NITCO Reviews | Glassdoor

NITCO Reviews

Updated Jun 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
32%
Recommend to a Friend
NITCO CEO and COO Alan Hammersley and Rick Papalia (no image)
Alan Hammersley and Rick Papalia
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company to work for. A place to work until retirement!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Forklift Mechanic/Service Writer in Tewksbury, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NITCO for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible benefits package, mangers who care about their employees, working with experts in the field, everyone that works there is professional, knowledgeable and honorable. High Levels of integrity. They issue personal tablets and cell phones. Uniform cleaning, smoothie bars for employees regularly, clean and accommodating facilities. Always respectful.

    Cons

    The shop/warehouse was not climate controlled, but most seldom are.

    Continue reading
    NITCO2016-08-05
  2. "Incredible pay, inept leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NITCO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, room to advance, overtime available

    Cons

    Weak leadership, observable preferential treatment of salesmen

    Continue reading
    NITCO2019-06-29
  3. "DON'T APPLY HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NITCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Management doesn't know what they are doing so it's basically a free for all -If looking to buy a machine, you can basically get it for free because at Nitco it's okay if companies don't pay for $30,000 piece of equipment.

    Cons

    Company plays favorites, no chance for change in this work environment. -Company refuses to change anything. -This company will let accounts go past due $ 450,000 in debt -The challenges the company faces are easy to fix, management just refuses so they look better on the outside.

    Continue reading
    NITCO2019-06-21
  4. "You can build a career here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Concord, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NITCO full-time

    Pros

    An excellent company to work for. they acknowledge and recognize contributions at every level. A culture to be proud of.

    Cons

    Not much to mention here.

    NITCO2019-01-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Company motto should be let’s treat everybody like garbage."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Serviceman Technician in Middleborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NITCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are ok and really nothing else.

    Cons

    At least from a mechanic standpoint they treated us like trash. Every other department looks down on you and makes sure you are aware they think they are above you. Management is a mess and no one actually wants to take charge and make decisions so good luck getting anything accomplished. There’s about 9 Vice Presidents and none know at all what they are doing. Don’t expect to get ahead unless your part of the select few who get anything they ask for. In the end the place feels more like high schools with how everyone interacts. Most people only stay for the health insurance and will tell you if it wasn’t for that they’d leave and sadly the company knows this so they give you the health insurance and take the liberty of treating everyone poorly. Just do yourself a favor and find a real company to work for and save yourself the headache.

    Continue reading
    NITCO2018-09-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Price gouging better shop around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parts Manager in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NITCO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance...401k match and that’s about it!

    Cons

    Owners, dictatorship leadership, never get guidance just do as they say... and guess what they want! Employees all hate owners and consistently have bad things to say! Aside from being salary and getting paid for 40 hrs and working a mandatory 50+ is outrageous. Also should be aware of getting older used parts at a premium price listed as new! Horrible atmosphere and employees just put on a fake smile as they see a customer or owner! Horrible way to work in this setting!

    Continue reading
    NITCO2018-02-19
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Incompetent Management and Owners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Tech in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NITCO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New van fleet, Awesome dispatcher, union insurance benefits. That’s the only good this abomination of a company really has to offer.

    Cons

    Ownership group believes in screwing the customer on parts pricing and labor rates. It puts the service techs in front of the firing squad every time they set foot in a customers building. Also let’s make a big deal about having 40 techs in Wilmington but not have enough work to keep them busy. By far the slowest I’ve ever seen it here. The newly promoted management was great until they drank so much of the company cool-aid it turned them into mindless puppets. Getting a promotion is only done by giving up your pride and dignity. This place is a sinking ship. Don’t let them fool you.

    Continue reading
    NITCO2018-01-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It's what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech in Lewiston, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at NITCO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health insurance coverage, pay, hours.

    Cons

    Constant communication breakdowns, shirking of responsibilities by management, little/no recognition. You have one branch making significantly less because they're not unionized which causes an us vs. them mentality between employees and doesn't foster teamwork or respect between branches.

    Continue reading
    NITCO2017-10-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NITCO full-time

    Pros

    Wide array of products customer's need.

    Cons

    Unprofessional sales management, very low brow, rough on the edges,barely HS educated, all came from forklift mechanic side of business with no understanding of a sales process,lack of polish but think highly of themselves due to longevity working with forklifts, some are actually backwoods types and embarrassing to take out to customer as sr. management, revel and enjoy when sticking it (overcharge $$) to the customers- especially those at the Shrewsbury branch. The IRS would have a party just with this location alone. The equipment rental is another who should have stayed as a mechanic to match his education as he revels in ripping off customers daily to make his paltry $40k salary. Customers beware!

    Continue reading
    NITCO2017-11-04
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Rocketman and the Dotard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NITCO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There’s always plenty of work to do (unfortunately most of it is rework) oh and good insurance

    Cons

    This place will suck the pride right out of you, you are constantly under someone’s thumb and usually 3 or 4 thumbs, as a technician I’m embarrassed by the quality of work we allow to continue to happen to our customers. We always hear about how many PM’s the aftermarket team sells yet those same PM’s (preventative maintenance) are sold at such a low price so that we can steal someone else’s customer, and then because we sold it so low we are asked to spend as little time as possible doing the PM (they give us on average 30-45 minutes when it should take 1 1/2 hours -2 Hours) there is no way you can perform a PM to the OSHA’s required standards and do it in that time and management knows this so in order to recoup money lost for the low PM price they then mandate us to find additional work so that we can go back at a later date and “stick it to the customer” with travel charges and hidden fees. We are always patching up trucks to use as rentals sometimes pulling them from the scrap heap putting bandaids on safety items and collectively praying they don’t breakdown or even worse hurt somebody. Our illustrious leaders are uneducated but act like they won the Nobel Peace Prize for reinventing renaming decades old programs putting some holy water on it and expecting us to carry on the lie to the customers many of our reconditioned Trucks are nothing more than a paint job and an oil change. We do the minimum amount of repairs and hope the truck lumps over the warranty period. I use to be proud to work here but being a veteran of this place you basically sell your soul because of a few good benefits. I don’t sleep well at night knowing our shabby work is putting people in harms way. we steal employees from other companies bring them on board suck the information out of them and discard them like traah all I have to say is thank god I can retire in the next 5 years so I can go to a confessional and pray for forgiveness for the things they force us to do to customers

    Continue reading
    NITCO2017-10-18
Found 34 reviews