wage for high responsibilities.

    NHS2019-08-21
Found 33 reviews