NOVA Chemicals Reviews | Glassdoor

NOVA Chemicals Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Todd Karran
24 Ratings
  1. "Company is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Technician in Lambton Shores, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NOVA Chemicals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cool people, results attitude, not a crazy number of day staff interfering with operations and making things worse.

    Cons

    Results attitude can lead to safety issues sometimes, training is the first thing to be cut by a manager who wants to increase their bonus, inconsistent application of rules (overtime, sick time, etc) making a culture of egg shells if you’re an anxious person.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in training your employees, invest more in knowledge transfer from older technicians to young ones before they retire, get some systems analysts in there to find savings on the maintenance side, offer training to managers in the software they use everyday to keep things going.

    NOVA Chemicals2018-09-17
  2. "facility planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Custodian in Sarnia, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NOVA Chemicals full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A chance to earn better wages for my family

    Cons

    You would need to be on call which would hurt for family vacations

    NOVA Chemicals2018-08-16
  3. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NOVA Chemicals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, nice location and people

    Cons

    No growth opportunities. Little room for advancement.

    NOVA Chemicals2018-05-23
  4. "Impressive Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at NOVA Chemicals full-time

      Pros

      - Company has an aggressive growth plan - Safety is a core focus area - Has come a long way since potential financial crisis in 2009

      Cons

      - Attention to safety verges on the excessive at times, as increased focus has not translated into improved safety results - Most leaders are competent however behaviors of Senior Leaders behind closed doors are often do as I say not as I do

      NOVA Chemicals2018-04-23
    • "Leading Edge"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supply Chain in Calgary, AB
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NOVA Chemicals full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Leading edge technology, Growth and excellent pay and incentives

      Cons

      Leadership needs some work but they are working on it.

      Advice to Management

      Develop Better Leaders, Focus on Work Life Balance and mean it

      NOVA Chemicals2017-12-27
    • "Great workplace!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NOVA Chemicals full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Great team support - Focused company - Ambitious goals - A great place to work

      Cons

      No major concerns yet but I am a fairly new employee.

      Advice to Management

      Keep going in this direction and great things will happen.

      NOVA Chemicals2017-09-27
    • "Good but a lot of politics"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NOVA Chemicals full-time

      Pros

      Benefits and good co workers

      Cons

      Work long hours, some people are favoured to advance

      NOVA Chemicals2017-09-25
    • "Electrical Engineering Co-op"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at NOVA Chemicals full-time

        Pros

        Everyone is willing to teach you, as long as you're willing to ask.

        Cons

        Site visits all year round, even when it's freezing.

        NOVA Chemicals2017-04-29
      • "good place to start"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at NOVA Chemicals

          Pros

          Good people to work with

          Cons

          Nothing very much to say yet

          NOVA Chemicals2017-03-30
        • Helpful (3)

          "Great group of people but zero trust in management"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Process Operator in Joffre, AB
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at NOVA Chemicals full-time

          Pros

          Great group of people to work with employees/contractors

          Cons

          Management is just brutal to quick to throw you under the bus to make themselves look good. Letting people go that are truly great people and extremely hard workers

          Advice to Management

          Listen to your employees you might get the better picture if you took atleast a slight interest in what might be going on in there lives before making rash decisions

          NOVA Chemicals2017-02-07
        Found 77 reviews