KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

NJM Insurance

Engaged Employer

NJM Insurance

Add a Review

NJM Insurance Personal Lines Representative Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 345 reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
NJM Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer  Mitch Livingston (no image)
Mitch Livingston
6 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of NJM Insurance and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    They take care of employees so they can take care of customers

    Jun 25, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Outstanding retirement matching, great health benefits, friendly people to help you succeed, and a lot of room for growth!

    Cons

    None that I can think of.....1 extra shift a month for the first two years, but you are well compensated.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good

    Oct 7, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative in West Trenton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good job with great benefits

    Cons

    Hard to take off due to scheduling

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good experience if you’re willing to put in the work

    Jul 15, 2021 - Personal Lines in Hammonton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is in tune with what their employees are asking for and you can tell they are putting effort into making positive changes all of the time. Not only did we stay employed and actively working during the pandemic, but those who didn’t have the ability to work at home also continued to receive a salary and management worked with them to provide them with company issued equipment in order to let them work at home. Several of my friends needed some sort of accommodation in the beginning of COVID because (like all of us) they had personal or family obligations. Again, these employees continued to be paid. I don’t know of many companies that provided that security to employees. We also had LOTS of promotions in our department. And a ton of hiring. From my perspective, that means workers are getting the coaching that they need to advance. Our leaders actually started a Diversity Forum for the company as well. If you work hard, communicate, and really be accountable for your own performance you do well with this company. If you do sub-par work and refuse to accept that you are responsible for your own performance, you probably have several complaints.

    Cons

    We’re starting to return to the office and while it’s staggered at the moment, soon we’ll be back full time. I have friends who weren’t working from home before the pandemic and they have to go into the office much more often than those of us who did telecommute before. Many of us feel that we should be able to work from home much more often than we were before COVID. We made so many changes in order to be able to work from home, it’s silly to go backward and return to a world where we limit work-life balance. Also, I work in one of our offices and report to a supervisor in a different office. Something I think is really amazing & much needed in order to get us all talking more often…but the reason we have to return to office is “because face to face development is best.” I’ll still never see my Supervisor but when we meet virtually i actually feel more comfortable talking to them & my peers. Many of us have gotten closer to our teams through meeting by video.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good if your desperate

    Jun 28, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative in West Trenton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good amount of pto and ability to earn comp time

    Cons

    anagement is so far removed, they promote people and leave them in “supervisor” position but yet they have no knowledge of the procedures and what is going on. Your micromanaged from the moment you log in to the moment you sign off. There is a department called wfm that monitors you. If you hang up the phone and don’t go in quick enough they will call your supervisor to rush you back in to take another phone call. Your truly just a body to answer phones in personal lines. They also have been known to block off an upcoming month so no one can take off if they “forecast” it will be a busy month. They are basically equivalent to weathermen … they get paid to be wrong. You also have to bid for time off a year in advance cause you know everyone who has children knows their schedule a year in advance. If something comes up on a day that is blocked out you can put yourself on the waitlist but most times you won’t find out your approved until the late in the day or you can get special consideration which you only get one special consideration event a year. Your given sick time in the beginning of the year, they aren’t aloud to ask why your taking it but if you use it all and call out your at risk of termination it doesn’t matter that your have 38 hours of pto left and comp time. This pandemic has brought out the worst in the customers! The abuse and disrespect has been out of control as well as work volume, that it has taken a toll on a lot of employees mental health causing them to go on leave. There is truly no care for the employees and the only care upper management has is the growth. It’s known that HR puts comments to make it look like it’s a great place to work. I’m sure other departments are better but personal lines is awful! Save yourself and apply to other insurance companies they pay better to.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Overworked, micromanaged and can’t take days off

    May 10, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Co-workers, and being able to work from home

    Cons

    Can’t take a day off even with numerous amounts of PTO. Micromanaging of employees. The benefits are lackluster.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great for Short-Term Career

    Mar 30, 2021 - Personal Lines Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super flexible, great pay, well run company

    Cons

    Managers don't always know how to update part time employees effectively

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Toxic Work Environment

    May 6, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative in Trenton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is nothing positive at Njm. It mirrors a dreary prison atmosphere.

    Cons

    Age discrimination, cronyism, brainwashed and incompetent supervisors

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Decent

    Feb 10, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Has it good and bad days

    Cons

    Hard to take off of work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Working

    Oct 24, 2020 - Personal Lines Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great customer service handling and pay

    Cons

    Similar work styles rather than different opportunities for work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Stable

    Apr 26, 2020 - Personal Lines in West Trenton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We are currently in the Covid19 Pandemic and I have never been more grateful to be working for NJM. I am so thankful to work for a company that is supporting all of its employees, whether they are working fulltime right now or not. Aside from the current situation, if you do your job correctly, you can advance quickly. There are a lot of available opportunities.

    Cons

    Decisions could be made quicker.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

Popular Careers with NJM Insurance Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at NJM Insurance? Share Your Experiences

or