NHS of Chicago Reviews | Glassdoor

NHS of Chicago Reviews

Updated Apr 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
NHS of Chicago CEO Kristin Faust
Kristin Faust
2 Ratings
  1. "Client services rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS of Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, company trips, potlucks, very family like company

    Cons

    none At all you get what you put in

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the staff and make sure all staff are respectful and respected

    NHS of Chicago2018-11-14
  2. "NHS - Accounting Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Receipts Processor 

    I have been working at NHS of Chicago full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    >A lot of holiday time (12-14 paid holidays and company events in year) >Some flexibility with your work time (the less critical your role, the more flexibility you have) >OK company culture (the older you are the better you fit in)

    Cons

    >Low Pay >Predatory work policies. (If you see "work as assigned" be prepared. You are going to eventually get assignments that are outside whatever you think your job is or should be) >Shifting work culture. (Upper management keeps bringing in people with corporate back grounds who have no understanding of non-profit and the industry. This is creating a negative wave of change.)

    NHS of Chicago2019-04-24
  3. "Administrative assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHS of Chicago full-time

    Pros

    You look forward to lunch time

    Cons

    Feels like your in High School Lots of bickering and gossiping No room for advancement

    Advice to Management

    Start taking charge and get rid of all the bad apples.

    NHS of Chicago2019-01-10
  4. "DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NHS of Chicago full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, Friendly Environment, Better than average Benefits

    Cons

    Bad Upper Management, Low compensation, management politics, old school

    NHS of Chicago2017-07-20
  5. "IT Help Desk Support Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Help Desk Support in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NHS of Chicago for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Hours, Good Environment, Nice Employees

    Cons

    Bad Pay, Bad Management. Bad classification of Hierarchy

    NHS of Chicago2017-05-17
  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NHS of Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their mission is a great mission.

    Cons

    Their neighborhood office employees need to recognized more. I feel like their communication with the corporate and neighborhood offices is not to great.

    NHS of Chicago2016-05-25
  7. "Great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NHS of Chicago full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission to provide housing for lower income people of Chicago.

    Cons

    Entrenched in antiquated process. Apposed to change.

    NHS of Chicago2016-04-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Working at NHS I get to see how what I do helps people, we can't help everyone but we try to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HCouns in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NHS of Chicago full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like my co-workers and my boss is reasonable and genuine. The pay is decent (non-profit but some of my friends in for profit make less than me, raises are not good though we get them) and most management is open at least. I feel good when I can actually help our clients who are in trouble or just want to learn. Good PTO and hours. I have fun at work and I think we are making a positive difference for residents in...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some of my co-workers are more negative because their peers and manager are more negative. It's hard to get the information or answers you need sometimes, but I have been okay with this. Training can be kind of on your own but their are training opportunities too. Sometimes it's hard to understand internally how things work but we all adapt pretty quick.

    Advice to Management

    Get better offices, take pride in our spaces Share what's going on with everyone more (how are we doing?) Define our mission more specifically and get more work to do Hire more managers who care about the day to day and people Keep up the good stuff!

    NHS of Chicago2014-11-08
Found 8 reviews