NHS "nhs" Reviews | Glassdoor

NHS Employee Reviews about "nhs"

Updated 22 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
447 Ratings
Pros
  • "Career development is assured in nhs(in 123 reviews)

  • "Team work; strive for excellence(in 70 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes but passes quick(in 143 reviews)

  • "None - I find working for the NHS very rewarding(in 117 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nhs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Biomedical Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    The pension plan is good. NHS discounts on food, mobile phone plans, and many others merchants

    Cons

    Hours can vary greatly. Shift work is common. Always a shortage of staff and high stress environment

    NHS2017-01-19
  2. "Keep looking elsewhere not NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Great clients, many dedicated frontline staff

    Cons

    Directors who lack leadership skills and basic business skills. NHS is very large and can appear to only care about external customers as money. Poor physical working environments and not provided with basic supplies needed to do job effectively.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees as internal customers and as important.

    NHS2018-01-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Band 2 nursing assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Health Care Support Worker in Truro, VA

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    For the training and discipline. Because I enjoy learning and helping people enjoy a better quality of life. I also volunteer for Roswyth in Newquay, caring for people with mental health issues.

    Cons

    I applied for band 2 nursing assistant (temporary staffing). I had six weeks of training to do. The training was in Redruth, Bodmin and Truro. I do not have a car and was finding it very difficult to afford to be able to get to these places. I therefore could not complete my training. I would have loved more than anything to have been able to succeed. I also didn't have a computer and was doing alot of the courses... at the library. I now have a computer and would welcome any challenges to put myself back on my chosen employment path..caring. Sadly I was employed by NHS but I actually did not start work. My previous employment to this ended in 2012 when I was a flexable support worker in mental health and learning disabilities. I gave up this employment to move to Newquay with a partner of whom I am no longer with.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I promise I shall work hard and keep up to date with all training required for future employment. I am caring, compassionate and empathetic.

    NHS2015-11-07
  4. "Too frustrating to be completely fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, work can be inspiring.

    Cons

    Biggest problems in the NHS created by political interference. Fragmented system. Hospital/GP payment structures incentive the behaviour that management is trying to reduce so it feels like an uphill battle.

    NHS2015-06-24
  5. "Excellent conditions and great job satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Communications Officer 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work in the NHS, helping to deliver and improve free at the point of delivery care to millions

    Cons

    Budgets under constant pressure, pay not competitive with other employers but conditions are good

    NHS2019-11-19
  6. "Job is great i enjoy doing my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Academic Placement Logistics Officer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A friendly environment I learned a lot and am happy I was placed at NHS

    Cons

    Cultural different ,Communication Barriers anf Different Culture

    Advice to Management

    More Employee Forum and feedback systems to know how to improve work

    NHS2019-11-19
  7. "Secure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Occupational Therapist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Secure job, Good training opportunities Lots to learn

    Cons

    Pay not enough in NHS, can be stressful

    NHS2019-11-12
  8. "Good benefits and experience, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Administrative Assistant in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for the NHS looks great on a resume, you will learn a lot and work with a strong team. Management was excellent and responsive.

    Cons

    Pay is generally not great.

    NHS2019-11-09
  9. "Non"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Practitioner 

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    NHS pension, caring for patients, great opportunities

    Cons

    NHS is underfunded and staff are stretched and overworked

    NHS2019-11-23
  10. "One of the Best Healthcare Recruitment Company in India for NHS TRUST UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Chief Executive Officer in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consultant Grade Doctors for NHS UK

    Cons

    Nurses for NHS UK with NMC Pin No.

    Advice to Management

    No fees charged from candidates. Free Recruitment for UK

    NHS2019-11-08
Found 220 reviews
</>Embed