NIAGARA FOUNDATION Reviews | Glassdoor

NIAGARA FOUNDATION Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great Environment , great people

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons at this company

    Advice to Management

    be more realistic with objectives and goals

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2018-03-05
  2. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NIAGARA FOUNDATION full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Office culture and the employees are great. So much room for growth

    Cons

    Low hiring rate since it is a small nonprofit

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2018-01-30
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public & Global Affairs in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -good experience -friendly environment -lots of freedom

    Cons

    -too much down time -not paid -slight lack of organization

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2017-12-21
  4. "Internship with Niagara Foundation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION

    Pros

    The work that they do is timely and necessary. The entire staff is dedicated to the mission of the Foundation. There is ample opportunity for interns to make substantial contributions, and they are considered a valued member of the team.

    Cons

    There were many days where they had no work for us to do.

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2017-08-29
  5. "Acting Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Acting Executive Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NIAGARA FOUNDATION for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Employee friendly environment Value based non profit Engaging office culture Strong commitment to mission

    Cons

    Late response to inquiries

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2017-06-13
  6. "Nice People, But Lack of Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION

    Pros

    - The staff was incredibly nice and welcoming and frequently brought in free food and made tea for the interns - Lots of opportunities to meet influential leaders around the area - Open work environment that respects and welcomes people of all backgrounds

    Cons

    - Affiliated with the Gulen movement: they ran into controversy with the Consul General of Israel and the BDS movement in 2015 and they frequently hold meetings with other members of the movement in the office - Unpaid, but that is pretty typical for an intern - Supervisors were often unprepared for events, and often failed to provide direction or give out tasks - No positions available after completing internship

    Advice to Management

    Make sure interns are regularly provides with tasks and duties. Prepare better for events and make sure all technology is working.

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2017-05-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Internships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION

    Pros

    If you are looking for internships opportunities in Global/International Affairs or International Relations, Niagara Foundation has many wonderful opportunities. Interns get the chance to meet and interact with many influential personalities during events and it can really help you build connections and is a great networking opportunity.

    Cons

    Like most other internships and due to them being a non-profit organization, internships are unpaid. So, you will have to find other ways to sustain yourself.

    NIAGARA FOUNDATION2016-06-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources Winter Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Human Resources Intern in Chicago, IL
      Recommends

      I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION for more than a year

      Pros

      Niagara Foudation is fun to work for, very diverse and friendly. Flexable schedule. The people who work here are easy to meet, and eager to work on new projects.

      Cons

      There are downsides to any company and Niagara is no exception. Your work may not be valued as an intern no matter you got a great result or not.

      NIAGARA FOUNDATION2016-05-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Communication Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Communication Intern in Vernon Hills, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at NIAGARA FOUNDATION part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      My supervisor listens to my ideas. I participate in brainstorming meetings.

      Cons

      Meetings do not have an agenda and they are very long.

      Advice to Management

      Create an agenda for every meeting

      NIAGARA FOUNDATION2016-02-10
    • "Friendly organization/environment, boring work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at NIAGARA FOUNDATION for more than a year

        Pros

        relaxed environment Friendly people and superiors

        Cons

        unpaid work is not challenging or interesting interns can feel ignored or under utilized

        Advice to Management

        Hire high schoolers for this job

        NIAGARA FOUNDATION2015-11-19
      Found 14 reviews